We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing ! They told us if we closed our windows in the room the heat would kick in. It never did and we were so cold we didn't”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea View House Doolin
Ranked #3 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I'm furious on how we were treated. Most places charge your credit card upon departure , they grabbed ours and immediately ran full amount . We were freezing all night after multiple times of asking to turn heat on. Ridiculous .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hendiefriendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Manager at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I am disappointed to read your review which is not accurate and completely untrue.

You were welcomed into our home and treated kindly and respectfully as we treat all our guests.

Normal practice at Sea View House is to settle the bill on checkout.
Your friend offered to pay by credit card during check-in.
It was your choice. We did not grab your card and force you to pay as indicated in your review.

You did not request that the heating be turned on multiple times as stated in your review.
During check-in you were shown how to control the heating using the thermostat in your room.
It was also explained to you that leaving a window open will disable the heat in your room.

You notified us once at 6pm that there was no heating in your room.
When we called up to your room to investigate we found that you had left one of the window's in your room wide open. We closed the window and checked that everything else was in order.

That was the last we heard from you. We did keep an eye on the temperature in your room remotely over the following few hours and it was maintained at 19oC
/ 68oF. You had the option to increase the temperature in your room but choose not to do so.

As part of our environmental policy to reduce our carbon foot print and to offer more comfort to our guests we have installed a computerised heating control system in each
guest room. All our guest rooms are maintained at 19 to 20 degrees C (68F to 70F). Guests have the option to increase or decrease the temperature using the thermostat mounted on the wall in each room. If a window is opened in a room the heating in that room is disabled.
Like wise if a window is closed the heating in that room is enabled again.

We do hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in Ireland and that you arrived in Dingle safely with the directions and tips that we provided you.

Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
There are newer reviews for Sea View House Doolin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 799 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a lovely room! We stayed at several very nice B&Bs during our recent trip but none had rooms and breakfasts as nice as Sea View House. Darra was welcoming and gracious. It was Halloween. We got to meet local trick or treating children. The short walk to the pub and a nice dinner and good music was terrific. So, the Cliffs of Moher down the road and a great place to stay and be entertained. What could be better?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill01890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review,
Niall and I are happy you felt comfortable in our home during Halloween, and that you both enjoyed our hospitality and our breakfasts.
Looking forward to having you both stay with us for longer the next time.

Slan agus Banacht

Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Although our stay at Sea View was short it was memorable. It was such a pleasant experience. Not only is this B&B incredibly clean and spacious, Niall and Darra are wonderful hosts. For breakfast we were all at the same table, which I loved, it really made you connect with other travelers while dining and delighting in exquisite cuisine. They had fantastic recommendations and travel suggestions which dictated the rest of our travels. Everything was truly delightful!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We are extremely happy to hear you found it a special place. Thanks for sharing part of your holiday with us. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed having breakfast with our other guests and that you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast. we pride ourselves in our wonderful breakfasts, all our eggs are from our own hens and ducks, tomatoes and potatoes are also home grown, homemade breads. It was our pleasure to give you travel tips and information.

Niall and I look forward to having you as our guests again.

Slan agus Banacht


Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived much later than expected and did not get to spend as much time there as we'd like to, but the time we did spend there was perfect. The rooms are fresh, well appointed, comfortable and spacious. Each room has a view of the river running out to the ocean with horses roaming and the colorful, quintessential Irish village below. It's located very close to Cliffs of Moher (10 minute drive away), the boats to Aran Islands, and plenty of scenic hikes. Breakfast was wonderful and offered many choices. Along with the "traditional" Irish breakfast, they offer many selections of wonderfully cooked items and a buffet of grab-n-go treats. It was bountiful and delicious. We had the chance to chat with other travelers over breakfast and share fun stories. Before leaving we also got wonderful recommendations from the owner (didn't even catch her name) about where to stay and things to see for the rest of our journey. Her advice proved priceless the next few nights of our trip. I will FOR SURE be staying here again on my next adventure in Ireland!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinGoBragh411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review but, mostly hanks for staying with us and having a short but good time with us here at Sea View House. We hope to see you sometime soon and that you will have a chance to stay longer.

Slan agus Banacht


Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Sea View House was fresh and meticulously clean with nice rooms, comfortable beds, a great front porch view and gracious hosts. The real prize is getting acquainted with Darra, Niall and their family. Breakfast was great with many delicious home-baked selections in a family dining atmosphere (where we so enjoyed visiting with the other guests too). The location was optimal to visit Doolin's shops and Gus O'Connor's Pub and a great starting point for (recommended to us by Niall) the 8 Km hiking trail walk along the beautiful coastal cliffs and rock-fenced farms to the Cliffs of Moher (and back for the true hikers or arrange to ride back). You get a "real Ireland" experience in Doolin with Darra and Niall at the Sea View House. Thank you Darra & Niall for helping make our first visit to Ireland so special!
Tom & Jeanne O'Connor (USA)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocontjjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you Tom and Jeanne for writing a very kind review, we appreciate it very much.

Niall and I are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our home where you enjoyed our wonderful homemade breakfasts, view off the Sea and Fisher Street.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful new costal walk to the Cliffs of Moher that starts right side our home

Until next time

Slan agus Baacht

Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room was small, but it had a nice view. There were several nice amenities including a glass bottle of fresh water on the dresser, an alarm clock and a mini-safe in a tall cabinet by the bathroom door. The shower was small, but it had good water flow. The television had many channels. Dara and Naill were very nice. Breakfast was excellent with hen or duck eggs from their own fowl, homemade black pudding, fresh baked brown and banana bread and a nice buffet with gourmet cheeses and homemade yoghurt. I would wholeheartedly recommend Sea View House and definitely stay there again if we ever return to Doolin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

It was our true pleasure to host you both and that you enjoyed our home made breakfast.
Thank you for sharing part of your holiday with us here at Sea View House.

Slan agus Banacht

Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the Sea View House and wished we had several more nights. The room was charming with comfortable beds. The owners Niall and Dara were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a real treat and was very enjoyable. The place smelled wonderful all the time. The sitting room was comfortable and there was a fantastic deck to enjoy out front. What a lovely place to stay and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISTINA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
606 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View House Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View House Doolin

Address: Fisherstreet, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View House in Doolin is unique bed and breakfast on the Wild Atlantic Way where you can enjoy luxurious accommodation and surroundings, superb food along with natural and warm hospitality. Sea View House offers a retreat from the hustle of everyday life. Open decks, pastoral and ocean views form a setting for relaxation or lively conversations. Our Location: Our home is perched on the side of a hill in Doolin village over looking the Atlantic Ocean and the Aran Islands. Located on the Burren Way and over looking the Atlantic Ocean and the Aran Islands, we are right in the middle of Doolin village allowing you to stroll across the bridge to Gus O'Connor's pub where you can enjoy wonderful traditional live Irish music and great food. The spectacular coastal walking trail linking the village of Doolin to the Cliffs of Moher and on to Hags Head starts right outside Sea View House. Our Accommodation: We can offer you peaceful accommodation in one of our four spacious and elegant non-smoking guest rooms. Each stylish bedroom is finished to the highest standard and all rooms feature classic hand-made mahogany furniture. Complementary WiFi is available in our bedrooms and throughout our home. Our guest rooms are complemented by our guest lounge and large deck both where you can soak up the glorious views of the Atlantic ocean, Allie river and Doolin Village, take time to watch a passing ship or enjoy the evening sunset. Our Food: Sea View House has gained recognition for our use of locally sourced and home grown ingredients for our breakfasts. You can choose from our sumptuous breakfast buffet of home poached fruits, artisan cheese, home made yoghurt and much more before being served a low food mile dish prepared to order from our kitchen. We source as much locally as we can. Our cheese comes from the Cliffs of Moher and Buren Geopark. Our bacon comes from Galway. We grow our own tomatoes, bake all our breads, and all our eggs come from our flock of chickens. By sourcing as much of our food as possible from local producers and our gardens, we reduce the food miles (the distance that food must travel to get from farm to fork) of the food we serve. Our menu indicates the food miles of every dish we serve. Sea View House and the Enviroment: Sea View House is an Official Tourism Partner of the Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark. We are also member of the Burren Ecotourism Network, a network of tourism enterprises with the objective of establishing the Burren as a premier internationally-recognised sustainable tourism region ensuring the future economic and social growth and sustainable development of its communities, environment and heritage. We are a certified member of the 'Green Hospitality Programme' and Tripadvisor Gold Greenleaders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea View House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing