We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in County Clare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in County Clare”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Roadford House is a great place to stay to relax and enjoy traditional Irish music (McDermott's Pub); walk to and along the Cliffs of Moher; and hang out at any of the local pubs. It's really close to the ferry to the Aran Islands and Marian (the hostess) is very helpful with places to see and things to do in the area. She's also GREAT with giving Americans clear and concise directions for when you're leaving the area and your map just looks like a very confusing mess by that point! Breakfast is great, but you REALLY must make a reservation for dinner and have one of the best meals of your life there. I need to win LOTTO so I can make Roadford House a yearly trip. Say hello to Beans for me.

Room Tip: Our room was quite large and the beds were really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
107
236
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon our arrival and check-in at Roadford House, Marian was so welcoming that we couldn't resist her invitation to have dinner in the restaurant. Were we ever glad we did. The food and ambience were outstanding - the best of our 10 day trip. All fresh and prepared to perfection by Frank. Marian is the consummate hostess and chatted with us as her time permitted while serving the diners. She made us feel like family. As we headed out to McDermott's after dinner, she even gave us a flashlight for the walk home. Our room upstairs was spotless and decorated in a clean, contemporary style. Breakfast was another delight. Upon leaving in the morning Frank even offered to carry down our heavy suitcases and Marian provided some suggestions for finding a Clare hurling jersey for our son. We had stayed in another B&B in Doolin earlier in our trip that can't compare to Roadford House. This was Irish hospitality at its best. Thank you Marian and Frank, for our best stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hittheroad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. I can not recommend Roadford House highly enough. From the warm, homely welcome from Marian to the tastiest, most beautifully presented food I've had in years. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The restaurant service was second to none,prompt, professional and relaxing.

Again the food was the best part, locally sourced ingredients prepared to Michelin star standards.

Highly recommend staying and eating here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great accommodation & the best room I had during my 10 days in Ireland. Nice size room, clean & quite with a wonderful view. It's also any easy walk to two of Doolin's popular pubs. Heard some great musicians (Foolin in Doolin) at McDermott's Pub. If you're not luck enough to stay at the Roadford House, be sure to go eat there. The food is outstanding - breakfast & dinner. Frank & Marian, the owners, are great hosts & very helpful. When they learned I was going to Lehinch for dinner one night, they gave me directions for going "over the mountain" instead of around. The drive on this one-lane country road was an experience I wouldn't have wanted to miss. Thanks, Frank & Marian (& Beans) ! I will definitely stay here every time I'm in Doolin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up front with a view over Doolin toward the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Young couple in doolin for wedding weekend.

Excellent value for money, great location the Rooms were very clean and modern. Nice touch in bathroom with shampoo and shower gel also. Location excellent to locate pubs and restaurant all within walking distance. Breakfast was excellent however the time were 8/8.30 to 9.45 am and this could and should be extended to 10.30 on weekend mornings. Overall excellent and we will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamhfinan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews I chose the Roadford for its great reviews, elegant dining and comfortable stay. I booked on booking.com, who come to find out 10 days before our reservation, didn't inform The Roadford, who was now double booked. That's when the magic of Marian kicked in. She quickly admitted the mistake and let me know that although it was a predicament, she was responsible for making our stay a great one. And she did. She booked us one night at a comparable B&B across town next to O'Connor's for the first night and then upgraded our reservation at the Roadford to a double room suite with breakfast for the remainder of our stay in Doolin. It couldn't have worked out better. Breakfast was great as was dinner in the restaurant.

The location couldn't have been better as we were a short walk to McGann's and McDermott's pub for great music. We took short trips to The Burren and the Cliffs of Moher. Marion was a charming host as was her daughter. My wife really hit it off with Beans, their Irish Setter and Official Roadford Greeter. The only negative was the shower's water pressure was very weak, but it was also low at the other B&B we stayed at in Doolin. Maybe that's a Doolin thang.

Thanks for making everything wonderful. We look forward to staying with you again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast and restaurant gives a truly "Irish" welcome to its guests. I have rarely received such personal service and attention anywhere. The restaurant offered a terrific menu and the food was amazing. A short walk to a nearby pub for great traditional music and a quick run into Doolin village. I would definitely go back to Roadford House again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Property: Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Address: Roadford | Doolin, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with modern clean lines - some with views over the village and towards Cliffs of Moher. Gourmet Restaurant serving modern Irish cuisine. 2 minutes walk from local pubs where traditional music is played nightly. 10 mins from Doolin ferries and 15 mins from the Cliffs of Moher tourist centre. Shops within walking distance. Hi Speed internet connection. Ample free parking. Self catering also available minimum of three nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing