We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy place. A genuine experience.”
Review of Rainbow Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Hostel
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2010

By staying in this hostel you get a lovely holiday experience rather than just a place to stay.
The owners are incredibly friendly - Mattie gave us a guided local walk about local nature + history and a few stories - for free! He took us to places you wouldn't find on your own, even as an experienced traveller.
The kitchen was huge, bright and lean at all times. Cosy living room, good atmosphere. You feel you can talk to others if you like but are left alone if you wish so. Mix of people: young backpackers, retired couple, USA, Ireland, Europe - no problems in getting on. Living room sociable, bedrooms quiet.
We hade a private bedroom with bathroom, all fine for a hostel.
Lovely outdoors area. 2 great pubs 2 min walk with very good food and live music every day.
Beautiful surroundings. Hostel was very good value, food in pubs a bit pricey, but high quality. You could treat yourself to dinner sometimes and prepare other meals in well-equipped kitchen to save up.
Owners are genuine: they want to give people a good time, and are really helpful, not just interested in profit.
Very recommended.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank eateria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

We were looked after and really made to feel at home by Carmel and Mattie. The term "hospitality", usually used to describe this service industry, was taken to a new level by these two; they provided fresh scones every morning and would force treats into your hands as you left for day-trips. Quality advice, evening slideshows and a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere were all included in the cost. Extremely reasonable, comfortable and friendly. The peat fire every night was warming and homely.

The only downside is that I seem to have developed a scone-habit!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

A gorgous, clean hostel with state of the art kitchen. Bus Eireann bus stops outside the door and bikes are rented from the hostel for only €5 per day. This is a magical little find, perfectly located beside two of the best pubs in Doolin! Home made scones free of charge at breakfast time was just one of the little touches that made Rainbow a special place to stop. Wi fi internet, tourist information and everything you could possibly need is provided by the friendly helpful owners. Its possible to camp there too or stay at the Rainbow B&B next door, which is probably delightful considering how good the hostel is.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I stayed at the Rainbow two nights at the end of June 2010. It is a warm, bright, quiet, clean and friendly place with a great kitchen, sitting room, patio/deck out back, and incredible evening walk in the Burren with Mattie. The hostel is located two doors down from a great pub (and a mammoth bonfire on St. John's Eve), they offer all day bike rentals at incredible rates, and the owner even made up fresh baked scones on my last morning there. As the other reviewer said: a real pot of gold at the Rainbow. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddlerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We only stayed 1 night, but will definitely stay longer next time. Mattie and Carmel Shannon were the picture of Irish hospitality! (they also run the Rainbows End B&B from their home next door to the hostel)
We stayed at the hostel in a private room w/ bath, beds were very comfy w/plenty of blankets. Heat is in the floor, but seemed quite adequate. Bathroom is nicely updated (bring your own towel)
Mattie digs turf peat from their farm, so there's always a warm fire in the common room. He also posts the daily weather forecast and does a wonderful slide show in the evening of his photos of the Burren, flowers, megalithic sites and more. He's very knowledgeable and generously gifted my daughter and I each a local "Mud Stone", when he saw our love of rocks.
Bus Eireann stops right outside the front door and goes by several times each day on the way to the Cliffs of Moher (less than 1/2 hour away) If you like to walk, take the bus to the Cliffs then walk back to Doolin (mostly downhill) along the cliffs/Atlantic ocean (about 2 hrs)
Highly recommend the Rainbow Hostel in friendly and picturesque Doolin.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boho-Mamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Spending a week in Doolin, Ireland and at the Rainbow is one of the best travel decisions we've made. My wife and I instantly felt like family when we arrived (late) and were welcomed with a warm fire and a warm smile by Mattie and Carmel, the owners. They had plenty of suggestions on places to go and things to see. The hostel is well put together and clean, as is the B&B next door. It is obvious that they take a lot of pride in what they do, and they do it quite well. They truly care about making your experience in Ireland a memorable and comfortable one.

The views are spectacular and the pubs are not far away. It's the perfect mix of rural Ireland and proximity to convenience. If you're coming to Western Ireland, come to Doolin, and to the Rainbow. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhysfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We have spent only one night in the hostel, but a very good one.

If we come back in Ireland (I hope so), we surely will spend more time here, and travel around to Burren or the coast.

A car is of course strongly recommended, as the village offers very few facilities.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank FRENCHIE034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.7 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 20 in Doolin
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 56 in Doolin
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
O'Learys Lodge B&B
O'Learys Lodge B&B
#10 of 56 in Doolin
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolin Sunset B&B
Doolin Sunset B&B
#50 of 56 in Doolin
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hostel

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Price Range: $41 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing