We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of heaven!”
Review of The Ivy Cottage

The Ivy Cottage
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to Doolin, one if the most beautiful places on earth and I never pass up an opportunity to eat at Ivy Cottage. The food, location, atmosphere and customer service are second to none. My only complaint is I'm not a lover of there coffee so I generally stick to tea but that is purely a personal opinion. Absolutely barbule's!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karrie139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss this spot.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is perhaps the true hidden gem of Ireland. Tucked away it would be easy to walk past this little cafe. But don't. The owners are the most charming young people and the food is fresh, healthy and amazing. These little spots are the best finds in all of Ireland. Skip the overpriced tourists trap pubs and find these gems.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lstravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Foolin' in Doolin' ”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I went there with my boyfriend after we did the coastal walk from doolin to the cliffs of Moher. It was such a reward to get to eat the freshly prepared food on the lovely terrasse. The peppers and goat cheese was amazing ! As well the scone with the homemade jam. The tenants were very nice too. Bref, If you go do Doolin you have to make a stop at the ivy cottage !

Helpful?
2 Thank SierraPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The couscous is not to be missed. The quiche is really good. The tea is well made. The only bad item I had was the coffee, a very watered down drink.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KRISTINA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Ivy Cottage with tasty homemade food!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Traditional Irish food can be pretty filling. The Ivy Cottage was a nice find for a lighter meal, I had a spicy tomato soup and my husband had seafood chowder. They do have homemade desserts, lovely coffee and teas, but that wasn't what we were looking for; many others were!

You could easily miss this place, but our host pointed it out to us. I'm glad he did!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Griffin_Tavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy Cottage also viewed

 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to The Ivy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing