We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Lodge, Doolin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge, Doolin
Ranked #29 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Stayed at the Doolin Activity Lodge for a night in late March based on Tripadvisor reviews. It certainly lived up to my expectations. I was travelling solo but was given a spacious three queen bed room. The room had a modern decor, which I enjoy. All rooms open to the outside with an interior and exterior door. This made coming and going much more convenient vs. having to share common entrys and areas as with most B&Bs. Heated floor was a great extra. Room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was included and the small on site restaurant has a very pleasant atmosphere. The hosts were very nice to engage in conversation as I was the sole diner in the place at 8:30am. Deidre (I think it was) inquired about my driving route and made a great suggestoin to take an alternate coastal road north. This turned out to be a great recommendation. The lodge is only a few minutes walk to O'Conners Pub, which had a great atmosphere, music, and the best fish and chips. Wish I had time to stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rfeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 284 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2008

Some friends and I were taking our first trip to Ireland and decided to stay in Doolin. There were six of us, so we decided to book an apartment at the Activity Lodge. We had such a fantastic stay there, everything from the location (right near the "main street" of Doolin) to the amenities (heated floors!) to the price (very reasonable!!) suited us perfectly. There was tons of space, we had a great living room with a TV, and we really appreciated the kitchen when we were cutting costs and cooking our own meals! (Side note: breakfast is included in your stay and was DELICIOUS!) The apartment was clean, spacious, and so very, very comfortable (we loved sitting on the couches by the fire!). I would HIGHLY recommend the Activity Lodge to anyone coming to Doolin with a large (or even smaller) group!! You will NOT regret staying here!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pinacoladagrl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Doolin lodge was our last stop after 2 weeks travel with 15 family members. They were able to accomadate all of us by having us stay in the townhomes down the street. And was able to accomadate my parents by putting them in a room on the first floor at the activity lodge. It was fantastic, clean, good food, relaxing. The owners went above and beyond to help us out.
while we were at Doolin, my 2yr old son sustained an injury that required stiches. Nile the owner escorted us to Limerick Hosp. waited with us and escorted us back. 4hr's round trip! It was very reassuring having him with us.......We definetly will go back and stay longer next time..

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jogall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed in Doolin in oct at the Activity lodge and it was great. We had more room than we knew what to do with. It was very clean and they were helpful. Breakfast was wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lisha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I just returned from a wonderful week in Ireland. One of the highlights was staying at the Doolin Activity Lodge and will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Ireland.

We were made very welcome upon our arrival and the level of excellence never wavered...the room was very clean, had a great view. We could not ask for more!

Our host, was very friendly and happy to answer any and all questions we had about the area and offered some suggestions that we heeded and glad that we did.

If you are fortunate enough to visit Doolin, I recommend taking the Cliffs of Moher Cruise, specifically the last sailing of the day as it takes you along the entire length of the cliffs as opposed to 30 minutes out and 30 minutes back. The 8 Euro per person was well worth the money!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank JCS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

After much research in books and on the web, I found the Doolin Lodge. Doolin is known for its tradiontional Irish music and was written about many times. The lodge was nice and it slept 3 adults (a couple and another adult) just fine. It had a separate TV/kitchenette room. The bathroom could have used a little work. The price came with breakfast, which I chose french toast, after being tired of the typical heavy Irish fare. It was really tasty.
The only nightlife in Doolin are a few pubs within walking distance. It's a very small town. The music was good but OConnors was packed to the brim. The setup for the music seemed planned for the tourists and not a "just drop in" as the books stated it was. Except for the loud Americans, it was a fun experience.
This wasn't my favorite musical experience in Ireland but maybe in the off season it wouldn't be as crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Doolin was the first stop during our recent trip to Ireland and we stayed here for our first night. The property was very easy to find, the hosts were very hospitable, it was rather neat to see cows from our room window. Only room for improvement we saw was the bed could have been more comfortable, it was dipping towards the middle of it. Other than that, we were extremely happy with this place and will go back if we're in Doolin again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthCountyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#23 of 56 in Doolin
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
1.6 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 56 in Doolin
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nellie Dees
Nellie Dees
#22 of 56 in Doolin
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Doolin Inn & Hostel
#1 of 20 in Doolin
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge, Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge, Doolin

Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $97 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, Doolin is located on the Wild Atlantic Way in the centre of Doolin village. The renowned Gus O'Connor's pub is a 3 minute walk from here where you will hear some great traditional music sessions. Doolin is an ideal base from where you can explore the vast Burren region, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the neighbouring counties of Galway and Kerry. We have luxurious sea view rooms, large ground floor family rooms, wheelchair accessible rooms and private suites which are ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together. The Lodge is non smoking and we provide free parking and free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is served in our courtyard dining room and we have a varied menu catering for all tastes. We offer an on site laundry service and are happy to book any tours or trips that you wish to take during your stay as well as being on hand for any other information you require. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay with us here at The Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge, Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing