We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience in Doolin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llinars, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience in Doolin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Last week, my daughters and I stood in Doolin, in Emohruo Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed the experience very much. The house was nice and very cosy, the landscape beautiful. Cliffs of Moher are so amazing! We took lots of pictures from Doolin's pier at the sunset.
Margaret is a very charming woman. She made us feel at home. She talked to my daughters and gave them advice to improve their English. The breakfast was excellent, with many things to choose. I had my first Irish breakfast there. It was great!

Room Tip: As we were three people travelling, we contacted Margaret via email first. So we could choose a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaSerrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only stayed here one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was one of the nicest we had during our trip. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well-equipped. Margaret was wonderful! She welcomed us with tea/coffee and freshly-baked scones when we arrived and cooked us a made-to-order Irish breakfast the following day. The location is excellent-- about a mile north of the Cliffs of Moher and a couple of miles to Doolen. We also enjoyed meeting Shannon, the family's golden retriever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I were in Doolin two weeks ago and stayed at Emohruo for two nights... what a gift and what a wonderful person MArgaret Carey is to those fortunate enough to meet her and stay at her B and B. A work ethic and personality second to none. The owners at B and B can make or break the experience- some as the case here transcend. We just enjoyed meeting and talking to Margaret about a host of topics. Her advice was very helpful- we told her our interests and the tiem we had- where we were going next and she advised us as a wise friend. No you are not right in the center of the Doolin action- but that to me is a plus- it can get wacky during tourist peak times- it was nice to get away from it all and have a good nights sleep and a wonderful, wonderful host. That is what it is all about- the peopel you meet and the connections made heart to heart. Bravo to Margaret Carey... keep on keepin on. Jay Marciano Maryland US

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciano_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE PA, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Margaret was warm and welcoming. We got in late, and left relatively early the next day, but her traditional Irish breakfast was the best of our 10 day trip. Accommodations were sparse, but adequate and the room we stayed in gave us a lovely view of the mare and her colt as they frolicked about the pasture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavenderlady3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just returned from a ten-day road trip through Ireland with my mother; Margaret's place was the first stop on our itinerary, as we had planned to see the Cliffs of Moher. Though the accommodations are quite basic (no box-springs on the beds, 1/3 roll of toilet paper), Margaret was a lovely host. Sweet and helpful and terrifically welcoming after a long overnight flight. An older couple staying at the B&B the same we were got in accident and were all shook up, but we saw Margaret and her husband take great care of them, even driving them back to Shannon to pick up a new rental car. Best of all: Her breakfast. It was tremendous—the best we had throughout the entire trip. If you're headed to the Cliffs of Moher, this is a solid bet.

Room Tip: Bring an extra roll of toilet paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emohruo, Owner at Emohruo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, and I really appreciate the time you have taken to review our home. We are always delighted to extend a warm Emohruo welcome to all our guests and indeed to help guests to our home in any way we can.

I trust that even without box spring in the beds you had a comfortable rest that night, as all of our beds are orthopaedic. And what a pity you didn’t mention that we had overlooked refilling the toilet roll during room servicing prior to your arrival – we were home all day that day and would of course have been delighted to have given you more toilet roll if you had brought it to my attention at the time.

I am delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and thought so highly of my home cooking, I really enjoy it and it is very rewarding to me to hear such good reports!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, and would be happy to welcome you back to Emohruo any time in the future.
Kind regards,
Margaret Carey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 weeks touring Ireland and a bit of Scotland for our honeymoon, and we agree that the two nights we spent at Emohruo were the best of all our B&B experiences. Margaret was a great hostess and a fantastic cook -- her homemade scones (oh, the smell of them baking!) were a real treat, and her breakfasts will keep you going all day. She also made the best coffee we had in Ireland. Highly recommended! We look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm Irish and this is exactly the kind of B&B that I would recommend to a friend visiting the West Clare/ Doolin area because it is a 'home from home' and informal tourist info and advice centre rolled into one! Margaret gave me a hearty welcome, a great personal service, local info and generous practical help that I would normally only expect from family. Small things can mean a lot when you're travelling on your own and this is genuine Irish hospitality as its best!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MaryMO445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
4.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
2.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
1.7 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emohruo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emohruo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cliffs of Moher Rd R478 | Doolin Co.Clare., Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing