We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not miss staying at this B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

For the third time, my wife, grand daughter and myself recently were able to stay at Harbour View B&B. Staying with Cathy and Jonathan has been a highlight of our trip each and everytime. Cathy has gone out of her way to make sure our visits have been nothing less than perfect. She and Jonathan have gone to great efforts to ensure their home has all the finest updates and amenities. When it comes to operating a B&B, Cathy is an expert and knows how to make sure all her guest's needs are fulfilled. She has an excellent breakfast menu and you will never find french toast prepared any better anywhere! Anytime you are close to the Doolin area, please do not miss an opportuntiy to stay at Harbour View B&B... you won't be disappointed!! Thank you so much for your hospitality Cathy and Jonathan.... I do hope to see you again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Booked online after reading they served fresh, local food!
The location is fab, amazing views, easy drive to the pier for the ferries to the Aran Islands, easy drive to a very nice pub called fitzpatricks.
The rooms are massive, really modern, very clean & the bathroom was lovely.

The breakfast was great - lovely French toast!!! Food is important to me!!!! Service was slightly slow tho.
The host Cathy was lovely. I see one review says they feel as though they stayed in a hotel more than a B&B but personally I think it's nice not to see your host all of the time. Cathy remembered to use my name which was nice and she was friendly and approachable. This is probably one of the best B&B's I've stayed in.

Also even tho it's based just off the main road the rooms were quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B and they set a high standard for any other we visit. Friendly atmosphere with delicious breakfast and great location with a stellar view. Just 10 mins from the ferries to the Aran Islands and 3 mins to great pubs. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and nicely set up.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I will keep my review simple. It should be noted that we are Americans and have stayed in B&B regularly in America. So we are use to it feeling like we are staying at a friends house. we stayed at Harbour view for 3 days.

The Good:
1.) rooms were large, spacious & well decorated.
2.) best beds we had- large, comfy, sheets nice and bedding warm.
3.) the location was excellent
4.) breakfast was the best we had in Ireland of all the B&Bs.
5.) En suite bathroom was great.
6.) Plenty of parking.
7.) Towels and freshly made bed, daily.

The okay:
1.) The host was friendly and accommodating. But like I mentioned earlier we were use to feeling like at a B&B you were invited guests in someone's home. This was not the case here. Besides the good mornings our host did not see or speak to us while we were there. We only saw her at breakfast. They lived in a different section of the house away from the guests so we didn't interact with them at all. So we felt more like we stayed in nice hotel than a B&B. It all depends on what you want. We chose B&B because we wanted to meet Irish families and get more of an opportunity to see the culture. I would have to say that was not the case in our travels through Ireland at any of the B&Bs.

Bad:
1.) This is no reflection on the B&B. While the location was prime - in terms of the fact it was close to the ferries for Aran Islands and 10 minutes from the Cliffs of Moher. I would not advise anyone who wants a more authentic experience to stay in Doolin. Because of its location it is a tourist trap. Buses everywhere, lines, even the "main" street area was very commercialized. I felt like I was in America. I advise folks to stay in Lisdoonvarna or Ballyvaughan - still close but less Americanized.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our first B and B experience and it was a good one. Like most have said it is located between the little town of Doolin and the Cliffs, so you get a chance to do both without going too far. Great view from our room and would have been really nice to sit outside with coffee and tea if the weather would have been better. If you are going south from here to Dingle take the Shannon Ferry--it will save you about an 1.5 hours of the crazy driving.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This b&b is ideally situated on the main road, short drive to the cliffs and a mile from cute little Doolin town. Spacious, updated room with a panoramic view of Doolin, pleasant hosts, good food. This was the best b&b b experience in our 10-day Ireland tour.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

What a great view from the front bedrooms, you can see Doolin Harbour, all the way to the Aran Islands!
Cathy gave us good ideas on what to do, her husband even checked weather reports and ferry schedules for us! Great place to here local musicians, like "Foolin in Doolin"!
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nursecoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
642 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#13 of 56 in Doolin
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Bed & Breakfast

Address: Harbour View, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $96 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour View is located on the Wild Atlantic Way overlooking the Village of Doolin and the Atlantic Ocean. We are just a 5 minute drive to the Cliffs of Moher Visitor Centre and 3 minute drive to our local pubs and restaurants which offer traditional music nightly. Our location offers fantastic sunsets and panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Burren National Park, and Galway Bay. Our location is an ideal base to explore these unique sights. Other Doolin attractions include the Doolin Cave, the Doolin Cliff Walk, and ferry rides under the Cliffs of Moher and to the Aran Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Harbour View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing