We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We found this B&B by accident after Cullinan's Guesthouse lost our reservation. They were very welcoming and we enjoyed our visit. The room was large with a large bath and a sitting area and was very nice. Breakfast was fine. There are little children in the house, but they were quiet. We did have to wait to check out while our hostess took them to school, but we didn't mind. It is best to have a car if you choose this place as the road is dark at night and a long walk from town. The place is near the Cliffs of Mohrer and the Burren -- don't miss either. Also the local pub had excellent mussels.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired-teacher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2009

Ashbrook Lodge was great! I am only sorry that it took me so long to write this review. The room was great,and big(!) - which I don't think we fully appreciated as it was our first B&B (of 3) in Ireland. Olywn was a wonderful hostess - very helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area, and very welcoming. We called when we landed in Shannon, asking if it would be possible to drop our bags off in the morning, and she had our room ready for us when we arrived around noon, which was before the official check-in time (we stopped at the Cliffs of Mohr). The bathroom in this B&B was a good size, which is very unusual for Irish B&Bs. The only downside to the B&B was that it was a good 30 minute walk (and we're in our 20s) to the village of Doolin, which was especially daunting after a night of listening to music in the pubs (it's unlit). (We did get offered a ride by one of the locals though)! Olywn's breakfasts were also probably the best we had during our stay, and her family (whom we caught glimpses of) were charming. Loved the little sitting room off the dining area - it was a nice place to sit, cozy, and read a little. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelawareGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

For 36 euros per night we received a large tastefully decorated room with a queensize bed and a separate sitting area with a beautiful view of the rolling Irish countryside down to the bay. The room was kept immaculately clean during our stay and Olwyn was very accomodating to our needs for a vegetarian breakfast. We didn't mind being a twenty minute walk from town as the walk down the hill was beautiful at sunset although a little scary going back up the hill at night. We were in Doolin in the high season and we were glad to have the peace and quiet of staying outside of the center of town. Without a car it would be inconvenient, but for anyone with a car, it is a wonderful bed and breakfast. We enjoyed Doolin as a location for listening to good traditional Irish music, exploring the Burren and visiting the Cliffs of Moher. Try out all three pubs with traditional music. They each have their pluses and minuses for food and music.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Olwyn Egan is a GREAT hostess who treated us like family. We booked 2 rooms there which were very BIG for a B&B and they were VERY clean and well kept. Breakfast was great with a wide choice of what to have. It is located just a short walk or ride to the village where you get good 'pub grub' and good old Irish music. It is also a short distance drive to the 'Cliffs'.
Thanks again
Your friends from Greenwood Lake NY
and Dundalk Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sanjoesk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Five-star accommodation at B&B prices. We were given a large, immaculate and very comfortable room and an exquisite breakfast. Only potential problem is location. It's a half-hour walk from the main street in Doolin, where the traditional music pubs / restaurants are to be found, and it's difficult to get a taxi. Apart from that - a wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IainandClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Ashbrook Lodge Bed and Breakfast is in the hills overlooking the bay and the little village of Doolin. It is a new purpose built b&b and the rooms are large and very tastfully decorated and appointed. The bathrooms even included wash clothes, unusual for Ireland. Olwyn Egan is a wonderful hostess with two darling little boys. She made us feel very welcome and more like family than guests. The full Irish breakfast was delicious and was the best we had on our recent trip to Ireland. I especially loved the local yoghurt she served. At 32 Euro per person per night, Ashbrook was an exceptional value.

1  Thank splitwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nadine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
630 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.2 mi away
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Doolin Inn & Hostel
#1 of 20 in Doolin
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 56 in Doolin
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Boherbue, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $82 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing