We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious seafood chowder”
Review of Fitzpatrick's Bar

Fitzpatrick's Bar
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hotel Doolin's Fitzpartick's Bar, famous for it's traditional Irish music, lively sessions, thirst quenching pints and wholesome food is popular with both residents and locals alike. Fitzpatrick's Bar is as much a part of the vibrant experience of Doolin as it is of the hotel itself. With its polished panelling, natural stone and open fire it offers a calm and relaxed setting during the day while at night it transforms into a lively bar with entertainment. The Bar is split into two sections. Fitz's Snug is our cosy front bar with an open fire, ideal for relaxing with a cool pint whilst listening to our live Trad sessions.The much larger back bar is perfect for parties and live bands. There are a number of local and Irish beers available in Fitzpatrick's Bar including:•Eight Degree - Sunburnt Irish Red•Eight Degree - Knockmealdown porter•Eight Degree - Howling Gale Ale•Galway Hooker•Helvick Gold blonde Ale•Blackrock Irish Stout•Copper Coast Red Ale
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood chowder”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Walked here for lunch after arrival at B&B nearby. It is very attractive and with comfortable seating. Clean and modern restroom facility. The seafood chowder was rich, creamy and delicious. We returned for supper and were not as impressed, but it would be hard to equal that chowder for lunch. Good evening entertainment, but not traditional Irish when we were there. Dessert was a disappointment. Not as crowded or noisy as the other pubs in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travlinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    225
    76
    18
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kamuela, Hawaii
Level Contributor
395 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived in Doolin after driving several hours. It was afternoon and they were serving lunch in the back part. We were very surprised to see the huge portions of home cooked food. My family was very pleased and we returned for dinner as well. At dinner there was live music and it was crowded but not overcrowded. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was excellent as well. I highly recommend this pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
1 review
“BEST BAR! HANDS DOWN!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Walked in just for a drink and walked out with a warm heart, belly full of Guinness, and memories that will never fade. You will not be sorry if you decide coming here :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Seafood Stew and Treacle Bread”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Loved the Guinness and Howling Gale Pale Ale and the chocolate Caramel Bomb. Food was excellent and that staff attentive and prompt with service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMMEIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chowder I have ever had”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After many hours of flying from Canada and driving from Dublin we arrived in Doolin, tired and hungry. We decided to try Fitzpatrick's and I am glad we did. We decided to have something light, so I ordered the Seafood Chowder, my friend ordered the fresh steamed clams in a garlic white wine sauce. Both were amazing! It is probably the best chowder I have ever had...not thickly made with lots of potatoes, but rather full of seafood, vegetables and flavor. My friend also loved her clams. The guys had scampi and fish & chips, also very good. The music was excellent and it was not too loud. A great way to end a long trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerdiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzpatrick's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fitzpatrick's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing