We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Doolin Ferry Co.
from $28.70
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
from $34.50
More Info
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveler rating
501
177
71
40
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
177
71
40
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doolin ferry aran islands o'brien line inis oirr o brien great trip return trip top deck smallest island booked online sea birds rough seas the cliff boat tour the pub company boats
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

A unique opportunity to see the Cliffs of Moher from below. When we reached the cliffs, the crew let us venture out onto the bow for an unobstructed view. When the sea became too rough, they saved the day by quickly herding us back inside -- seconds before a wave came crashing over the entire bow area. We would have been drenched for sure! Very clean (including the restrooms) on board. Beer & snacks are available.

Thank RKRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrive to the harbor on a whim after spending the previous night in doolin, I was greeted by ‘Sully’ who took it upon himself to plan my family’s trip for the day.. He had great recommendations on what to do on the island and on our return leg we took in an amazing cruise underneath the base of the cliffs of moher! This trip was the highlight of our holiday, I can’t thank Sully and the O’Brien crew for creating such a great family memory! Go to the guys in RED :)

Thank Go17034098178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ride was smooth. Ferry accommodated our group and global tourists as well. Ferry provided clean rest rooms, beverage and snacks for purchase. This company took us very close and right up to the Cliffs of Mohr, which was fantastic. Others boats do not do that, so ask in advance. Highly suggest this company.

Thank Sunshine34500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bill O'Brien, his boats, and his crew are top-rate! I wouldn't use any other ferry company for the Cliffs of Moher or to go the Aran Islands. Their boats seem new, tidy, fast, and super safe, and the crew was lovely. Bill was very warm and welcoming, and we felt so lucky to have been recommended by a friend to use them. Only 15 minutes from Doolin to Inis Oirr! That's amazing. We passed another ferry company on the way - and the other company's boat looked so old and rusty, yet was packed with people! I promise you, you'll be much happier and more comfortable if you book with Bill O'Brien's team at the Doolin Ferry Co. And I also highly recommend adding on the Cliffs of Moher trip - that is stunning and well worth every moment. The Cliffs are majestic....no words really. Thank you!

Thank Misha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent! We had great service, a fast ride, clean boat, nice crew and perfect weather! On time, comfortable and efficient, what more can you ask for ? Just go!

Thank Kerry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only way to see the cliffs - from below! Striking and dramatic views from the boat. The ride is only 1 hour long with about 20 minutes positioned in front of the cliffs. One caution - the sea can get rough and there were a few people who were a little seasick. One of the high points of our recent visit - don't miss it.

1  Thank Trek793536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The trip to Inisheer was a last-minute decision and we're so glad we made it. I use a wheelchair and the crew carefully and cheerfully helped me onto and off the ramp. Many thanks. When we arrived on the island we were met by a couple dozen men and their pony traps (decorated buggies). Our first thought was "too touristy," but fortunately we we thought again and met Ronan and his five-year old horse, Connie. In an hour we saw the beauty of the land we couldn't have on foot and wheelchair and were inspired by Ronan's pride in his Gaeltacht (Irish/Gaelic first language) culture. A stop at Tigh Ned pub topped off our island visit. On the return to the mainland we added a cruise passing the Cliffs of Moher. This was an unbeatable bargain for 5 euros in additon to the round trip fare, a view of the cliffs impossible from above. Thank you Bill O"Brien and crew.

Thank imaneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took O'Brien's Doolin Ferry Co. excursion to Inis Mor for an over-night trip and booked the ferry the day before departing, carefully watching the weather reports for the day of our trip. Although the weather was clear, the wind made the sea quite rough (or so I seemed to us). The crew kept telling us that, while the water was choppy, they sail in much rougher conditions. However, we took dramamine, just in case and were glad we did. Waves crashed over the bow to the point we felt were in a car wash. But the crew was right, we made it through just fine, and waters calmed down the closer we came to Inis Mor. The return trip on the next day was much calmer and more pleasant. We were glad that we took the trip; Inis Mor was well worth seeing.

A note of warning, however. If you are staying overnight on one of the Aran Islands and your luggage is not waterproof, either drag it down into the passenger hold of the ship or wrap the bag with plastic. They stow the bags on the deck and when the waves are rough, everything topside gets wet. Our bags were not waterproof, so some of our things were damp when we arrived.

Thank CultureVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bill and his son Liam were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We took the 10 AM ferry to the first island. The boat was fast and made it to the island before the other boat even though they left first! Upon arrival we took a tractor pulled ride to view the fields and the shipwreck. Our young native born driver was wonderful and gave us a terrific overview. We boarded the 1:45 ferry for the view of the Cliffs from the water, they return to Doolin before headed out for the Cliffs. It was amazing how close our boat was able to get to the cliffs and the rocks called the stack. Much closer than it seemed the other boat was able to get. The brochure is a bit confusing so call or ask Liam when you get to the ticket office. I recommend the early ferry especially if it is a nice day since parking could be an issue.

Thank kate32015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After visiting the Cliffs of Moher from the top, we decided to view it from the water. We drove to the Doolin Ferry Co. and took the one hour Cliffs of Moher tour. The boat was large and there were lots of people. They completed the safety information and guidance piece and told people what to expect along the way - in terms of the sea (where people would get splashed potentially, what to look for along the way, etc.). The day we went was a 'calm' day, but the boat was really up and down a lot and rocking. These captains know their stuff! We were provided information and sights were pointed out along the way. The view from the sea was truly magnificent - nice to have both the top and sea views to compare and contrast. Staff were friendly and helpful. At the dock, take the opportunity to walk around and explore - there are great photo ops of the waves crashing in and the shore line. Groups also saw dolphins in the area near the docks. Great place.

Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews