We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an afternoon; impressive sight.”
Review of Doolin Cave

Doolin Cave
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Stunning Underworld Experience, the Great Stalactite at Doolin Cave is one of Europe's most compelling cave attractions. It is a truly unique and breathtaking experience:- the largest stalactite in the Norhern Hemisphere. Doolin Cave has a Farmland Nature Trail, which is FREE for its visitors.We have unusual breeds of chickens, sheep, cattle and alovely pygmy goat called Minnie, with her little kid called Vincent Van Goat or Vinnie for short.We have also planted lots of native trees and shrubs and wildflower meadows. Our cafe serves lovely fresh salads, soups, breads and homemade cakes We are very proud to announce that we have recently been awarded a Gold Award from Ecotourism Ireland. Hurray!
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I took my 3 girls aged 4 to 9 to this cave as the weather was terrible. We all had a great time. The staff were excellent - clear communicators, very courteous. They have a nice cafe with free wifi. Wifi is a bit slow, but it does the job. The cave tour itself is excellent. It's quite a walk so be prepared. They provide hard hats. Take one, even if you think it's not necessary. The tunnel ceiling has a habit of surprising you! The main stalactite is very impressive, and does have to be seen to be believed. They have a short walk you can take on the surface. No great sights on it but it's nice to stretch the legs. Along it you can pop down to see the original cave entrance. The cave is definitely not suitable for babies or young toddlers. But I would highly recommend it for older kiddies.

Thank toruairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Doolin Cave, we are delighted that you and the kids enjoyed your trip. It is a great family experience. The Nature Trail is a great opportunity to explore the Burren overground with plenty of space for the kids to run around and some fabulous photo opportunities looking down on the glacial valley in which the cave is set.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Fennell
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for Doolin Cave
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 596 of 870 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Awesome, beautiful, friendly tour guide, lots of steps to take down and then up again. Not suitable for motoricaly impaired.

1  Thank Mirjam1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinCave, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review of Doolin Cave, we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience. The Great Stalactite is a true wonder of the Burren over 80ft underground and as you pointed out, definitely worth the steps.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Fennell
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Being used to some of the caves here in Australia I was expecting more in the way of features inside the cave but taken as a glimpse into the workings of the geology of the Burren it was well worth the effort. The cave is well set up for visitors, the young guides were very impressive and were a fund of information. Not over commercialised and sits very well into the generally low key tempo of the tourist venues in this part of Ireland.

1  Thank PhilYass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinCave, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review of Doolin Cave. All of our guides are locals who take pride in their work and in-depth knowledge of the cave and I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments. Doolin Cave is certainly a great insight to the magical underworld of the Burren region.

Michelle Fennell
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our kids loved this and it was really cool truly differentiating from other cave experiences. We really enjoyed it and our kids loved it. Guides were awesome also.

Thank Trinity4_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinCave, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for a great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Doolin Cave experience. The Great Stalactite is a true wonder of nature and it is definitely an experience not to be missed in the Burren region. The guides will be delighted to hear your lovely comments.

Michelle Fennell
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It wasn't like any cave I've been in. There are 125 metal steps covered in wetness due to 95% humidity, so wear good, sturdy shoes. At first going in I was glad I had a sweater, but quickly took it off and tied it around my waist because I was hot quick in that humidity and dealing with all those steps. Be sure you put the hardhat on securely and adjust it so it doesn't keep slipping down, as your focus needs to be where you walk. You most likely WILL hit your head on a rock and will be glad for the hat. The tour guide was very nice, friendly, and informative. Also in excellent shape having to climb up and down those steps several tours a day. The amazing stalactite is really something to see and doesn't make the trip back up those stairs seem as bad, lol. The rocky-road fudge is really good too, and they have a lot of neat things in the shop.

Thank CrabbyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinCave, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your review of Doolin Cave, we are delighted that you enjoyed the true wonder of the Great Stalactite. Jeannie in the café will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed her homemade rocky road and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments onto the guides. To protect the delicate ecology of the cave the temperature is constantly monitored and maintained at an even 12degrees. We appreciate that it takes a couple of sets of steps to reach the Great Stalactite over 80ft underground but it is certainly worth it as you pointed out.

Best Regards,
Michelle Fennell
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolin Cave also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing