We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at Home at Emohruo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“at Home at Emohruo”
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Margaret's place is great. She was SUCH a wonderful hostess and I couldn't have felt more at home and comfortable that I did during my stay. We came in wet and cold from a day of sightseeing and she had hot tea and cake for us! She is a wonderful person who made our stay special.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
147
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2006

I stayed with Margaret and John Michael Carey on Thursday April 13th and experienced their hearty, laid-back hospitality for myself. This is a family tradition going back more than 70 years, when the Carey household had a welcome for neighbours and strangers alike. Notable folklore collectors like Seamus Delargy and Harvard academics such as Conrad Arensberg got more than cabbage and bacon at Carey's of Luogh -they got stories, songs, local history and heritage as well as insights into rural life in Ireland in the 1930s. They are still fondly remembered today. For the contemporary visitor interested in finding out about Clare and where to visit, there's no better place to stay. Highly recommended!!!

Helpful?
Thank MaryMO445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2005

We stayed with Margaret Carey at Emohruo this May. We had actually booked another B and B but they got us the wrong room type so we ended up with Margaret. What a happy accident. Though not luxurious the accomidations are clean and very comfortable and quite homey. Margaret is an excellent source of information on the area and can suggest things to do and places to see. She also cooks a great irish breakfast with wonderful brown bread. The location is ideal- 5 minutes from The Cliffs of Moher- 2 minutes from the Doolin pubs and 15 minutes from the Burren. About the highest compliment I can pay Margaret is we were only supposed to stay with her one night and ended up staying 2 and were considering a third. We will be returning next year to stay with her. Stay with Margaret you won't be dissappointed

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sndedit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2005

Stayed here on a whistle-stop tour of the west coast on the wettest day in history, we were on a motorbike and drenched - Mrs Carey went well beyond the call of duty in helping us to dry off. The house is simply furnished, and has everything you might need to make you comfortable in this very occasionally inclement side of Ireland! including a warm sitting room with television and a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2004

If you would like a relaxing, quiet place to stay while touring County Clare, the Burren, or Doolin in Ireland, I highly recommend Emohruo Bed & Breakfast.

"Our Home" spelled backwards, you'll find this makes an excellent home away from home and central base camp for exploring all the wonderful natural wonders and small towns in County Clare. It's a short drive to Newmarket-on-Fergus for Bunratty Castle and Park, and you can circle right through the Burren in about half a day, taking plenty of time to walk through the clints and take pictures, making it back to the B&B by late afternoon or evening. Margaret Carey was our hostess, and gave us wonderful advice on places to see, called each day to see if the Aran Island ferries were running, and makes a mean Irish breakfast.

We stayed with Margaret in April 2004 for about 6 days, and while the rooms were small, they were quiet, comfortable, and welcoming at the end of the day. Not for the luxury-seeker, but definitely not rustic either, Emorhuo is a very pleasant, well-priced place to stay. If you like horses, be sure to visit the pony Margaret keeps in the pasture surrounding the house!

We would definitely stay with Margaret again and look forward to our next visit to the West of Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
593 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
84 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
4.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emohruo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emohruo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cliffs of Moher Rd R478 | Doolin Co.Clare., Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing