We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doolin House(Doolin)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hydro Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Spa Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rathbaun Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Doolin(Doolin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
King Thomond Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveler rating
431
34
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
34
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeansirish setterexcellent dinnermarian sheedyhaketraditional breakfastthe ownerwonderful foodtwo nightstop classaran islandsshort walkmusic pubstraditional irish musicwithin walking distancecounty claresmoked salmon
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 474 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Roadford House is a great place from which to explore the Ireland west coast! This special place has great amenities - the rooms are modern and simply decorated, but very comfortable. Our family stayed in a triple (one double and one single). It was large enough for all PLUS our luggage, which is sometimes hard to do in a European accommodation.

The BEST thing about this place is Marian, one of the host (we didn't have pleasure of meeting the chef/host). She was so helpful when we were to arrive very late and provided some flexibility in our check out time as well. She also called a boat tour company for us and made our reservations.

The other amazing thing about this place is the food!! They have a small restaurant that serves dinner there too and the chef is simply amazing. Thai fish soup, a fish sampler, steak, and - yum - fantastic scallops! We tried them all and they were great. Breakfast is also fantastic...with your choice of a several main dishes (hot), plus cereals, yogurts, coffee, tea, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love-to-World-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our family, consisting of 4 adults spent 1 night at the Roadford Guest House in Doolin during April 2012. Doolin is a quaint little town and the scenic drive from Dublin to get to Doolin was simply stunning and we just marveled at Doolin's rural location. Our accommodation was a beautiful town house with 2 bedrooms and a spacious modern bathroom. It was excellent, clean and comfortable.

Before dinner & after dinner we walked down the road and visited the two Irish pubs as they both hosted traditional Irish music and of course Guinness!

The food at Roadford was absolutely delicious, we ordered different dishes so that we could each taste each others dishes, of course they were all excellent! Breakfast the next morning was just as wonderful as dinner. Frank is an excellent chef, its no wonder he's been awarded so many accolades.

Marian & Frank were the perfect hosts and Marian was even kind enough to post my son's hoody, which he'd left behind, which we thought was so kind of her.

During our travels around Ireland, we found ourselves recommending Roadford to everyone we met! My only regret is that its taken me so long to write this review. Sorry Marian :(

Ps.. We also loved meeting Beans, he is such a beautiful dog!

Room Tip: If you're a family of four - definitely book the townhouse!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenbee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rooms at Roadford are nice enough – basic, clean and comfortable. However, what the hotel lacks in quirky rooms it completely makes up for with a wonderful hostess and amazing food. Marian was always willing to chat, share info about the area, suggest sightseeing itineraries and more. When we arrived almost an hour later than our dinner reservation (don’t underestimate the drive from Northern Ireland – it’s LONG!) on the first night, she happily ushered us in and fed us despite what I suspect was a closed kitchen. After a wonderful dinner, she settled us in to our room and pointed us to the pubs that were all within walking distance. Breakfast was just as wonderful as dinner, with several selections that provided some variety since we were staying several days.

Room Tip: Roadford offers an option to book a 3-course dinner with your stay. Take advantage of this offer! We had dinner at the restaurant our first night there. It was so good we had to make a real effort not to eat there every night after.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taryn615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent a night in Roadford House last week and as ever it was a wonderful experience. We have been coming back for about six years and feel no visit to Co Clare is complete without staying here. Marian is a fantastic hostess who goes out of her way to accommodate and be helpful. The food is second to none and the restaurant would rival the very best. It is quite simply outstanding and of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eithne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We arrived in Doolin with really no idea where to choose to stay. We happened upon the Roadford House and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We were given a 2 bedroom family suite - which included 2 bathrooms. The beds were amazingly comfortable. Marian was a delightful hostess. Breakfast was amazing. The boys had a traditional Irish breakfast which featured eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes and potatoes. I opted for smoked salmon and a perfectly portioned scrambled egg. My daughter had a fruit and cheese plate. Perfect for each of us. The location is excellent for the evening pub visit and overall we're so pleased we made the choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpicyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews