We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should experience this B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everyone should experience this B & B”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was the only B & B we booked for honeymoon and so happy we did. Margaret is an amazing host, a great cook and baker and extremely knowledgeable about County Clare. She goes out of her way to help have an enjoyable trip whether it be what to see, where to eat or the best place to buy the famous woolen sweater. Her home is very inviting and her rooms are extremely comfortable. When we come back to Ireland for another trip we will definitely be back for a visit.

Room Tip: We had the first room on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
147
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Margaret is a very dear lady and we were very lucky to stay at her B&B. She's been a B&B host for many years and you can tell! She makes you feel right at home - her scones are to die for! She is a delight to talk to. She goes the extra mile for the people who stay with her. She gave us advice on where to go and how to "bargain" with the locals for the ferry rides. After we were done with our visit - but before we headed out of town, we stopped at the B&B to say good-bye & have tea with her because she was THAT amazing. The room we stayed in was HUGE and so was the bed! I think it was the biggest bed we saw on our whole trip (and comfortable)! It was a true Irish experience! My husband and I HIGHLY recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After asking Margaret how to pronounce the name of her B&B, she enlightened us that it is 'Our Home' spelled backwards!
The four of us had a very nice stay with Margaret (and Goldie, her golden retriever who welcomed us upon arrival and bid us farewell on our departure). The house is located a quick drive from town (Doolin), with many good places to eat, and to listen to some great Irish music. Margaret welcomed us with hot tea, coffee and scones when we got there..........and served us a wonderful Irish breakfast the following morning. Love that Irish oatmeal.....I mean porridge!
The rooms were spotless, the bathroom and shower-the same.
We would love to come back and spend more time here!
Margaret was full of suggestions as to where to go when we left here. So glad we asked, as we saw some beautiful scenery on our way to Galway. Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Margaret makes you feel right at home and she is very helpful explaining the best options. She directed us to the Doolin Caves for a good tour and enjoyable time. She also shared the best options for local pub food. Breakfast was very good and included the best white and black pudding we had eaten on the trip so far. Close to the cliffs of Mohrer as well. Nice view out the front, and a nice cow pasture behind the facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Loved Doolin and really enjoyed our stay here. Margaret was delightful and so accommodating. Everything you expect from an Irish B&B. Spotlessly clean rooms, fantastic breakfast. She makes fresh-baked scones everyday. I could not get enough!!! We were given tea and scones when we arrived in the afternoon, then for breakfast and then she packed up more for a snack later that day! YUM! bedrooms are basic, and very clean. Location is very quiet. They family has cows in the fields out back you can see from your rooms. No "cow smell" though, thankfully! NOTE: this is not walking distance from the pubs. You need to drive to the pubs (3 mins). But that is what makes it a delightfully quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at Emohruo after 9pm following a long drive to see the wonderful Cliffs of Moyer, catching their beauty just as the sun went down. We hadn't booked, and luckily for us, someone had just cancelled the last room. We were warmly welcomed by Margaret, and very relieved to be shown to our very clean comfortable bedroom with en suite facilities. We felt very much at home.
Breakfast the following morning was beautifully prepared and cooked. Psychologists will say that leaving items behind is your unconsious mind saying that you want to return to that particular place. I will go with that; even though it was probably more to do with me having a "senior moment." A quick telephone call to Margaret with my home address, resulted in the items being sent to me straight away. Great personal service indeed!
We recommend Emohruo and Margaret's lovely hospitality without hesitation.
Shirley and David Metherell

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you commit. Try not to leave finding a room too late, as panic sets in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley19462013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you want to experience genuine Irish B&B hospitality, visit Margaret at "Emohruo B&B". in Doolin Iteland. She warmly greets you upon arrival arrival with the best SCONES you will ever eat. Freshly baked and served with local jams. This is just the beginning. Breakfast is to die for
with a variety of breakfast choices an d cooked to perfection.

Margaret's rooms are spotless, and perfectly furnished for your needs. Surprise,- normal sized bathrooms, also perfect. After staying at 30 or more B&B's in the UK or Ireland, this is the most perfect one ever- Great location, beautiful countryside all around you. Very close to the Aran boar cruises and Cliffs of Moher

As for Margaret, she is the most perfect. hostess you will ever encounter-warm, personable and
accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
593 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
84 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
4.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
365 reviews
5.6 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emohruo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emohruo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cliffs of Moher Rd R478 | Doolin Co.Clare., Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing