We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be impulsive!”

O'Brien Line Ferries
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.96*
and up
Inis Oírr Island and Cliffs of Moher Cruise from Doolin
More Info
$17.98*
and up
Cliffs of Moher Cruise
More Info
$29.96*
and up
Inis Mor- Aran Islands ferry from Doolin
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Doolin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome Aboard! Bill O'Brien's Legendary Cruise to The Aran Islands & Cliffs of Moher The Original Doolin Ferry Est.1970. Several daily sailings depart Doolin Pier, Doolin, Co.Clare from March to November. Day Trips, Overnight Stays, and One-Hour Cliffs of Moher Cruises available. Travel on the largest and most comfortable ferries with over 40 years of service, M.V. Tranquillity & M.V. Queen of Aran. The Aran Islands offer something special for all. For the adventurous explore medieval ruins such as the amazing ring fort Dun Aengus on Inishmore, or O'Brien's castle on Inisheer. Families can enjoy a relaxing day out on the unspoiled beaches of Inisheer. Nature lovers can enjoy the tranquil beauty of Inishmaan. Bicycle hire, Mini-bus, and Pony & Trap tours available on each island. The Cliffs of Moher Cruise is a stunning 1 hour journey along the 6km of coastline from Doolin Pier. The Cliffs rise to a height of over 214 meters providing dramatic views by sea. The Great Sea Stack (Branaunmore) plays host to thousands of rare birds of which you can see up close. Don't forget the cameras!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking
Arklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Be impulsive!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Been on the ferry twice, once on the Cliffs of Moher cruise and on a separate occasion for a halfday trip over to Inisheer. Was great, well recommended! HOWEVER those trip I booked on the day, down at the pier, like an impulsive thing. This third time me and a group of friends were planning to go on the afternoon ferry over to Inisheer and spend the night there, as we got the information on departure from Doolin 4 pm and departure the morning after from Inisheer at 10.30. Sounded great, booked a hotel on Inisheer AND booked the ferry online. On the day when we went to Doolin pier we waited well over an hour and there was still no ferry at the pier, the evening would have been wasted to go out to Inisheer that late in the evening. To give them some credit, they did agree to a full refund, however we had to pay for our hotelrooms on Inisheer despite explaining the situation. My advise is to book your ticket down at the pier, you'll get the best price as there is three companies and you'll get to see what the seaconditions are like, as in people getting sick, getting off the boat.........

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    174
    66
    40
    53
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great day”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

O'Briens ferry first class. Book to go back past Cliffs of Moher to see puffins (lots of puffins) and if very lucky seals as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glenmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable!!!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been to Ireland many times and have always wanted to go to the Cliffs by boat. It was amazing, the pictures I got were some of the best I have ever taken.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyMusial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
“Wonderful time on trip to and from the Aran islands”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We truly enjoyed our trip to and from the island . starting at the Doolon Pier we were greeted bY Bill !Obrien and Noelle . Trip was smooth to and from Inishmor . Upon return we decided to come back and tour the cliffs the next day.Again we were very impressed with rje crew and found the narrative very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveRMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If I could give 0/5, I would... what an absolute waste of money.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Myself and three friends decided we wanted to see the Cliffs of Moher from a different angle and so booked in for a tour on 1/6/14. We bought the tickets in the town and were told to hurry down for the 3:00 boat as it was 2:40. We got down to the pier quickly and were waiting until about 3:40 to get on the boat, with no indication of when it would be arriving. Before getting on the boat we asked one of the staff of the company 'Is it choppy out there?' to which he replied 'No'. We were told that the trip was 20mins out, 20mins cruising, and 20mins back. Those first 20mins out were absolutely horrific. There were children screaming and crying to go home (and I was in agreement with them, if we could have bribed the skipper to turn back, I would have). I was personally terrified (and I have been on boats on choppy water before but this was something else) and my 3 friends were taking it in turns to vomit into plastic bags. The plastic bags were provided by the company and there were numerous signs saying to take a bag if you felt unwell - this is a pretty good indication that it happens regularly. When we got to the cruising around the Cliffs part, everyone was disinterested and just wanted to go home. Not many bothered to get up and take photos. It was also pouring out of the heavens at this time and fairly cloudy and miserable, so it wasn't suitable for taking photos anyway. The weather was completely unsuitable for this trip. On returning to the pier we approached the guy who we had questioned earlier and asked him how he had thought it wasn't choppy. He claimed that he was answering the question by looking at the shore, but it might be a different story out in the ocean. We told him that the conditions were unsuitable for the trip and that they should consider changing the 'threshold' of conditions under which they operate, but he disagreed and told us that 'even if twas as flat as that carpark there would be people getting sick' which I told him was not the point, of course some people will get sick but everyone was either getting sick or trying not to. There was a family next to us who had all been sick or were thinking about it. A woman was getting sick into a plastic bag holding her toddler under her arm while she cried for her. At €20, this trip would have been an absolute rip off even it had been a gorgeous calm day. On the company website they state 'We operate the Largest and Most Comfortable ferries from Doolin' - not one moment of that boat ride was comfortable, it was absolute torture.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Brien Line Ferries also viewed

 

Been to O'Brien Line Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing