We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B experience- loved it!”
Review of Daly's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Daly's House
Ranked #1 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B experience- loved it!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We so enjoyed our short time in Doolin (1 night). This B&B was recommended by a friend and we were so glad! We got in late from travels during the day and they waited up for us and were still so helpful-- even offered to put my husband's wet clothes in the dryer since he'd been playing golf in the rain! It is a great location- from O'Connor's Pub, which was awesome- and such an adorable house. We could see castle ruins from our bedroom window and the Cliffs of Moher from the breakfast table! The food was delicious and Susan is more than hospitable. We really enjoyed chatting with her. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    53
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
268
685
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at Daly's House while touring the coast of Ireland. This was by far the best B&B we stayed in during our 8 night trip. Susan is a fantastic host. We were so warmly welcomed (in from torrential rains and winds) to a warm fire and an Irish Coffee and were made to feel instantly at home. She provided great recommendations, driving tours, and pamphlets that she has made on her own to guide us around the area. The views from the house are spectacular. If the weather is even partially clear, the Cliffs of Moher could be seen from our window. It's just a quick walk down the drive to the pubs and shops of Doolin. Breakfast was hands-down the best we had in Irelend. Susan's porridge is a must!! If I return to Ireland, I would stay nowhere else if touring Doolin, The Burren, or the Cliffs of Moher. Daly's House is an absolute must!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendremik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very nice stay in Doolin. The Daly's were extremely warm and welcoming. Despite our long drive to get there (we looked terrible) they both spent time to talk with us and were very friendly. Great people. The room was clean and comfortable and Susan was a wealth of information regarding all the attractions in the area. Would definitely stay there again and wish them all the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, KY
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We felt welcomed and appreciated from the first moment we met the hosts. The service and atmosphere at Daly's House was perfect for our relaxing trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, OR
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We would give this place 6 starts if we could! This was in a very tiny town that we would've never chosen, so thank you to our agent for this. Only 2 places to eat in town, but what a lovely town! We had a great view up on the fill. Susan was so welcoming, with Irish coffee and ginger cookies upon arrival, she booked our ferry and was a great hostess! There are two homes and we stayed in the 2nd home. We had a fabulous room at the end which was very spacious. The en suite was HUGE with a full bathtub. Our bed was very comfortable (she said she paid 1000 Euro for each bed). The breakfast was good and this was our favorite place for the whole trip! Wish we could've stayed longer. George the dog was a treat too. Definitely recommend this to anyone in the Shannon area. [We did take a ferry trip to the Aran Island (yes, the ferry system is as crazy as the reviews tell you); take the earliest ferry you can if you plan to get a horse carriage ride. Our ride included all 3 islands for stops, so we got there very late and there was only one carriage left. Our tour guide did not give us any history during the trip so it was disappointing, but we had great weather so it made up for it.]

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_n_Aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed in Daly's House for one night.

The Good:

Susan was a very nice host (the friendliest of 8 B&B) and we were warmly received. The room in a separate building was spacious and had nice views. The house also had a beautiful garden. Comfortable bed and good shower. The breakfast was good, if not exceptional.

The Bad:

Directly upon arriving we received the dinner menu of the pub down the road, which seemed a little weird. We later found out from former guests that it apparently belonged to her family, after which the whole thing made perfect sense of course. The pub also happens to be quite expensive. Dinner at a different pub was absolutely excellent and quite a bit cheaper. To us it seemed unnecessary to try to gain pub customers like that - bad style.

The offered biscuits, jam and bread were supposed to be homemade. While that might be the case, the biscuits were really perfectly identically shaped - not easy to do if you make them yourself. And after our suspicion had been aroused by the biscuits and the pub-menu issue, we were not so sure about the bread (which looked equally professionally made) and the jams (which did not taste overly homemade). Not to forget the salmon, which might or not have come from a neighbouring village. Of course, this was only our perception. Make up your own mind.

Conclusion:

In conclusion, we would definitely recommend this B&B as the stay there was very enjoyable. It is a shame that our suspicion was aroused like that. Maybe one could cut down on the homemaking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn ny
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Had the warmest hospitality and best time with the locals during our stay in Doolin and Daly's House. First, Susan was very communicative and helpful during email exchange prior to the trip.
Once we got there, we felt right at home after our long journey. Susan made every effort to ensure all our needs were cared for, as others have noted. She helped us book a taxi for our way out and also found us a tour guide (Tony!!) to take us around the Burren at the last minute, as we only had a half day on Inisheer and found ourselves with some extra time to explore. Susan took the time to chat with us over tea and homemade cookies.
The breakfast was excellent! many options to choose from and all presented very nicely. The room (ours was a "twin" room that was really a suite) was minimalist but very clean and comfortable. It was great to have free wifi of course! And the location was good - remote enough to feel connected to nature, but in walking distance to both the "town" (main road) and the ferries.
and lastly, Daly's house was in my opinion a great deal, the best we had on our whole trip. quick tip - in my bedroom (wasn't the case with the main room), the shades let in a lot of light so I used a mask to sleep and it was no problem at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaeldra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
585 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
80 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 54 in Doolin
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's House

Property: Daly's House
Address: Dunmacfelim, Doolin 065, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Doolin village has panoramic views of the Sea and the Cliffs of Moher. Daly's House is an ideal base for touring the Wild Atlantic Way, the Burren region, Doolin Cave, the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands. The ferry services to the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher are a 5 minute drive from our home. We are situated 100 yards from O'Connors Pub, world renowned for traditional Irish music. We are just 1 hours drive from Shannon airport and just over 3 hours drive from Dublin airport. Doolin is an idealic base to tour neighbouring counties Galway, Limerick and Kerry. Your host, Susan ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daly`s House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing