We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first B&B”
Review of Dubhlinn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dubhlinn House
Ranked #38 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our first B&B”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Dubhlinn House was the first of several B&Bs we stayed at during our recent visit to Ireland and it was wonderful! Joan and Martin were wonderful hosts and great cooks. Plus they offered us terrific advice on where to eat and spend the evening listening to traditional music (McCann's). We loved this B&B and Doolin and I hope I make it back someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millercolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    37
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
118
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marquette
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We enjoyed the fine hospitality at Dubhlinn House in Doolin! Martin is a most gracious host and very helpful for giving directions and advise on things to see in the area. He even sang a couple of songs for us in Fitzpatrick's pub in the village! The breakfast he cooked was perfect in every way! Our room was also very clean and comfortable. Thanks, Martin, for a wonderful time. If we are ever back in Doolin, we will stay with you again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our first main stop in our recent 3 week trip starting in Ireland was at this B&B in Doolin. We spent 3 nights here, which was a perfect amount of time to take in the sites around this area. Martin gave us a warm greeting upon our arrival. He has a great system for ordering what you want for breakfast each morning. The room was nicely decorated, and the bed comfortable. We spent the majority of one day taking the ferry to the Aran Islands, returning via the Cliffs of Moher area. The views are stunning on the island (we just went to the first one, Inisheer), and even more so at the base of the cliffs. Be aware that it can be quite wavy on the boat trip, as the ferry is not very big. Spent another day touring County Clare per Martin's recommendation, driving north along the beautiful coastal road towards Galway Bay, having a great lunch at Monk's in BalleyVaughn, then going south through part of the Burren to Lahinch, then back north to the Cliffs of Moher park, seeing them from above, which is also stunning. Don't miss the Irish music in the pubs each night either. Great way to enjoy your Guiness, or whatever else you are drinking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well run B&B close to Cliffs of Moher and other attractions. The breakfast was delicious.This place is very efficient you they have a breakfast menu and you get to choose from many different options as well as the time you would like to eat. They had copies of menus for local place to eat dinner in. The owner recomended a few pubs to hear traditional music that night. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpm541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Im a return visitor to Doolin and choose Dubhlinn House again, thanks to the warm hosts, the impecable rooms and the fabulous breakfasts.
Joan and Martin have everything organised for you, wether it is where to eat that night, where to travel to the next day to umberellas for the changing weather, You dont feel like you are intruding on their family home as they have a separate area away from the guests so guests really have the freedom to come and go, which I really appreciate as I have visited other B&B's and felt like I was an inconvenience.
The Reillys are experts on Co Clare and things to do, they know every pub in Doolin and the B&B is convient to all of them.
We took their advice and travelled on Doolin 2Arran ferries to Inis Iarr on our second day with them and Im very glad we did as the weather was amazing!
Doolin is a beautful traditional little village, brilliant for you to feel that warm Irish welcome the country is know for.
If you like your breakfasts then Martin Reilly is the man you need to know, hes the best omlettes in the county and lots of his veg and herbs are all home grown so you are getting the best of the best, of course theres more than just omlettes on the menu, there is plenty of choice all equally tastey!
Dubhlinn House is a customer focussed B&B, with everything you could ask for.
Will be back again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annehamiltonblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is by far the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in!
The house is beautiful and spotless. The rooms are generously spacious and have everything you need, with a view of the Cliffs of Moher added in for good measure!
The house is in the centre of it all, walking distance to pier, pubs, restaurants ect but maintains a quiet country feel. The Cliffs, Burren, Aran Islands and Lahinch are nearby along with some lovely beaches and pretty towns. If you're a Father Ted fan you're in luck as there are plenty of Ted locations nearby, including the famous parochial house, where you can even arrange to go inside and have a cuppa and scones - ah go on!
This all adds up to a great holiday in the West of Ireland but what made it a fantastic holiday were our hosts! Joan, Martin and their girls made us feel so welcome. They are by far the most obliging hosts of any b&b I have ever stayed in. They helped us with every aspect of our trip and advised us on the best way to plan our day around the ever changing weather. They really went the extra mile to ensure we had a fantastic holiday.
To add to their brilliant hospitatity, Martin's breakfasts were amazing - best omlette I've had in a long time!
If you are thinking about a trip to Doolin, Dubhlinn House is your best bet.
Thanks to the Reilly's - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haraic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level Contributor
270 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nicely located, between the two small villages that is Dooling. Withinn walking distance of the harbour and several dining places.

Breakfast is great, since there are 6 different meals to choose from, 3 of those are vegetarian. Great coffee is also a plus.

The room are big and bright, and there is a slow, free wifi.

A few things could be better. The bed is soon in need of a change. I could feel the spring in the madras some places.

I know, that the next two complaints, could be said about all irish B and B's but here comes. The taps are in typical irish fashion 1 hot and 1 cold! So when you wash your hands, you choose between skolding hot or ice cold. As is also normal in Irish B and B, you only get 3 Irish channels on TV. Could be better, when sitting inside during rainy weather.

However, this is highly recommended, also due to the lovely and serviceminded owner of the place..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
5.5 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 17 in Doolin
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Atlantic View Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 17 in Doolin
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubhlinn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubhlinn House

Property: Dubhlinn House
Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dubhlinn House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family home looking forward to meeting you as our guest!Joan and Martin Reilly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dubhlinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing