We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great Value!! Awesome owners!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great place! I was traveling with my mom and sister for my birthday (April 21-23) and we stayed here 2 nights in 2 different rooms. Both were clean and basic. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house the first night and it was very nice. These are the superior rooms. It had a queen bed and 2 bunk beds a couple of chairs and larger bathroom. The 2nd night we were put in a room across the street in a building which is part of the hostel.(it was all that was left due to our last minute changes) It was very basic and had 3 bunk beds and no chairs. The staff is very courteous and friendly. We had a last minute change of plans but they were very accomodating in finding us a room at the hostel for an earlier night than originally planned. Coffee bar was great! Doolin is not a big town by any means but this hostel is a hop and skip to everything. We took the ferry from the port in Doolin to the Aran Islands. Wonderful experience and beautiful. Highly recommend this hostel for the price!! Only negative was our bathhroom in the Fisher House building was very small and the shower is like a campground shower where you have to push the button to keep the water on (which is very good for conservation so this really isn't a negative I suppose) Fisher House room needed at least one chair to be able to put your shoes on because it was almost impossible to do sitting on the small bottom bunk bed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. Our room overlooked a small green pasture which was very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Michelle

Thank you for your review and for spending your birthday with us. It was great to have you stay and we enjoyed your company. We were glad to help with your last minute change and that you have given my this opportunity to clarify our hostel set up for future guests who may read this.
1) Doolin Hostel comprises of two buildings. The main building and the annex Fisher street house which is opposite. Both buildings have a full self catering kitchen, dining and sitting room with stove fire. Guests have full access to both building common areas and the breakfast buffet is served in the main kitchen.
2) The main building also has the cafe and laundry plus outdoor wash area. Fisher street house is smaller and common areas tend to be quieter as it caters for less guests.
3) We have two room categories - Standard and Superior. The superior rooms are all in the main building, the standard rooms are primarily in Fisher street house. Our standard rooms are smaller and are more of a traditional hostel style, but have the same linens, flooring, beds, painting etc. The bathrooms are smaller as they where designed in the 90's and are on our list of renovations for the year ahead. But for a hostel are of a very good standard. We reflect the difference also in the pricing of the rooms.
4) Our Superior rooms are larger with larger bathrooms and are a very high standard for a hostel and are close to a good B&B / budget hotel room. Since taking over the hostel two years ago we have undertaken major renovations and in the months and years ahead we will be continuing to invest heavily in our buildings to add more little touches and total revamping of other areas all with the aim of improving our guests experience and to be a world class hostel.
5) And when we do make renovations and improvements we always try to do it as environmentally conscious way possible as we live in one of the most beautiful parts of the world and it is important that we protect it for all and future generations to enjoy.

Thank you for the comment on the chair in the bedroom, its a simple thing but it is amazing when you look at something for so long you can miss the most obvious. All rooms now have a chair.

Thank you and until we meet again.
Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 392 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in beautiful Doolin. The couple who run it are wonderful - so nice and helpful! The Cliffs of Moher are within walking distance, although it is a bit of a walk (9km each way) but its a beautiful walk. It's a beautiful location, and a lovely hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaLee2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Jessica

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and delighted you enjoyed the Cliffs of Moher walk which starts at the hostel and got to enjoy two days in Doolin with us.
A little tip for future guests is to get the 8am or 12.30pm Bus Eireann bus the starts at the Hostel to the Rock Shop outside Liscannor at the other end of the Cliffs and walk 15km back the full lenght of the Cliff Walk. Plus take a packed lunch with you and have a picnic on the Cliffs on the way back for a most memorable experience.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
www.doolinhostel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

stayed at the hostel at the beginning of April 2014 and had the best time.
first of all the owners are kind and helpful people. The price is one of the lowest and most fair prices I payed during my time in Ireland. The Location is perfect- close to sea, between the two great pubs and close to a shop where you can rent bikes.
The rooms are really big and the restrooms clean and convienent (there is always hot water). The living room is also very nice with a fireplace that is always burning and a small tv and Laptop for free use in the corner. very coasy with nice view on Doolin from the windows.
Its really a great hostel and I recommend to come for 2-3 nights at least because there is also a lot to see in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Yoni

It was a pleasure to read your review this morning and to get your vote as best hostel in Ireland. Thank you for commenting on all the little things that we have worked on over the winter months its great to see that they are appreciated such as the 10kw wood stove fire in the living rooms (but we are not finished and have more planned improvements for the months and years ahead.)
I have to agreed with your comments on staying at least 2-3 nights as there is so much to do in Doolin for a small village on the Atlantic coast. Not only can you walk the Cliffs of Moher, take a ferry to the Aran Islands, explore the Burren, but also go Caving (with a choice of 250 caves in the area), Rock Climbing, Surfing, Sea Kayaking, Bouldering, Horse riding, Mountain Biking, etc. to name a few activities.

Take care and hope fully we will meet again
Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed at over 10 hostels in Ireland and this was by far my favorite! You cannot beat the location, as it sits right at the base of the walking trail leading up to the Cliffs of Moher. The owners are extremely kind and helpful.

This is more like a hotel than a hostel, but with amazing prices. I stayed in the dorms, which were very comfortable. One of my favorite parts of my stay here was the free breakfast in the morning. The owner baked delicious homemade break and fresh jams, yogurt with seeds and dried fruits, and real coffee!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiAnn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear KaiAnn

Thank you for rating us your top hostel in Ireland, it means a lot and I will pass your comments on with the team as it is really appreciated. It is great to hear you enjoyed our new free healthy breakfast buffet, which is a little different to what you would normally find in a hostel. But we believe our guests need a good foundation to start the day with slow burning energy food to keep up with all the great site seeing, outdoor activities and hiking they can do in the area.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and please do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything else.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
www.doolinhostel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Can't imagine a better hostel experience, or indeed hospitality. Anthony is less corporate in demeanor than his photo may suggest, though yes, ladies and gentlemen, every bit as easy on the eyes. As is the lovely Deirdre. Space is very well organized in the spare and spacious kitchen and the upstairs rooms, and the bathrooms are immaculate. I chose the place for its perfect access to Bus Eireann and the coastal walk and incidentally Gus O'Connor's, which had a lovely fiddle and flute session the evening I was there. The walk from here to Hag's Head is indeed one of the great walks of Ireland and so wonderful I had to do it twice, but the interior way up from the beach at Lahinch (on what looks to be the 1044) that he suggested gives one another angle on the farmland, impressive views over the landscape, and is a peaceful local road as quiet as a path, at least in the spring. The multi-bed room was almost Cistercian in its tranquility, to my considerable astonishment and great delight. If my fellow Americans are adaptable to the sunny spells of a maritime climate (i.e., ferries to Aran can be cancelled by weather) and would mitigate their disappointment at finding the West of Ireland so full of their own ilk, they are in for the time of their lives. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryEva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Mary
It was an absolute pleasure to read your review and to have you stay with us. You have been part of many conversations I have had with other guests since your stay. When they say they can't do an activity or its too far to walk etc. And I recant what you did over your couple of days with us. From surfing the first time to hiking the cliff walk both ways numerous times and all with ease in your stride, leaving no excuse for anyone else. You where the perfect guest.

Hopefully we will get to meet again.

Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I couldn't have selected a better place to lodge in Doolin. Anthony was a wonderful host and even offered me a potential pair of shoes after mine got destroyed by the hike along the Cliffs of Moher. And the view! There's no place as tranquil as a morning in Doolin, with cows grazing right down the street. And also, the Doolin Hostel is right along the trodden path of Galway tour buses. Make sure you tell the tour guide to leave you in Doolin. And go to O'Connors and order a Smithy's. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Mark
It was a pleasure to read your review this morning and your recommendations for future guests as so much is missed when traveling by tour bus. Its best to stop and overnight in the west of Ireland and get to experience and feel what Ireland has to offer and where the pace of live is more relaxed and locals have time to chat.

But do bring a pair of walking / hiking shoes :-) for the Cliffs of Moher Hiking Trail (although most of it is a gravel path, there is one short muddy bit) the experience is so much more than just the visitor center and then there are the views, especially the sunsets over the Aran Islands are breathtaking.

Hope you found a good pair of shoes in Galway and had a safe trip home.

Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Doolin Hostel was as others have said, so much more that a hostel. The cafe on hand, the plentyful hot water, the bright clean atmosphere, the really lovely helpful staff! and the continental breakfast which took all the stress out of the mornings. Such great Value, it was a hostel with a hotel feel to it! I am already looking for dates to return in August!!

Room Tip: specifiy your numbers travelling togther - if they can they can fit you in one room with a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikyb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Vicki

Delighted you had a wonderful time with us in Doolin and I hope your son was feeling better for the trip home. Thank you for your praise and that you found the hostel such great value and that you enjoyed our continental breakfast so much. With all the activities you can do in the area we believe its important to have a good breakfast with slow releasing energy food to keep you going.

I look forward to seeing you all again in the summer.

Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
629 reviews
3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 20 in Doolin
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge, Doolin
The Lodge, Doolin
#30 of 56 in Doolin
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Inn & Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Hostel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Price Range: $69 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Doolin Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing