We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts; linen from the 1970s” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killilagh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killilagh House
Ranked #40 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts; linen from the 1970s”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of four fitted comfortably in the basic room. Lovely unassuming hosts prepared the sort of breakfast options you'd expect, and were happy to offer directions or leave you to yourself. Ensuite was pretty tired though, and the sheets and towels are the sort that my mother has kept in the back of her linen cupboard since the 1970s for emergencies. Bear in mind the musicians at the pubs don't play until 9:30, so it's tricky for younger kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwith2kidsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    52
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
84
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Four of us stayed here in de one room excellent location and the owners were very helpful and nice and friendly wud def come again breakfast was great too and was served fast excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our first B&B on our 25th Wedding Anniversary Trip! The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. There was a full bath with tub and shower in our suite and was quite "roomy". Brid's homemade marmalade and brown bread was wonderful! She made us feel very welcome. Pubs with great food, cold beer and live Irish Music within walking distance of the B&B. The Cliffs of Moher were breathtakingly beautiful! If you get a chance, drive over to Ballyvaughn for the day to eat at the Tea Room and Garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were very happy with our one-night stay at the Killilagh House in July 2012. It is a nice country inn with good curb appeal that does not disappoint inside. Brid was a welcoming and gracious host. We arrived several hours early and she happily arranged for us to put our bags into our room even though it wasn't "hoovered" yet. By the time we returned from afternoon tea, all the housekeeping was done. The room was basic but clean and serviceable with all the expected amenities. Bathrooms were a little outdated but clean and had good water pressure in the small shower.

The common room was very inviting and warm, much appreciated on a chilly July night. Breakfast was delicious -- the french toast and homemade brown bread were particularly good.

As other writers have mentioned, the location is great--right across from a cafe and within a block of the very lively McDermott's and McGann's trad music pubs. At the other side of town is the dock for boat tours of the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands.

One other example of Brid's hospitality: I mistakenly left a jacket behind and she mailed it to me within three days of our return to the States. Thank you, Brid!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booked over the phone at the last moment without any hassles and we were very happy with both the location and room. Loved the tiny town and had some great craic in one of the pubs. It was great to have two pubs and a restaurant to choose from, all within easy walking distance. Made the most of the long hours of daylight to make a short trip to the cliffs around 7 pm when most of the crowds were gone. We were served a delicious and generous breakfast. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Killilagh. It is not a flash place but you certainly get value for money. It is a bit like staying with a favourite aunt.Brid worked hard to make sure we enjoyed our stay. She offered to turn on the heater as soon as we sat in the lounge area which had the most comfortable chairs. She aslo provided a very generous breakfast. Loved the homemade bread. Best of all it is just across the road from McDermott's which had fantastic music.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_the_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Killilagh House was in a good location. It is right across the street from a pub that plays live music. The breakfast was very good there also. It is close to things like Cliffs of Moehr. Rooms were clean. Shower was a little tiny but it served its purpose. Brid Shannon was great. I emailed her questions about the room and directions and she always responded back to me. I would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#29 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#3 of 15 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killilagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killilagh House

Property: Killilagh House
Address: Main Street, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killilagh house is on the main road in the centre of Doolin Village all rooms are on the ground floor are en-suite and have power showers The house is a couple of minutes walk to pubs and restaurants with safe off street parking and an official bus stop right outside our house Free WiFi available 10 mins drive to Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Killilagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing