We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment for the price of a room!”
Review of The Lodge, Doolin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge, Doolin
Ranked #28 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in, having only booked a twin room, we were given an entire apartment. We were pleasantly surprised. Granted, it was in May which is a bit off-season, and the room would only sit anyway, but this was still very pleasant. It was modern, had heated floors, full kitchen, washer n drier, separate living and dining rooms and balcony. The pubs in Doolin were a short walk away. Quiet and relaxing and breakfast in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerT359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 285 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our family's stay at the Doolin Activity Lodge was a great experience. Deirdre and Niall and their staff were personable and helpful. Breakfast was great with lots of choices. The rooms are clean and I loved the skylight windows. Lots of sun in the rooms. This place is designed so that you can have both the privacy of a hotel and the communal feeling of a B&B. Excellent for large groups traveling together. Also the pubs and shops are witin walking distance. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

last october my daughter and friends stayed at doolin activity lodge for one night. niall and deirdre odwyer were our hosts. we had 2 large rooms ensuite. they cater to large or small groups and are near cliffs of moher. short walk to pubs. they have wet entrance and drying room for caving, diving walking, cycling and golfing groups. breakfast was the huge irish one and we did not need to eat for hours. wish we could have stayed for longer but alas the irish countryside called. if you go you will be sure of a warm welcome. have friends that are going in june and will also be staying there

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenw39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The B&B was great and the staff very friendly and accommodating. We had a nice apartment for the night with bedrooms and private baths. The breakfast the next day was the best of our trip, lovely view, clean rooms, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I organised my sisters hen last spring, and we had decided to go somewhere a little bit remote and unexpected. When we decided on Doolin, I got about trying to book the group in somewhere. I wasnt overly sure about Doolin Activity Lodge at first, it's website does not sell it AT ALL! Deirdre the owner could not have been more accomodating and helpful. The rooms were all clean and very comfortable but more than that the large apartment we also had booked was a fantastic size and was perfect for what we wanted, everything was really clean and it really was a wonderful stay. The breakfast is included in the price too and is yum! I don't like promoting it as soley a place for groups because a family would just love it here too...there are stoves/fireplaces for the colder nights, and a fully fitted kitchen, there are books and DVDs galore if the weather acts up, there are loads of fabulous restaurants in the area, loads of attractions, great music to be heard too. The rates are superb...Stay stay stay! :)

Room Tip: The largest apartment is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our hiking group of 12 stayed in the Activity Lodge for 2 nights between Christmas & New Years. We had booked in November and Deirdre, who handled our booking, was most helpful even providing us with the contact details for a hiking guide in the area.

Our accommodation was wonderful - we had the use of the one of the self catering buildings even though we were staying on a B&B basis. The rooms were spacious, clean & very cosy & the underfloor heating in the bathroom was most welcome! The downstairs communal area was clean, well-kept and had everything any group could need.

The breakfast menu was more extensive than most hotels and the food was tasty & fresh. Location-wise, it's pretty perfect - less than 5 mins walk in one direction is O'Connor's pub & less than 5 walk in the other direction to Fitzpatricks & some restaurants. I would really recommend Doolin Activity Lodge and should I return to Doolin would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed here again September 2011 for 2 nights. My room was remarkably spacious by European standards. Lots of room. Very clean - lovely windows with skylights, comfortable bed. This property consists of a couple different buildings and room arrangements and the room I had this time was in a building with private rooms (en suite baths) upstairs and a common area downstairs. The common area has a fully equipped nice kitchen, dining room and seating area with TV and a pretty large library of books for the taking.
The proprietors are very nice and very friendly - and the rates are great - I paid 40 euros per night, includes breakfast. Walking distance to the shops and pubs. Very quiet and peaceful. If you are arriving by bus, the driver will drop you off right at the property. Can't beat it! I will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeit2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#26 of 56 in Doolin
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#12 of 56 in Doolin
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 56 in Doolin
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nellie Dees
Nellie Dees
#22 of 56 in Doolin
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge, Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge, Doolin

Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $97 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, Doolin is located on the Wild Atlantic Way in the centre of Doolin village. The renowned Gus O'Connor's pub is a 3 minute walk from here where you will hear some great traditional music sessions. Doolin is an ideal base from where you can explore the vast Burren region, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the neighbouring counties of Galway and Kerry. We have luxurious sea view rooms, large ground floor family rooms, wheelchair accessible rooms and private suites which are ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together. The Lodge is non smoking and we provide free parking and free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is served in our courtyard dining room and we have a varied menu catering for all tastes. We offer an on site laundry service and are happy to book any tours or trips that you wish to take during your stay as well as being on hand for any other information you require. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay with us here at The Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge, Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing