We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay with a family!”
Review of Daly's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Daly's House
Ranked #1 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay with a family!”
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Near the end of our two week trip to Ireland we stayed at Daly's. What a wonderful and kind welcome we received there!! They brought us right to our room, showed us how everything worked, checked to see if we needed directions or recommendations for food, music, etc. and got us all settled in.

We stayed in the family suite in the house next door to the main house. It has one main room with a double bed, plus a side room with two twin beds. Everything was very comfortable and homey. The bathroom was quite nice - very large with plenty of towels, no tub, just a shower stall. The water pressure was very strong, and we always had hot water.

Daly's is located right in the middle of several fields, many of which are occupied by cows. That was one of the big differences I saw while staying here - I didn't need the alarm clock, both mornings I woke up to the sounds of the cows mooing! Now you know you are in the country when that happens!

Doolin is a quaint little town, well located to the ferry docks to the Aran Islands. Daly's is about a 5 minute drive or so to the docks, which is good because the ferries leave around 9am or so and you need to be there early.

The day we arrived in Doolin, we stopped at O'Connor's Pub for lunch. Nice place, good pub food. The next day as we were getting breakfast, Susan told us that on Sundays O'Connors has an early set of music at 5pm - which would be a great chance for us to take our children to hear the music. So we spent the day on the Aran Islands, and returned just in time to walk down to O'Connors for a wonderful set of music and dinner. Daly's is only about a 5 minute walk to O'Connors which is wonderfully convenient. And just a couple doors down from O'Connors is a little food store - great place to pick up some snacks for the kids.

Breakfast at Daly's is very nice - several cold cereals to choose from, and they offer the full irish breakfast if you want a hot meal. For adults that was fine, but was a little challenging to small children - we would have loved to have something else for them like french toast or pancakes. But at breakfast is when you really get to know Susan and her daughters - it was wonderful to chat with them.

The day we left we were heading to Ennis, as the next day we were flying out of Shannon. As soon as Susan heard that, she disappeared for a moment, then reappeared with a entire itinerary for us. It took us from Doolin through all parts of County Clare ending in Ennis. The directions were fabulous, and we ended up seeing all sorts of things we probably would not have otherwise. It made for a fabulous last day in Ireland.

One thing to note - Susan prefers that you pay for your stay in cash. We ended up in Doolin with not enough cash for our bill, and needed an ATM. Be advised that Doolin does not have one - you have to go to Ennistymon for the closest one. Susan's daughters gave us really good directions to the ATM, but it is probably a 20 minute drive or so, and we got caught behind a herd of cows being moved from one pasture to another! So you might want to be better prepared than we were!

This is definitely one place you cannot miss - nice rooms, clean, warm, friendly, and very helpful. If you are in the vicinity of Doolin you have to give them a call!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — breakfast selection
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to ask for suggested itineraries!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worleybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    53
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
259
652
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Just arrived back from a wonderful stay at Dalys House in Doolin.
The location of Dalys is so peaceful with wonderful views all around. Her home is very clean and the bedrooms have all the facilities you need and are so comfortable.
I must not forget the great breakfasts served to us each morning in the conservatory, we just loved them.

Susan and her daughter Kate made us feel so welcome and we both felt it was true Irish hospitality we experienced at her home.

  • Liked — Location and wonderful home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DeniseSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Myself and a couple of girlfriends stayed at Susan Daly's B&B for 2 nights at the beginning of September. The accomodation was brilliant and Susan's advice on where to go and what to do was most helpful. We enjoyed the area very much, especially the Irish music at the local hotels. Thank you again Susan
Regards
RR Australia

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank JeddaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We stayed at Daly's House for one night in early September. We were placed in the other house, right next door to the main inn. Our family room for three was very nicely decorated, and actually had two bedrooms.
The inn is within walking distance to one of the three main pubs with traditional Irish music each night, O'Connors. We went there on Saturday night and the music was absolutely fantastic -- the best we heard on our 10-day trip through Ireland.
The inn owner, Susan, and her daughter were very charming and sweet. We had to wait half an hour in the lobby for breakfast, but once we had breakfast, the food was delicious. Susan also provided us with an itinerary she developed that we could have followed to tour the Burren.
Overall, a very nice experience, and we would consider staying here again.

  • Liked — Very clean and nicely decorated
  • Disliked — long wait for breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

My husband and I were headed for Doolin and we called Susan Daly to see if she could accomodate us with short notice. I had mentioned on the phone that we had stayed with her in the past and she welcomed us as if we were the long lost relatives. This type of hospitality is so appreciated when one is tired and weary of the driving. She was apologetic that she only had her smallest room available but we were happy just to feel at home. We stayed in room #5 and it was warm and cozy with a fabulous view of a Norman ruin. Susan's breakfast was wonderful and we enquired if she could accomodate us for another night. She said she could and would move us to a larger room but I declined prefering the smaller room for its charm. That evening as we returned, Susan's daughter Kate brought us an Irish Whiskey and we enjoyed her singing and company. There is no other place in Ireland where you get this treatment. We will be back and we will ask for room #5.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you call ahead for a reservation as she is very booked
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

The most fabulous place, great people, warm welcome, beautiful home!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PixieJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

This was our second trip to Ireland. Last time was in September last year. This time, we decided to book all the accommodation in advance. In doolin, in which we planned to stay two nights, we booked two weeks in advance in Daly's house. We specified we want a room with a double bed.
We called in the we are arrived, and we were told that room #5 was ready for us.
We were amazed to find that the room was tiny! very very very tiny! the bed was 1.2 meters wide! we had no room for the suitcase, and had to jump over it in the way to our bed.
We had experience in above 20 B&B's in Ireland, but this room was the smallest we have ever stayed in.
The shower had low water current.
The sink had a draining problem.
When we spoke with Mrs.. Daly about the room size, she said that the room was the smallest in the house (we booked two weeks in advance - does that not grant us at least not the worst room?).
There was no other room available (we did not see the other rooms, so I am not sure if things could be better).
We requested to leave on the second night, and stayed at the Atlantic View.
We were amazed! the best B&B we have seen in Ireland (see other review). We were so sorry we haven't stayed there in the first place.

  • Disliked — very very Tiny room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Atlantic View instead.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ilan_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
3.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#5 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#14 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's House

Property: Daly's House
Address: Dunmacfelim, Doolin 065, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Doolin village has panoramic views of the Sea and the Cliffs of Moher. Daly's House is an ideal base for touring the Wild Atlantic Way, the Burren region, Doolin Cave, the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands. The ferry services to the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher are a 5 minute drive from our home. We are situated 100 yards from O'Connors Pub, world renowned for traditional Irish music. We are just 1 hours drive from Shannon airport and just over 3 hours drive from Dublin airport. Doolin is an idealic base to tour neighbouring counties Galway, Limerick and Kerry. Your host, Susan ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daly`s House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing