We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea View House Doolin
Ranked #3 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were traveling with friends. We chose not to book ahead and asked each place we stayed for a referral. When we arrived in Doolin we found that the place we thought we would be staying in was booked so that place had booked us into the Sea View House.

Wow, what luck! The owners Darra and Niall are the nicest people; just what you would expect in a lovely Irish town. The accommodations were very nice. They had just put in a new heat/ac system that allowed each room their own temperature control; very nice! The weather outside was cool so we just needed an open window.

The breakfast offerings were many. The special for the morning was a homemade frittata. We both selected that for the morning then went down the hill to the restaurants, shops and a lovely pub, Gus O'Connor's. Our friends met us there for dinner and afterwards we enjoyed the authentic Irish music. It was obvious that the pub was filled with a lot of the locals because they followed along with the words!

The next morning Darra and Niall met us in the dining room. They had quite the selection of cereals, pastries, local cheeses, etc. but we waited for our frittata. I'm glad we did! It was made with fresh, local ingredients and delicious! Near the end of our meal I asked Darra for suggestions of where to stay in Galway. She got on it right away because it was the weekend. She found a lovely hotel, Park House and booked our rooms for us. She also recommended a restaurant called Ard Bia at Nimmos. (Darra, was right about both!)

Our stay was brief, but we would go back tomorrow. Doolin is a traditional, small, Irish town full of lovely people.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffin_Tavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 806 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sea View House has so many good points it is hard to list them in just one review. It sits in the prime location in Doolin, the charming musical village in West Clare, on an elevated site looking down the Pier Road and out to the sea; within short walking distance to several pubs and more than acceptable restaurants and it is, literally, at the start of the newly opened Cliffs Of Moher cliff walkway going all the way from Doolin ( from just out side Sea House in fact) to Liscannor, just outside Lahinch, and which is a lovely sea walk, kept close to the sea, with great views all along the way and a great way to spend the day. If that were not enough, the house itself is lovely and with only four guestrooms, (ours was spotlessly clean and good ensuite), it has a very cosy and genuinely homely feel to it. That homely feeling is enhanced by the welcome and care you receive from the hosts, Darra and her husband, who both go out of their way to make sure all your needs are attened to, all your questions are answered on important matters such as where the best pub music is at for that night, will it rain tomorrow and what should we have for breakfast! All this is topped off by genuinely gourmet breakfast fare - (for which, by the way, you can pre order home made speciatity dishes the night before) - served in a delightful dining room.(Our freshly made free range egg fritattas were spectacularly light, almost fluffy and a perfectly tasty light way to start the day.) With all guests at the large dining table,it gives all guests a chance to meet, chat and share experiences, stories and recommendations on our respective trips. On departure there is freshly brewed coffee and tea for you to take on your journey which is a nice thoughtful touch and neatly summarized the effort put in by our hosts, to think of exerything to enhance your experience. All in all it was a throughly enjoyable experience and one which we look forward to again soon. (There is a lot to be seen and heard in Clare!) In short, Seaview House is simply a great spot!

Room Tip: front room has good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent one night with Dara at the Sea View during our week long trip to Ireland. We had been sent on recomendation from our hosts in Dingle the night before--and it was great advice!! Dara took a reservation the same day and had a family room available. We were able to arrive a bit earlier than expected because we took the advise to take the Shannon Ferry from Dingle north (a great tip!)
Dara greated us warmly and immediatly offered us cookies and a baileys and coffee by the fire in the beautiful sitting room. The house has been beautifully designed to give their family privacy, while being available to help guests. We took Dara's advise to walk to the beach and see the gorgeous sunset. O'Connors pub at the bottom of the hill is a great spot for dinner.
Our room was neat and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was lovely--especially the fresh rolls, breads, etc.
I so wish we could have stayed longer. Doolin and the Sea View were probably in our top two spots/inns for the week. This is a great spot--not to be missed on your tour of Western Ireland. I only hope we can come back and see Dara and the Sea View someday!

Room Tip: We had the family room with sea view. Just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMeredithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the reasons I like staying at b&b's is the family feel. I enjoy getting to know the owners, who invariably make the experience rich and full. That is definitely the case with Dara. She was friendly, warm, welcoming, and a wealth of information, even about the local town gossipi!! I felt as if Dara was a good friend who had opened up her home to me for a visit.

The location was perfect. It's a very short walk/stumble to and from Gus O'Connor's, and a quick drive to the Cliffs of Moher. Dara's breakfast was wonderful, including the porridge with a shot of Bailey's! The seating for breakfast is at one large table, rather than smaller, individual tables at other b&b's, which provides for more interaction among the guests. I would recommend Sea View House to anyone who wants to stay in a b&b which feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyincary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We are a mid-sixties couple, stayed in Doolin at Darra and Niall's great place for two days. Darra has a clear itinerary and map for those wanting to explore the Burren, the food is really outstanding. The attention to detail, and the preparations (muffins, fruit, porridge, salmon) were impressive and delicious. From the house, O'Connor's pub is a short walk. The Cliffs of Moher are also close enough to walk to. We liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Darra's gracious welcome in mid September 2013, and delightful story on how she had been featured in the newspaper as the ultimate sports fan mom cinched our appreciation of her efforts and tickled our funny bone into high gear! The home and the rooms were inviting and the Niall's breakfast effort was stellar. The close proximity to O Connor's pub, the candy store and sweater shops made this one of our favorite stops in two weeks of travel in Ireland. We had a casual dinner at the Ivy Cottage Tea Garden just across the street and it was outstanding! Our conversation with the local owner of the Tea Garden made for some hilarious moments. Talking with the locals and singing in O' Connors pub created warm moments of nostalgia for us. We found the people of Ireland to be so kind and Darra and Niall are prime examples of why B & B's are so inviting! Hey all you Penn State Fans! You need to go stay in Doolin next fall after the big game in Dublin!

Room Tip: If you are only staying a night, leave your big luggage in the car and just take in what you need fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thank you so much Niall and Darra for hosting once again a fabulous trip to Doolin! The warmth we feel from you and home is fabulous! Thank you for taking the time to direct us to the best places to see based on the weather and for taking the time to make arrangements for us! Not only was the breakfast the best we have had in Ireland but the fact that you packed us breakfast on the second day since we had to leave so early was unexpected and appreciated! We cannot wait to get back to see you! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Rick and Maureen Laughead

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlaughead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
633 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
3.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
477 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#7 of 56 in Doolin
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View House Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View House Doolin

Address: Fisherstreet, Doolin V95 CC6V, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $49 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View House in Doolin is unique bed and breakfast on the Wild Atlantic Way where you can enjoy luxurious accommodation and surroundings, superb food along with natural and warm hospitality. Sea View House offers a retreat from the hustle of everyday life. Open decks, pastoral and ocean views form a setting for relaxation or lively conversations. Our Location: Our home is perched on the side of a hill in Doolin village over looking the Atlantic Ocean and the Aran Islands. Located on the Burren Way and over looking the Atlantic Ocean and the Aran Islands, we are right in the middle of Doolin village allowing you to stroll across the bridge to Gus O'Connor's pub where you can enjoy wonderful traditional live Irish music and great food. The spectacular coastal walking trail linking the village of Doolin to the Cliffs of Moher and on to Hags Head starts right outside Sea View House. Our Accommodation: We can offer you peaceful accommodation in one of our four spacious and elegant non-smoking guest rooms. Each stylish bedroom is finished to the highest standard and all rooms feature classic hand-made mahogany furniture. Complementary WiFi is available in our bedrooms and throughout our home. Our guest rooms are complemented by our guest lounge and large deck both where you can soak up the glorious views of the Atlantic ocean, Allie river and Doolin Village, take time to watch a passing ship or enjoy the evening sunset. Our Food: Sea View House has gained recognition for our use of locally sourced and home grown ingredients for our breakfasts. You can choose from our sumptuous breakfast buffet of home poached fruits, artisan cheese, home made yoghurt and much more before being served a low food mile dish prepared to order from our kitchen. We source as much locally as we can. Our cheese comes from the Cliffs of Moher and Buren Geopark. Our bacon comes from Galway. We grow our own tomatoes, bake all our breads, and all our eggs come from our flock of chickens. By sourcing as much of our food as possible from local producers and our gardens, we reduce the food miles (the distance that food must travel to get from farm to fork) of the food we serve. Our menu indicates the food miles of every dish we serve. Sea View House and the Enviroment: Sea View House is an Official Tourism Partner of the Burren and Cliffs of Moher Geopark. We are also member of the Burren Ecotourism Network, a network of tourism enterprises with the objective of establishing the Burren as a premier internationally-recognised sustainable tourism region ensuring the future economic and social growth and sustainable development of its communities, environment and heritage. We are a certified member of the 'Green Hospitality Programme' and Tripadvisor Gold Greenleaders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea View House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing