We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Doolin is a charming town with lots of options for lodging. I booked two nights here, solo. The owner Anthony could truly seem to care less when I checked in. Was an unpleasant way to start a stay alone somewhere. His wife was nice & another chap who worked there, too. Location is good & the bus stops right in front. Private room was okay, though no air flow unless stood on bed & opened a window. I'd recommend it for location & their cafe, which one does not need to stay there to enjoy sitting outside. However, when I return to Doolin, I'll be staying elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Brigantia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Brigantia

Thank you for your review although I am sorry to hear that I did not meet your expectations on arrival. I am sorry but I do not recollect our interaction last May, but I am glad the rest of your interactions at the hostel where positive and you enjoyed our Cafe.

If you are in the area again please do call in for a coffee as I would love to chat to you or if you wish to give us another chance please stay. We have a variety of different room types with different view and window sizes which I am sure we can accommodate your needs, plus we have added some more improvements since your last stay and will continue to add more in the future.

Warmest Regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 391 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband has stayed in hostels in Europe before but it was my first time and I was very pleasantly surprised! The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and spacious and the hostel itself was in a great location and had a lot of amenities. We were only able to stay 2 nights but I would definitely recommend this hostel and I would love to visit again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachchik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear BeachChick

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially as it was your first stay in a Hostel. Sorry to hear you could only stay two nights, but on the bright side you will know better for next time.

Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Unfortunately we had just one night in Doolin. If we had known how beautiful the hostel is, we would have planned on staying a few nights more!
Delicious coffee and pastries in the little cafe in the reception room. The kitchen (Beatles-CDs and so much more are provided) and the lounge are great! Also the owners and staff helped us out very patiently and were welcoming!
We will definitely come back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Kirk

Thank you for your praise and so happy to hear you enjoyed the hostel and our little cafe so much. Unfortunately your issue of only staying one night in Doolin is a common one as there is so much to see and do in and around our little village, at least for next time you will know better and we look forward to having you.

Kindest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of Rick Steves guidebook. We weren't sure what to expect. We found the hostel to be very clean and comfortable for our family of 4. The family room had 2 sets of bunk beds and a double. I was able to do some laundry. The tiny town of Doolin was to the left or right of us, comfortable walking distance to all the pubs. There were guests of all ages - but mostly young adults.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djholloway50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear DJ

Happy to hear we lived up to Rick Steves recommendation and that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much and found great comfort in one of our family rooms. Great to hear you enjoyed our little village of Doolin so much.

Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice place to spend three nights as we did (doubleroom). The location just off Fisher Street is great, but if you want to visit another pub than O'Connor's it's a 15 min walk. The rooms were nice and spacious with a comfortable bed. Big bathroom aswell, but the showers has no pressure at all. There's a cafe thats open every now and then and a nice seating area. The staff were very nice and helpful. We didn't try the breakfast. All in all a good hostel in an amazing town.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the shared bathrooms in the hallway as the walls are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinfb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Robin
Thank you for the feedback and happy to hear you had an amazing time in Doolin. I am sorry the pressure in the showers was weak, but I am happy to report that as of today all has been rectified.
Over the last 2 weeks and at great expense we have installed a new energy efficient heating and hot water system, which is bigger and stronger to deal with our growing demands. We have increased the pressure, zoned the plumbing, installed new highly efficient gas condensing boilers, added a highly insulated large hot water storage tank.

Plus we plumbed for Solar which in the coming year we will hopefully be able to add as we continuously reinvest in our property since taking it over two years ago and because we believe in trying to minimize our impact on our beautiful local environment.

In the living room we added a 8kw wood burning stove for those cool evenings to sit and relax after a long day of hiking over the Burren and Cliffs of Moher or the Aran Islands.

Warmest Regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a great time here. I stayed here with my boyfriend while on a trip around Ireland and we were so glad we chose to stay at Doolin Hostel. The location was perfect and we had a lovely double room with ensuite bathroom.
I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling along the west coast of Ireland and is looking for somewhere decent to stay at a very reasonable price. Anthony and Deirdre are excellent hosts and are always on hand to share their knowledge on the surrounding areas or make a superb cup of coffee. The other staff were super friendly too and gave us plenty of information about things to do in the area.
The hostel is within walking distance to Gus O'Connors pub and we took a stroll down there to find that pretty much the whole town was inside listening to the live traditional music!
Thanks to Anthony and Deirdre again for a wonderful stay - keep doing what you are doing because you are doing it right!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabreeze28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear SeaBreeze68

We much appreciate the compliments and thanks, it makes what we enjoy doing all the more worth while. I will pass your praise on to all the guys. Great to hear you had a wonderful time in O'Connors Pub which has live music nightly and a good mix of locals and tourists alike (especially on a Sunday night when the music starts at 6.30pm and goes on all night).

Hopefully we will get to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved this place. Was a little wary of staying in a hostel, but was pleasantly surprised. Room had double, and two bunks (for 6), and adjoining bathroom with water controlled shower. Clean and quiet. Cooking and laundry facilities, living room with lots of comfortable seating, and cafe available.
Highly recommend staying here.
Great value.

Room Tip: Connect with owner via email or phone to find the best room for you. Very accommodating and pleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AineUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and you and your family found great comfort and convenience with all our facilities. Thank you for your tip regarding contacting us directly if you have any special requirements or if what you are looking for does not seem to be available as we will do our best to help. Equally you can do this via our booking engine on our website as we have a comments section on the booking form and we will have you contact details to contact you for follow up if needed.

Thank you for your praise.
Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
628 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 20 in Doolin
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge, Doolin
The Lodge, Doolin
#28 of 56 in Doolin
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Inn & Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Hostel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Price Range: $67 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Doolin Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing