We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ashbrook Lodge for 5 days in late May. This was our second trip to Ireland and this was our second stay at Ashbrook. We would not consider staying anywhere else. Our room was quiet large with a very comfortable bed and sitting area. The bathroom is large with a great shower and tub! our room also had a view of the ocean. Ash brook Lodge is centrally located for hiking the Burren and a short walk to Doolin pubs. Olwyn is a very gracious hostess and her boys are quiet and well behaved - a great experience staying with an Irish family!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Ashbrook Lodge was our (three couples, old friends, in our sixties) favorite B&B on Ireland's west coast; it's hard to imagine how it could be any better. Beautiful layout, decor, windows etc, its three bedrooms worked perfectly for our accommodation needs. Olwyn was a delight, made our stay so pleasant we didn't want to leave and move on to our next stop. Easy proximity to pubs and restaurants in Doolin, yet so quiet in its rural setting. The soild house made us feel secure and cozy first overnight despite a lashing wind and rain storm. If we ever get an opportunity to return to Ireland, we will definitely be back at the Ashbrook!

Room Tip: The corner room on the side toward the small highway (to the right when facing the house) is the lar...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at athe Ashbrook B&B our first night of trip to Ireland. Olwyn has a beautiful home. We had the entire B&B to ourselves (there are 3 bedrooms) All 3 rooms are beautiful, spotless and spacious. We couldn't have asked for more. When we first got there we asked if there was a place close by we could get water, she said she would bring us some water up to our bedrooms, very nice touch. The view from the rooms is beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, the fruit salad sas so refreshing, you could tell it has homemade, she also baked homemade muffins. It's only a 15 minute walk into Doolin. When we return to Doolin I wouldn't stay anywhere else but at the Ashbrook with Olwyn. She is a great hostess!!! Thanks for a great stay, just wish it was longer!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view, can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Ashbrook Lodge was our first B&B in Ireland and it set the standard high against which we measured all the others. At the end of the trip we decided that when we go back we would spend a lot more time in Doolin at Ashbrook Lodge. Olwyn was very friendly and helpful, pointing us towards various sights and activities. We were allowed to check in much earlier than typical and take a nap to help with our jet lag. The breakfast was made to order and we never found a better scone than the ones Olwyn made. The room was spacious and clean, with views of the ocean and town. This B&B was quiet and calm....a perfect way to start our belated honeymoon. We would highly recommend this B&B to those interested in staying in Doolin. If Doolin isn't on your itinerary it should be!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a long time coming review. My husband and I went on a 2 week independent tour of Ireland in June 2011. We stayed at the Ashbrook Lodge for a few nights and now looking back would have liked to have stayed longer. Our suite was beautifully appointed with large sleigh bed, a view of the town of Doolin, and in the distance the Aran islands. Breakfast was delicious and Olwyn was always helpful with suggestions on day trips.
Doolin is a lovely town with musical talent around every corner. My husband and I really enjoyed spending the evenings in the pubs. Both the Ashbrook lodge and Doolin are truly great representative of Irish hospitality! Can't wait to return in the future!

Stayed: June 2011
Thank Alaskan574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We made a reservation thru email with prompt response from Ashbrook. We did confirm the reservation a few weeks before our trip also.

We got to Ashbrook Lodge after several wrong turns and were led there by two nice, local young men. The thing to remember when looking for Ashbrook is get directions in advance. That way you won't be looking and driving around like we did!

Upon arrival, we rang the doorbell and the door seemed to open itself, but it was two charming children. The children were not noisy at all by the way, I don't remember ever hearing them later. We met Olwyn the owner and got settled into our room-which was more like a suite! Our room was in the middle of the house and upstairs facing the front. The very clean room had a large king size sleigh bed with a lovely wardrobe and a sitting area with a view of the cliffs and water. There was a well appointed bathroom with plenty of room for us. As seemed usual in Ireland, it was radiator heat and it is turned down at night. We were provided with a small heater for our comfort to help which was much appreciated and thoughtful. We found the area very quiet as Doolin is a small town. We had wifi available and it worked well with our ipod touch and skype.

Olwyn had lots of recommendations and advice on touring the area and our drive to the south later. There was a sun room/sitting area off the breakfast room and we used it to help plan our next day. The breakfast was wonderful! We had the traditional meal and french toast. Both hard to beat. There was a selection of bread, muesli, yogurt, jam, juice, etc.

Highlights in the area: Doolin Chocolate Shop, McCann's Pub, driving the Black Head Sea Drive, Ailwee Cave, Poulnabrone Dolmen, Cliffs of Moher

You would not be sorry staying at Ashbrook Lodge, especially if you enjoy getting away from crowds and enjoy calm, quiet, and exploration of the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsmokeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

What a wonderful atmosphere and most enjoyable place to stay. Olywn our hostess made sure we were comfortable and attended to all our needs. This is a wonderful family home and if you have a family I would recommend this place. We hope to return here in the near future. D&G

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balanda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge, Doolin
The Lodge, Doolin
#30 of 56 in Doolin
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#11 of 56 in Doolin
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Suantrai House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Boherbue, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $84 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing