We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doolin Activity Lodge-good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lodge, Doolin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge, Doolin
Ranked #27 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millinocket, ME USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Doolin Activity Lodge-good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The lodge was a great value for us. We had an upstairs room and it was spacious and bright with high ceilings. It was fresh smelling and clean and everything in the bathroom worked fine. The breakfast had more options than any other place we stayed in Ireland. Despite being located in a farm meadow, it was a very short walk to the small village of Doolin. We had some car issues and Deidre helped me make some calls to get that resolved. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Doug K,
Thank you for your recent review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and I'm glad you got your car sorted out.
Hopefully we will see you back in Doolin another time!
Kind Regards,
Niall & Deirdre O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    61
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
79
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The price of the apartments is very reasonable and there is a lot of space to spread out. However, the beds sag in the middle and the bed linen needs to be replaced. Also, the place is very noisy with water running through the pipes from the upstairs apartments. The WiFi is only available in the reception area and was not at all reliable. The woman upstairs in the breakfast area was lovely and friendly but don't expect the men working reception to be very friendly. They will do laundry for you at a cost of 15 euro for a big load which is great if you have been travelling for a while. I found it hard to sleep with the noise so I will find a quieter place next time.

Room Tip: Not the rooms facing the road and upper floors would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Leslie T,
Thank you for your recent review and I'm only sorry you didn't enjoy your free upgrade to our 4 bedroom apartment instead of the 3 rooms originally booked. Our walking groups usually love this extra space as they have their own kitchen for making lunches etc and more space for their gear. Our laundry service is very popular with guests and non residents also.
We spent alot of money last year on new mattresses and bed linen so I will have to investigate your point on that further.
If you recall, we had our internet service provider here on the days you stayed so our service was interrupted to 3 of the 4 buildings intermittently while it was being upgraded. They made sure it was maintained in the reception area at all times so guests were not without. We now have excellent high speed broadband in all rooms and apartments.
We have lovely friendly staff working here, and are popular with guests, which is why we ask them back each Summer to work here.
I am sorry you are a light sleeper, our rooms are well sound proofed, but I suppose there is always going to be some element of noise when in guest accommodation.
We would love to have you stay again, you have a lovely family.
Kind Regards from Doolin.
Niall & Deirdre O'Dwyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I travel to Co. Clare every year as I have family and friends in the area. I have stayed in numerous self catering cottages over the years in Doolin and surrounding areas. This is the first time we stayed in the Doolin Activity Lodge and I would not hesitate to recommend it as it suited our needs perfectly. My intial (late) enquiry was dealt with efficently and I was pleased with the quote given - I liked the fact that towels were included as we like to travel light and that the heating was also included which helped with my budgeting - i hate staying in cottages and trying to guess how much cash to save for the last days heating bill!! As the apartment was not available on our first night we initially stayed in the B&B by prior agreement - massive room, beautifully furnished with three large doubles plus fantasic shower with plenty of hot water for the four of us. We had breakfast the following morning and it was beautfully cooked with lovely service. We then moved into a three bedroom all ensuite apartment - plenty of towels and again always hot water for showers. This was not as modern in style as the B&B rooms but really clean, warm and perfectly adequate for our needs. During this holiday we did not end up cooking-in as much I usually do as we had so many family and friends to visit and cook for us! We just made breakfasts and packed lunches to take with us on our days out so i cant really comment on whether there was enought kitchen utensils to facilite cooking major meals but the service was so friendly and Deidre and all the team were so approachable i am sure if i needed anything they would have found it for me. Perfect location for an evening stroll to the wonderful pubs of Doolin. My children and I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoClareAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked a flat in the Activity Lodge at Doolin, Co Clare as a base for a caving leadership training course we were running in the Burren nearby. The apartment is very well equiped but also quite suitable places to store our muddy boots and caving gear :) The price was better than we could have got anywhere else for such a big group and everything was included - there were no extras like heating and electricity. The lodge is withing walking distance of some fabulous pubs and the Doolin pier, sand dunes and beach (rocky but lovely) - the Arran islands ferry goes from the pier for a day trip. What more could you want - lovely people, lovely place and excellent value for money - we'll surely be going back again every year now :) Adrian Thomas, SUI Training Team.

Room Tip: The apartments are excellent value but I think they do single rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Although we were not guests we were directed to the Lodge in search of breakfast. We received a warm welcome and were seated promptly. The lady who served us was friendly and helpful, pointing out the various cereals etc before taking our order. The coffee would have satisfied Jack Reacher, just dont ask for a Latte.The nice lady pointed out to us and others that the coffee machine didn't work but was a relic of days gone by when the place was a restaurant. Throw it out!! Also throw out the deep fat fryer and fire the person who thinks that it is acceptable to deep fry bacon or French toast. It was early morning with only two other diners present so no excuse that they were busy. Why, why, why to Irish catering establishments insist on serving up deep fried muck unfit for animals, black pudding, sausages, mushrooms etc all get the same treatment. It is a national disgrace!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 711JimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear 711JimB,
With reference to your recent review, I would like to address the following points.
First and foremost, your review is in the incorrect place, it should be by rights, in the "places to eat" section, as you said, you were not our guest.
Secondly, if you look at the "places to eat" section for Doolin, you will see that we are not in it, this is because we are not a restaurant open to the public.
We were simply doing a neighbour a favour as you had showed up too early at their premises.
I am glad that you found us warmly welcoming and were treated very well. We treat all our guests with outmost courtesy as we appreciate their custom.
Surely what we do with our coffee machine is our business? It is not being used at present and located behind the service area, we serve tea and filtered coffee for breakfast, our coffee gets complimented all the time. Why would you ask for and expect a Latte when its not on the menu?
Also I have no intention of firing my chef, thank you. He is a lovely man, doing a great job and very popular, which is why he has been with us for 5 years now. Our bacon is grilled, not deep fried, neither is our french toast, I can't even imagine the mess that would create! We don't serve mushrooms and we use our deep fat fryer for cooking sausages, which is quite the norm. It's a shame that you chose our family run B&B to vent your frustrations on, and I quote: "Irish catering establishments which are a national disgrace" , a comment, we strongly disagree with. We obviously got you on a bad day. I can't understand why you didn't express any disatisfaction when you were here, which would be the correct platform to do so surely, in fact you were a very pleasant couple!
If you are so tired of all these catering establishments, and by all accounts, have visited alot, why is our B&B the only place you have ever reviewed on Tripadvisor?
Kind Regards,
Niall & Deirdre O'Dwyer
Doolin Activity Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband, daughter and I just spent 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. Both Niall and Deidre make you feel most welcome, with excellent recommendations for activities, pubs and dining. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast. We will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmf3554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
381 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We rented one of the self catering apartments here for my friend's wedding in Doolin. As it was self-catering we brought a lot of things ourselves - but really needn't have bothered as they really do supply everything you would need from washing up equipment to pots and pans. The buildings themselves are really lovely stone buildings and really fit in with the countryside. Our apartment was huge for the two of us and was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect to walk to both the bars and restaurants and to the harbour. We absolutely loved this place and would definitely stay there again if we were in Doolin. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria_jamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliestravels, Owner at The Lodge, Doolin, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Victoria_jamieson,
Thank you for your recent review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and even more so that you had a great time at your friends wedding, it certainly sounded like a great celebration!
We would love to have you back to stay again in the future.
Kind Regards from Doolin.
Deirdre & Niall O'Dwyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#15 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#28 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#11 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge, Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge, Doolin

Property: The Lodge, Doolin
Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, Doolin is located on the Wild Atlantic Way in the centre of Doolin village. The renowned Gus O'Connor's pub is a 3 minute walk from here where you will hear some great traditional music sessions. Doolin is an ideal base from where you can explore the vast Burren region, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the neighbouring counties of Galway and Kerry. We have luxurious sea view rooms, large ground floor family rooms, wheelchair accessible rooms and private suites which are ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together. The Lodge is non smoking and we provide free parking and free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is served in our courtyard dining room and we have a varied menu catering for all tastes. We offer an on site laundry service and are happy to book any tours or trips that you wish to take during your stay as well as being on hand for any other information you require. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay with us here at The Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your The Lodge, Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing