We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST stay here in Doolin, Ireland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea View House Doolin
Ranked #3 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived much later than expected and did not get to spend as much time there as we'd like to, but the time we did spend there was perfect. The rooms are fresh, well appointed, comfortable and spacious. Each room has a view of the river running out to the ocean with horses roaming and the colorful, quintessential Irish village below. It's located very close to Cliffs of Moher (10 minute drive away), the boats to Aran Islands, and plenty of scenic hikes. Breakfast was wonderful and offered many choices. Along with the "traditional" Irish breakfast, they offer many selections of wonderfully cooked items and a buffet of grab-n-go treats. It was bountiful and delicious. We had the chance to chat with other travelers over breakfast and share fun stories. Before leaving we also got wonderful recommendations from the owner (didn't even catch her name) about where to stay and things to see for the rest of our journey. Her advice proved priceless the next few nights of our trip. I will FOR SURE be staying here again on my next adventure in Ireland!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinGoBragh411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review but, mostly hanks for staying with us and having a short but good time with us here at Sea View House. We hope to see you sometime soon and that you will have a chance to stay longer.

Slan agus Banacht


Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 806 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Sea View House was fresh and meticulously clean with nice rooms, comfortable beds, a great front porch view and gracious hosts. The real prize is getting acquainted with Darra, Niall and their family. Breakfast was great with many delicious home-baked selections in a family dining atmosphere (where we so enjoyed visiting with the other guests too). The location was optimal to visit Doolin's shops and Gus O'Connor's Pub and a great starting point for (recommended to us by Niall) the 8 Km hiking trail walk along the beautiful coastal cliffs and rock-fenced farms to the Cliffs of Moher (and back for the true hikers or arrange to ride back). You get a "real Ireland" experience in Doolin with Darra and Niall at the Sea View House. Thank you Darra & Niall for helping make our first visit to Ireland so special!
Tom & Jeanne O'Connor (USA)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocontjjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you Tom and Jeanne for writing a very kind review, we appreciate it very much.

Niall and I are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our home where you enjoyed our wonderful homemade breakfasts, view off the Sea and Fisher Street.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful new costal walk to the Cliffs of Moher that starts right side our home

Until next time

Slan agus Baacht

Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room was small, but it had a nice view. There were several nice amenities including a glass bottle of fresh water on the dresser, an alarm clock and a mini-safe in a tall cabinet by the bathroom door. The shower was small, but it had good water flow. The television had many channels. Dara and Naill were very nice. Breakfast was excellent with hen or duck eggs from their own fowl, homemade black pudding, fresh baked brown and banana bread and a nice buffet with gourmet cheeses and homemade yoghurt. I would wholeheartedly recommend Sea View House and definitely stay there again if we ever return to Doolin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaview-Doolin, Owner at Sea View House Doolin, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

It was our true pleasure to host you both and that you enjoyed our home made breakfast.
Thank you for sharing part of your holiday with us here at Sea View House.

Slan agus Banacht

Niall and Darra Hughes

The Sea View House, Doolin

+353(0) 87 2679617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the Sea View House and wished we had several more nights. The room was charming with comfortable beds. The owners Niall and Dara were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a real treat and was very enjoyable. The place smelled wonderful all the time. The sitting room was comfortable and there was a fantastic deck to enjoy out front. What a lovely place to stay and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISTINA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were traveling with friends. We chose not to book ahead and asked each place we stayed for a referral. When we arrived in Doolin we found that the place we thought we would be staying in was booked so that place had booked us into the Sea View House.

Wow, what luck! The owners Darra and Niall are the nicest people; just what you would expect in a lovely Irish town. The accommodations were very nice. They had just put in a new heat/ac system that allowed each room their own temperature control; very nice! The weather outside was cool so we just needed an open window.

The breakfast offerings were many. The special for the morning was a homemade frittata. We both selected that for the morning then went down the hill to the restaurants, shops and a lovely pub, Gus O'Connor's. Our friends met us there for dinner and afterwards we enjoyed the authentic Irish music. It was obvious that the pub was filled with a lot of the locals because they followed along with the words!

The next morning Darra and Niall met us in the dining room. They had quite the selection of cereals, pastries, local cheeses, etc. but we waited for our frittata. I'm glad we did! It was made with fresh, local ingredients and delicious! Near the end of our meal I asked Darra for suggestions of where to stay in Galway. She got on it right away because it was the weekend. She found a lovely hotel, Park House and booked our rooms for us. She also recommended a restaurant called Ard Bia at Nimmos. (Darra, was right about both!)

Our stay was brief, but we would go back tomorrow. Doolin is a traditional, small, Irish town full of lovely people.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin_Tavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sea View House has so many good points it is hard to list them in just one review. It sits in the prime location in Doolin, the charming musical village in West Clare, on an elevated site looking down the Pier Road and out to the sea; within short walking distance to several pubs and more than acceptable restaurants and it is, literally, at the start of the newly opened Cliffs Of Moher cliff walkway going all the way from Doolin ( from just out side Sea House in fact) to Liscannor, just outside Lahinch, and which is a lovely sea walk, kept close to the sea, with great views all along the way and a great way to spend the day. If that were not enough, the house itself is lovely and with only four guestrooms, (ours was spotlessly clean and good ensuite), it has a very cosy and genuinely homely feel to it. That homely feeling is enhanced by the welcome and care you receive from the hosts, Darra and her husband, who both go out of their way to make sure all your needs are attened to, all your questions are answered on important matters such as where the best pub music is at for that night, will it rain tomorrow and what should we have for breakfast! All this is topped off by genuinely gourmet breakfast fare - (for which, by the way, you can pre order home made speciatity dishes the night before) - served in a delightful dining room.(Our freshly made free range egg fritattas were spectacularly light, almost fluffy and a perfectly tasty light way to start the day.) With all guests at the large dining table,it gives all guests a chance to meet, chat and share experiences, stories and recommendations on our respective trips. On departure there is freshly brewed coffee and tea for you to take on your journey which is a nice thoughtful touch and neatly summarized the effort put in by our hosts, to think of exerything to enhance your experience. All in all it was a throughly enjoyable experience and one which we look forward to again soon. (There is a lot to be seen and heard in Clare!) In short, Seaview House is simply a great spot!

Room Tip: front room has good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent one night with Dara at the Sea View during our week long trip to Ireland. We had been sent on recomendation from our hosts in Dingle the night before--and it was great advice!! Dara took a reservation the same day and had a family room available. We were able to arrive a bit earlier than expected because we took the advise to take the Shannon Ferry from Dingle north (a great tip!)
Dara greated us warmly and immediatly offered us cookies and a baileys and coffee by the fire in the beautiful sitting room. The house has been beautifully designed to give their family privacy, while being available to help guests. We took Dara's advise to walk to the beach and see the gorgeous sunset. O'Connors pub at the bottom of the hill is a great spot for dinner.
Our room was neat and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was lovely--especially the fresh rolls, breads, etc.
I so wish we could have stayed longer. Doolin and the Sea View were probably in our top two spots/inns for the week. This is a great spot--not to be missed on your tour of Western Ireland. I only hope we can come back and see Dara and the Sea View someday!

Room Tip: We had the family room with sea view. Just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMeredithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
629 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Doolin
416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.5 mi away
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View House Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View House Doolin

Address: Fisherstreet, Doolin V95 CC6V, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $47 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View House in Doolin is unique bed and breakfast on the Wild Atlantic Way where you can enjoy luxurious accommodation and surroundings, superb food along with natural and warm hospitality. Sea View House offers a retreat from the hustle of everyday life. Open decks, pastoral and ocean views form a setting for relaxation or lively conversations. Our Location: Our home is perched on the side of a hill in Doolin village over looking the Atlantic Ocean and the Aran Islands. Located on the Burren Way and over looking the Atlantic Ocean and the Aran Islands, we are right in the middle of Doolin village allowing you to stroll across the bridge to Gus O'Connor's pub where you can enjoy wonderful traditional live Irish music and great food. The spectacular coastal walking trail linking the village of Doolin to the Cliffs of Moher and on to Hags Head starts right outside Sea View House. Our Accommodation: We can offer you peaceful accommodation in one of our four spacious and elegant non-smoking guest rooms. Each stylish bedroom is finished to the highest standard and all rooms feature classic hand-made mahogany furniture. Complementary WiFi is available in our bedrooms and throughout our home. Our guest rooms are complemented by our guest lounge and large deck both where you can soak up the glorious views of the Atlantic ocean, Allie river and Doolin Village, take time to watch a passing ship or enjoy the evening sunset. Our Food: Sea View House has gained recognition for our use of locally sourced and home grown ingredients for our breakfasts. You can choose from our sumptuous breakfast buffet of home poached fruits, artisan cheese, home made yoghurt and much more before being served a low food mile dish prepared to order from our kitchen. We source as much locally as we can. Our cheese comes from the Cliffs of Moher and Buren Geopark. Our bacon comes from Galway. We grow our own tomatoes, bake all our breads, and all our eggs come from our flock of chickens. By sourcing as much of our food as possible from local producers and our gardens, we reduce the food miles (the distance that food must travel to get from farm to fork) of the food we serve. Our menu indicates the food miles of every dish we serve. Sea View House and the Enviroment: Sea View House is an Official Tourism Partner of the Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark. We are also member of the Burren Ecotourism Network, a network of tourism enterprises with the objective of establishing the Burren as a premier internationally-recognised sustainable tourism region ensuring the future economic and social growth and sustainable development of its communities, environment and heritage. We are a certified member of the 'Green Hospitality Programme' and Tripadvisor Gold Greenleaders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea View House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing