We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would I recommend this spot? Nopes..but I don't know what the neighbours are like..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge, Doolin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lodge, Doolin
Ranked #27 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Would I recommend this spot? Nopes..but I don't know what the neighbours are like..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The owners were very friendly via email and were full of valuable tips but our stay there was just okay as we hit a lot of issues. In all honesty it's hard to say if these guys deserve the rave reviews they received, since I haven't stayed at the other B&Bs nearby- so they may be awesome by comparison. What I do know is that the playpen was broken on arrival (we did get a new one immediately), the linen had hair, my belly wouldn't fit in through the shower stall (I had to take a picture for proof!!!But I am pregnant, if you have a beer belly you won't fit in here either, not in room 32 anyways), there were very odd slanted windows which we had quite a time getting the blinds down for as there were no hooks ( but one thing I can say is that I was able to finally get a full night's sleep since it was a cold day! We'd been hitting the heatwave and with no A.C it was pretty hard for me to sleep, until we got to Doolin, the cold weather and the rain showers.) Not even the rain pelting on the glass skylights could keep me awake! Oh and the internet did not work in our rooms, due to some issues. Luckily the breakfast was hearty enough so I didn't mind standing outside the reception to quickly stroll through Twitter. We stayed in the hotel portion and it was nice to have access to a full kitchen and a well stocked library in the living room downstairs to enjoy a couple beers at. We also ended up being over charged for our rooms since their aunt wasn't able to bill us in Euros (she charged us in Canadian Dollars) and the lovely couple tried to rectify the mistake, but only ended up costing us more through the process (not by much though... about 30 Euros between all our 3 rooms). I hope they've fixed some of the issues,namely with the blinds as it's no fun having the sun greet you earlier than you expected!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review, we welcome all reviews as they help us improve on areas we may need to. We feel your "poor" rating is slightly unfair though especially as there are more positives in your review than negatives !
_ friendly owners, described by you as a lovely couple, yes, we feel we deserve the rave reviews people have submitted, I'm not sure its for you to determine that we dont deserve them, our reviews are 98 percent positive.
_ full nights sleep
_ hearty breakfast
_access to a full kitchen
_ use of well stocked library
_ living room
Negatives: our showers are fitted to approved sizes for guest accommodation, it's hard to believe you couldn't fit in. Perhaps you should have chosen the room I had pre allocated for you with the bath tub which would have been more appropriate for both you and your little girl.
The "odd slanted windows" are large velux skylights, very popular in Europe, which along with the regular windows, allow for maximum light coming through. There are 2 poles at each end of the hallway that you use to pull down the blinds, there is always someone to help for anyone who cannot manage. We could have had them pulled down for you on your second evening, had you mentioned you were having problems.
WiFi at the time of your stay was being upgraded, so was hit and miss in some rooms, always fully available in reception, where you could have sat down, no need to stand outside! You are not going to have super fast WiFi in remote west of Ireland compared to urban areas, many establishments around here have WiFi available in their receptions only, however, since our upgrade, it is available in all rooms.
The ongoing saga of your payment continues! I know we have exchanged numerous emails about this but for the benefit of the reader, I will explain. On the morning you left, my husband was called to a farming emergency, he was unable to wait for you any longer as it was already past check out time. Your rate was 70 euros per room per night including breakfast, you had 3 rooms for 6 people plus your little girl. Yes, Pat put the cards through in Canadian dollars by accident as she wasn't totally familiar with the machine. Niall returned after 30 minutes, you weren't prepared to wait, and he rectified the mistake for all 3 rooms, despite you being the only one with an issue, by refunding you and re charging in euros, you omitted to say that we also refunded you 10 euros per room as way of apology and to compensate for any bank charges you might have incurred, which means you paid a total of SIXTY FIVE euros per room per night inclusive of breakfast and all taxes. I thought we had put this to rest over a month ago but you are obviously still focussing on this. I hope now that your review is up and we have responded, that you can finally move on!
Perhaps when you reflect further, you will realise that your stay here wasn't all that bad and maybe we can welcome you back to Doolin another time and try and arrange better weather which I think added to your negativity!! We are a small family run business with 5 young children and negative reviews affect us greatly, both professionally and moreso personally.
Wishing you the best of luck with your new arrival, your little girl is just adorable.
Kind Regards from Doolin,
Deirdre & Niall O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    61
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
79
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was a really nice B&B. Deirdre was very friendly and even let us check in early when we made good time and arrived sooner than expected. Very lovely house and a hearty yummy breakfast! A bit of a walk to the docks but not bad, maybe 20mins. Nice places to eat nearby (Deirdre will help you track them down too!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireland56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our group of 18 stayed 2 nights here and had a very positive experience. It's fairly new, clean, and spacious. Close to the music pubs of Doolin and about 15 minute walk to the Aran Island ferries. Breakfast was complete and very good. Our hostess Deirdre was very accommodating and even helped us plan a little 4th of July party!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Roger h,
Thank you for your recent review, it was a pleasure to have you and your students here and to celebrate the 4th of July with you!
See you again,
Niall and Deirdre O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The lodge was recommended to us by another B&B owner. It is not so much of a B&B feel as a lodge/hotel. But it was a clean new facility, friendly and the room was beautiful. Plus - our favorite feature was the heated bathroom floor. Seriously, it was the best.

Breakfast was good as well and price reasonable. Close enough to town and the pier. It is worth checking out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank danzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A group of 17 of us stayed here for my hen weekend. It was absolutely perfect! The accommodation is really spacious, well kept and very clean. There was a great choice for breakfast, and the food was delicious. All of the staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. Pricewise, it was very reasonable. It was the perfect mix between self-catering and B&B as you get the best of both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Fiona G,
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate you taking the time to post.
Best of good luck to you in married life!
Kind Regards,
Niall & Deirdre O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our group booked two nights at the Doolin Activity Lodge for the second year in a row.

The location is halfway between the pubs known for traditional music. The pier is walking distance to catch the ferry to the Aran Islands.

The property is modern and very well maintained. Rooms are large and comfortable. The owners go out of their way to meet special needs. Breakfast choices are great and the food delicious.

The staff is friendly and helpful. We've stayed in a lot of places in Ireland and this is one we will definitely return to next year and stay an extra night.

TIP: The hike from the Cliffs of Moher down to Doolin is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Activity Lodge twice and both times the owner went out of his way for me. My first visit was on a cold wet November evening when not a light was on in Doolin but the local pub, O'Connors. The bar man called Niall to inquire if he was open. Niall drove from his home to open a room for us then called his chef to come in and make breakfast for us the next morning. He couldn't have gone any more out of his way for us! Breakfast was fabulous, coffee delicious, nothing greasy! Beds warm and comfy! Did I mention he opened an apartment for us? He had no other guest so it wasn't a matter of the only thing available... He saw I was with two teenage boys and accommodated us! I've been back for a second stay and during one stay in a near by town he welcomed us in for breakfast despite not being guest! Again, delicious and fairly priced! I will always recommend Doolin Activity Lodge and stay IF there are rooms available.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passports_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Passports_9,
Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to feel appreciated, we always try to go out of our way so that our guests have a good experience in our beautiful village, so again thank you for taking the time to post.
See you again!
Kind Regards,
Niall & Deirdre O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#11 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge, Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge, Doolin

Property: The Lodge, Doolin
Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, Doolin is located on the Wild Atlantic Way in the centre of Doolin village. The renowned Gus O'Connor's pub is a 3 minute walk from here where you will hear some great traditional music sessions. Doolin is an ideal base from where you can explore the vast Burren region, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the neighbouring counties of Galway and Kerry. We have luxurious sea view rooms, large ground floor family rooms, wheelchair accessible rooms and private suites which are ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together. The Lodge is non smoking and we provide free parking and free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is served in our courtyard dining room and we have a varied menu catering for all tastes. We offer an on site laundry service and are happy to book any tours or trips that you wish to take during your stay as well as being on hand for any other information you require. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay with us here at The Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your The Lodge, Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing