We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to spend an hour”
Review of Doolin Cave

Doolin Cave
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Stunning Underworld Experience, the Great Stalactite at Doolin Cave is one of Europe's most compelling cave attractions. It is a truly unique and breathtaking experience:- the largest stalactite in the Norhern Hemisphere. Doolin Cave has a Farmland Nature Trail, which is FREE for its visitors.We have unusual breeds of chickens, sheep, cattle and alovely pygmy goat called Minnie, with her little kid called Vincent Van Goat or Vinnie for short.We have also planted lots of native trees and shrubs and wildflower meadows. Our cafe serves lovely fresh salads, soups, breads and homemade cakes We are very proud to announce that we have recently been awarded a Gold Award from Ecotourism Ireland. Hurray!
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an hour”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice family business with interesting tour guide who takes you through & talks about how caves are found, how stalactites are formed etc. Seemed a bit pricey for what it is but my family enjoyed it

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne50SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Doolin Cave. Visitor numbers are limited in order to protect the Great Stalactite so we are at the higher end of the price bracket. But we are offering a 'Sunny Day Discount' of 33% this week because of the heatwave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    235
    46
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but too big a group”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Doolin Cave is a true wonder of nature. Beautiful and mysterious at once. Our guide was a great young lad with solid knowledge of the history and science behind this natural wonder. The main attraction, a massive stalactite, was awe-inspiring. The price was reasonable and the people very nice.

Unfortunately for us, a bus full of 60 high school kids showed up just as our cozy group of 7 was about to depart, and our numbers immediately swelled to almost 40 -- WAY too many for such a cramped space. Visitors were back up so far behind the guide that it was impossible for them to hear him. We fought to stay at the front, and despite the youngsters whooping and yelling and being typical teenagers, we had a great time. I hope the proprietors don't make a habit of forming groups that big!

Overall, I highly recommend touring the cave if you have a couple hours to spare. They have a nice café and gift shop as well, though we did not partake in the food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoubleBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Owner at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for keeping us on our toes! We certainly are very aware of the need to keep groups small, 20 max. If you visit Doolin again, we would like to offer you a free trip with a smaller group.
One of our guides had an accident in early June and we were left with no choice but to bring down a large group together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

While the single stalactite is lovely, the incredible dampness and the large lengths of low ceiling can be oppressive. Several in our group watched the ground to avoid mud puddles but then ran their hard-hat-covered heads into the overhang.

Americans who have visited Kartchner Caverns, as we have, are likely to be quite under-whelmed at Doolin.

Additionally, the entrance fee is quite high for such a limited attraction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Owner at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Sorry that you found your trip to Doolin Cave disappointing. Just a few point arising from the review:
Our cave scientists used the example of Karchner Cave in the USA in our Cave Management Plan for the cave. One of the main negative impacts on the micro climate of a show-cave is the problem of a drop in humidity due to heat generation from artificial lighting and body heat from visitors. The humidity in most caves should remain at almost 100% and we monitor the humidity in the cave at all times to ensure it is kept at this level. Hence the low level of visitor numbers allowed in the cave on an annual basis. Karchner Caves try to keep humidity levels as high as possible at all times. So I'm afraid a dry cave is not good for the growth of speleothems.
The puddles are a result of high humidity and we advise visitors to wear outdoor shoes. The hard hats in this case fulfilled their function as we have tried to keep the cave passage in as natural a state as possible and so it is low in places. This is the reason for the hard hats!
Whereas our scientists agree that Karchner Caves are indeed magnificent, they do not have a stalactite as large as the one in Doolin Cave, it is recognised as being one of the largest in any show cave in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Would definitely encourage everyone to take an hour to do this. It was my favourite part of the trip. We arrived early so once we booked the tour we had a walk on the nature trail and saw the original entrance. It was raining but the weather had no effect on us. The cave itself is spectacular and the stacactitie is amazing. Its really magical when the lights are turned off. The tour guide was full of information and made the tour really interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lamor479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doolin Cave”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful place, brilliant experience to see this natural phenomenon with your own eyes. A must for everyone

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 40berni_3440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHBrowne, Owner at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. You are so right, it has to be seen to be really appreciated, photos don't catch the magic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolin Cave also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing