We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping out of time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Doolin is better than "out of a movie." It's one of those places where I stood and turned in place, and no matter which way I looked I could not believe I was standing there.

I do not have extensive experience with any other accommodations in Doolin, but even at first glance I would have chosen Roadford House. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, and all basic amenities were provided.

Marian, our host for a couple of days, was gracious and helpful, from directions to recommendations to the simple comfort of a pleasant smile. We did not take advantage of the evening meal at Roadford House (which was recommended to me while in Dublin), but breakfasts were outstanding, as good as anywhere we stayed.

Without hesitation I would recommend to anyone a stay at Roadford House.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GelatiKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 457 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2007

An Irish reunion on my husband's side prompted a trip to Ireland, our first, where 27 family members would meet in Doolin to enjoy the music festival. My immediate family would spend 2 days in Doolin while the rest of the time we traveled around the country staying at first rate hotels including the famed Ashford Castle. Was also in charge of getting the entire family a place to have dinner while in the little town of Doolin.

Heard of Roadford House in Doolin and made the call. Marian Sheedy, the owner, emailed back immediately stating she could accommodate us for a sit down dinner. I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. We also decided it was easier for my family (2 children and husband) to stay at Roadford for the convenience of being near the rest of the family who were staying in Doolin for the entire week affair.
When we arrived at Roadford House, we were greeted by Marian and immediatley felt like we were home instead of a hotel. We found it very bright, clean and furnished in simple Scandinavian style. What set it apart, by far, was Marian herself, part concierge, part owner, part friend. A writer could not have written a better description of what a hotel proprietor should be. Marian was so accommodating she even lend towels to family members who were staying at other hotels were towels were scarce (and wouldn't hear of taking a penny for the gesture!).
After going to Cromleach Hotel and Ashford Castle, although lovely physical accommodations, the staff could have taken a lesson or two from Marian on true Irish hospitality. And as for the family dinner, it was first rate and could have easily come from any number of the finer restaurants back in the states.
I would highly recommend Roadford House as a destination for its food, cleanliness, warmth and downhome charm.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfectvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

My mother and I (CT, USA) stayed at the Roadford House for the first four nights of our two week stay in Ireland. Its accomodations were unmatched throughout the trip. In elaboration on the aforementioned adjectives, the owner/hostess was kind and helpful in every imaginable way and her husband/chef prepared a delicious array of breakfasts every morning, as well as delectable dining in the evenings. Notably, the House is set off the main road, providing for a more private and relaxing atmosphere. And it should be mentioned that the owners have two houses available for rent for longer stays, further information about which is available via the Roadford House website. Not your typical tourist spot, in the best sense--we felt like we left a friend's house upon our departure.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Prayalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We had a great time in Doolin and the self catering house was perfect for our family. High standard and a great spot in Doolin. Their dog "Bean" was wonderful in his way of watching over everybody we miss him a lot. We felt very welcomed by the family. A great spot to be when you want to explore the Irish westcost. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedishFamilyDoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from a very relaxing and very enjoyable three night stay in Roadford House. We know Marian and Frank over the past ten years having stayed in Ballinalacken Castle Hotel, owned by Marian's family,so we were no strangers to their hospitality and excellent cuisine. We stayed in their self catering accomodation which was really well equipped, spacious,very clean and comfortable.It is ideally located for touring and very near to the local pubs and restaurants also ideal for just relaxing on a rainy Clare day!
Breakfast was included in our stay offering a wide choice and very generous portions. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent!Frank is a superb chef, if there is better cuisine in the west of Ireland we are not aware of it. That coupled with the efficient ,friendly service of Marian and her staff in very ambient surroundings, provided us with a wonderful evening.
Blathnaid and Jack were as friendly as their parents telling us of the big football match against Kilfenora and well done they brought home the cup! Beans the family dog is such a character,his antics were one the highlights of our stay, there's also a very friendly cat!
Roadford House was home from home,wonderful friendly hosts, professional yet laid back atmosphere and the food.....divine!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BB-Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We could not be more pleased with our stay at Roadford House. My wife and I traveled with our 3 children (14, 12, 9) and had a great time! Marian and Frank Sheedy have a great establishment. We used the Roadford House as our base to travel and explore the West Coast and interior of this great country. We could easily reach and enjoy the Burren, the Cliffs of Mohrer, Lahinch Golf Course, Galway City, Quinn, Ballyvaughan, and even traveled the coast down through Kilkee all the way to Loophead. Marian was a great host and had a wealth of ideas and directions to make our stay easy. The rooms were great and the breakfasts were a highlight of the trip (pancakes, porridge and full Irish Breakfast are fabulous!). Marian and Frank were such a help that at one point, my 14 year old had a small accident while traveling and was in need of dental help with his braces...within 5 minutes Frank and Marian an appointment for us with Dr. Sheehan and the trip was saved! Talk about full service! We would heartily recommend this friendly place to any of our friends who are traveling in Ireland. The entire experience was warm and friendly and lovely...including their great Red Setter named Beans!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopperfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

While in an Internet Cafe searching for a place to stay in Doolin my daughter and I met two fellow American travelers who raved about the Roadford house. We were not disappointed. We were met by the owner, Mirian and her beautiful Irish Setter. they both showed us to our rooms, helped us get settled and all with the loveliest irish smile. Our room had a wonderful view of the Irish countryside. It was furnished simply and clean to the point of immaculate. We thought it could use a little color, maybe just a vase of some of the local wildflowers would do the trick.

We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and it was one of the highlights of our stay. The food is all locally grown and fresh with an imaginative twist to familiar favorites. Miriam was our host and server (she is everywhere!) and she obviously enjoys what she is doing and includes you in the fun.

The Inn is conveniently located to many local sites; Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, etc. and most importantaly all of the local pubs. McDermotts was less than a block away and has great local Irish musicians playing every night.

We loved this beautiful part of Ireland and it was made all the better by our stay at the Roadford House.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lmg_ergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
606 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 56 in Doolin
405 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Address: Roadford, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $118 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with modern clean lines - some with views over the village and towards Cliffs of Moher. Gourmet Restaurant serving modern Irish cuisine. 2 minutes walk from local pubs where traditional music is played nightly. 10 mins from Doolin ferries and 15 mins from the Cliffs of Moher tourist centre. Shops within walking distance. Hi Speed internet connection. Ample free parking. Self catering also available minimum of three nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing