We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Best hostel we have ever stayed in. It was a Fabulous location for the area. the owners were friendly, helpful, and knowledgable about the area. The hostel was clean and warm and rooms were fitted with everything needed for hostel stay.
Recommend the doolin hostel highly.
Great home cooked food available at cafe!!!

Room Tip: Communicate with the owners when booking and they will ensure rooms meet your needs as much as possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was my first time staying in a hostel and I was really impressed. The hard work that the owner (Anthony) and his wife have put into this excellent hostel makes for a wonderfull inexpensive stay in the heart of West Clare.
The kitchen area was spotless and had all the appliances required if one wished to cook their own meals.
There was a lovely cafe there with great coffee, scones (to die for) and handy information on what not to miss in the area, all served up by people who seemed to be enjoying their job.

Frequently the place was checked which insured that at all times the living area was very clean.
I was with friends this time but I am looking forward to bringing my wife and children next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mocheolthu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony and Dei... M, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and praise, it is very much appreciated and gives us great pleasure in reading. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to your return with your family.

Kindest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Three of us rented the private suite. It comes with a queen size bed, two sets of bunk beds, and a private bath. The shower had wonderfully warm water and was spacious. The room was being renovated to have a wood floor which is a plus. Makes the place much easier to be clean. Each morning warm scones are ready with fresh fruit and cereal.

Anthony, the owner, works so hard to keep that place looking great and running well. Ample space for several groups and very good space for community to gather.

Highly recommend.

Navin R Johnson

Room Tip: Ask for the private suite if there are a few of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navin R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I booked Doolin hostel for a group of 8. We were on my brothers stag party, but this was made clear to the owner who accepted the booking a month prior to our arrival, and again 2 days before our arrival.
When we arrived at the hostel, the owner made one excuse after another, but one thing for sure is that he did not honour our booking and we were forced to look for alternative accommodation in Doolin on a busy Friday evening. Thankfully, we all managed (eventually) to secure accommodation which I have no doubt was far superior to said "hostel".

Be very careful when you book rooms in this hostel, the owner is not trustworthy and you could find yourself spending a few hours trying to find a bed to put your head on! And for everyone's information, our stag party did not destroy Doolin, in fact we had a great stay in the localitiy despite doolin hostel's attempts to ruin our well planned weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gaillimh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony and Dei... M, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

To Clarify the situation of refusal, it was unfortunate and not something taken lightly, plus a high financial cost to me for my decision which is a lot of money for a small family business.

1) As a policy we do not take stag parties or similar such parties and after this experience we will not be taking future stag or similar parties and will reserve our right to refuse admission if one is covertly booked under false pretenses or by a number of small individual bookings even after acceptance or payment.

2) The original booking was for 3 twin rooms (6 persons) it was only when a fourth twin room was asked for that I investigated and found out it was a Stag Party. But after a conversation with your brother I decided to take the booking as he assured me it was a set of older friends and we had an understanding that there would be no alcohol brought onto the premises, no parties would be held and the rooms where just for sleeping.

3) Doolin Hostel is easy to find and has ample car parking but on arrival your bus drove past the hostel to park 150 meters down the street – Why? To unload numerous cases of beer and other bottles of alcohol, which were then decanted and hidden into each group members luggage.

4) On arrival I refused you entry as you broke the agreement. I gave you a second chance by agreement if you gave up the cases of beer and bottles of alcohol which I would keep for the duration of your stay and you could take them home with you when leaving. On this agreement 2 x 6 packs of beer and 2 bottles of BuckFast where produced. Again you broke the agreement. Your excuse was it was the younger guys in your party did not understand and you had no control over them. If you couldn’t how was I supposed to guarantee the safety and comfort of my other guests.

5) I have a small family business and it is also my home for my family and children. We work hard and endeavor to give the best service possible as commented by many reviewers. But most importantly I will not accept any person who believes he/she has a right to hinder another guests experience as many guests have to save long and hard to pay for their holiday, which I see as a privilege that they choose to come stay with me to enjoy the local activities and sights.

6) To clarify for future guests, we will not be accepting stags or similar parties. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a comfortable hostel centrally located, with a nice coffee shop and a good breakfast then we are what you are looking for. If you are looking to drink an insane amount of alcohol and what to have a party back in the hostel, we are not the hostel for you and you will be asked to leave.

Kindest regards

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My friends and I were travelling all over Europe, we had stayed in lots of the big cities, and some small cities like Galway. After staying in Galway for a few nights, we decided on a whim to go to the cliffs of moher, and booked the cheapest hostel we could find. We had only been planning to stay two nights, but after the extremely friendly reception and welcoming employees we immediately booked three more. The location was great, the people were friendly, and the scones and coffee that we had the pleasure of eating every morning made the trip to Doolin most successful ventures of our journey.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoArwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Anthony is the hardest working man in Ireland!!! This guy is super friendly and takes great care of you during your stay...from complimentary coffee upon arrival to delicious sandwich for lunch! We asked for lettuce on our sandwiches and he went to go pick it for us! This hostel is super clean, well organized, and in a great location! We can not say enough great things about this place!! If you are staying in Doolin, STAY AT THE DOOLIN HOSTEL!!

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

There really is nothing to complain aboout. The location is good, the rooms, showers and toilets were very clean and the owner was extremely friendly. Also, the breaksfast, the kitchen and the free wi-fi were great.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
618 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
3.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 20 in Doolin
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Inn & Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Hostel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Price Range: $21 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Doolin Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing