We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B”
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Stayed at the Harbour View for 2 nights with my fiancee during a quick weekend in the Doolin area. This B&B was very nice - very spacious room with a private bathroom which was also large. It was nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed. Lots of extra pillows, warm blankets (it was a cold, rainy weekend), etc.

The breakfast was also very darn good. Not an exact Irish breakfast - but both hot & cold servings (sausage, bacon, egg, cereal, yoghurt, bread, jam, coffee, juice, etc.). The breakfast room was also very large - and although the place seemed full, never an issue with getting breakfast table.

Harbour View is a larger B&B - 8 or more separate rooms. It was obviously built specifically for the task, so it does miss some of the 100 year old cottage charm that others might have.

Only item that could be improved is the location - it is a good mile away from the actual village of Doolin, probably 1.5 from the pubs. By car this is a non-issue as it is 3 min away. However, if you plan to enjoy more than a few pints, walking home is not an option (especially in the rain which we had lots of).

From a quality for price perspective - it was worth the Euros.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Location not walking distance to Doolin village
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXCTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    37
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
92
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Harbour View B&B for three nights on our honeymoon. We were given a wonderful room on the bottom floor that was completely private. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom was modern and also clean with a double jacuzzi and shower stall. We had our own entrance, allowing us to come and go. We were incredibly comfortable and do not have a single complaint! The owner was very nice and recommended local pubs for dinner and music. The breakfast was great and left us full every day. Doolin is a great location for visiting many of county Clare's biggest attractions as well as for kicking it back and relaxing by the sea. A wonderful B&B! Top notch!

  • Liked — The jacuzzi tub!
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing. Wish we could have stayed longer!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadeeio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Harbour View is a purpose built bed and breakfast in Doolin. As the name suggests, you have a view of the harbour from many of the rooms.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed with large ensuite bathrooms and comfortable beds. Most have large picture windows that really add to the openness of the room. Most bedrooms will sleep 2-4 people but a couple will sleep 6.

As you enter the home you will be greeted by a comfortable sitting area with a warm fire. You are welcome to make yourself at home here. My girls were overjoyed to see Dora on the television. They were joined by the owner's charming young son and spent our "settling in" time out of the way and entertained.

A full Irish breakfast is laid out in the morning as well as a sideboard of cereals, breads, fruits, yogurt and juices. You will not leave on your wanderings hungry!

Doolin is well known for it's traditional music and Gus O'Connor's pub in Doolin has nightly sessions in the high season- as well as the best fish & chips I've ever tasted.

Harbour View is only minutes from the Cliffs of Moher and a great base for exploring the Burren or taking a trip to the Aran Islands (boats leave from Doolin).

I have more on our time in Doolin at blog.havekidwilltravel.com.

  • Liked — The home is on a single level- no stairs!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the HarborView for 3 nights. I was disappointed that we were given a room with a view of the back patio. The room itself was large, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. However, on the next day we were offered the chance to move to another large room at the front of the house with a lovely view. The room was just as nice as the first. The breakfasts were good but the breakfast room is cramped and there is no privacy. However, we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank eboojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We are regular visitors to Doolin, County Clare, Ireland. Whenever possible, we stay at the Harbour View B&B at the top of the road to Doolin. It is the perfect location for day trips to the Burren, the Aran Islands, Cliffs of Mohr, golf courses and even the airport and Galway are just a short drive away.

We have been staying here for 7 years and each year look forward to coming back again. The hospitality here is the greatest. There are always warm smiles and hugs awaiting us afer our long and tiring flight. The rooms are cozy with large private baths and, the best part of all, heated beds! These are most appreciated after a chilly night out on town.

The breakfasts are the best I've found in all of Ireland. Home made breads to die for, everything cooked to order, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, my mouth is watering just thinking about. I've just been told they now have a wine license, so this makes it even better! The family is always full of great ideas and suggestions on where to go, what to see, where to eat, etc. And if you are lucky enough to catch them in the pubs at night, it's great to sit with a pint and chat. If you are going to Doolin, the Harbour View is the place to stay if you are looking for the warmth and charm of Ireland.

Helpful?
16 Thank rosemary826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2006

Harbour View was an easy B & B for the three of us to find after leaving the Cliffs of Moher as night was descending. It is on the main road next to a gas station at the Doolin turnoff. The hostess was charming in welcoming us unexpectedly at that time. The house is totally modern and exceptionally clean. A plus was the large living room with comfortable new leather furnishings and big-screen tv and firplace. It was quite cozy. The bedrooms were all spotless and new. The one drawback was the beautiful bathroom had warm shower water; I don't know if I just couldn't figure out the fixture.

We needed to leave early, and the hostess offered to make breakfast a half hour earlier than usual. The fruit cup was fresh and delicious, and there were choices from simple breads and fruits and cereal to a full Irish breakfast. These fried tomatoes were my favorite of the week. She offered us easier directions back to Dublin. The price was 35 euros apiece. We paid with a credit card.

This is a good place if driving through. It had a lovely view of the harbor. Doolin town was down the hill a few minutes by car; we could see it from our bedroom. If we went to Doolin to stay again, we would probably stay in the tiny town. We don't drink much, but a drinker wouldn't want to drive up those dark roads late at night after a few. Besides, there were people walking in the dark road.

We stayed here after reading about it in the Ireland travel book by Rick Steve.

Helpful?
9 Thank zato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
560 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 17 in Doolin
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Address: Harbour View, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour View is located on the Wild Atlantic Way overlooking the Village of Doolin and the Atlantic Ocean. We are just a 5 minute drive to the Cliffs of Moher Visitor Centre and 3 minute drive to our local pubs and restaurants which offer traditional music nightly. Our location offers fantastic sunsets and panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Burren National Park, and Galway Bay. Our location is an ideal base to explore these unique sights. Other Doolin attractions include the Doolin Cave, the Doolin Cliff Walk, and ferry rides under the Cliffs of Moher and to the Aran Islands. There is also local horse-back riding which can be organized by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Harbour View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing