We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed in Doolin with my Girlfriend last monday night..had nowhere booked so we tried this hostel...it was great...lovely guy offered us a double room...really helpful...totally recommend it!! BUT....stay well away from kevin o brien aran island ferries...total cowboy...horrible company

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianpurcell02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Ian

Thank you for your kind words and praise and glad to hear you had such a positive first experience of hosteling, as it is a great accommodatiion choice which offers more amentitiies, flexibility and atmosphere than many other accommodation providers. Plus we have a variety of room choices to suit all people from deluxe doubles, family rooms (4-6ppl), twins and singles all ensuite plus 6-8 bed dorm rooms. We also have the addition of our coffee shop, which has the best coffee in town and offers breakfast.

In regards your comments of Kevin O'Brien Ferries I am sorry you had such a poor experience, but you matbe happy to hear he has sold up and is no longer in operation. Leaving two other boat ferrry companies who you will find are professional in there operations.

I hope we may see you in the future again.
Kindest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 392 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

Anthony was a gracious host who welcomed my family with a smile and first rate room. We stayed in the family room and found everything in good order. He took time to help us familiarize ourselves with village and also share some wonderful stops for us as we toured the Burren. The price was more than fair for what we received and I would stay here again without hesitation. Doolin still has the charm and warmth of a village that cares for its guests. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseansDoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Doolin is a charming place, so it's only fitting that one stays in charming and friendly hostel as well. Doolin hostel (formerly known as paddy's) certainly delivers on this end!
We were three friends who were lucky enough to get a five bed room to ourselves. The rooms are nice, the little cantina/reception and the common room also gets thumbs up. The shower in our room was a bit annoying, but nowhere near enough to diminish our excellent experience of the hostel.

Oh, and the coffee also deserves an honorable mention :-)

If your out exploring the lovely Irish coast, stop here for a day, you won't regret it!

Thumbs up from Norway and Austria

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Roamingviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Hello Roaming Viking

Thank you for your kind review and great to hear you enjoyed yourself so much.

Since taking over the hostel in February 2012 we have completed alot of renovations including the addition of our coffee shop which provides breakfast. We have renovated a number of bathrooms including some new deluxe ones. Some bathrooms although clean and tidy will be remodel over the coming year. We endeavour to have the best hosteling experience possible to match our service and friendliness and will continue to reinvest in our hostel in the years to come.

We hope you enjoyed roaming the rest or Ireland as you did in Doolin.

Kindest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Doolin hostel was better than home - it was hard to leave! I ended up staying 4 nights instead of 1 or 2 as there was so much to do in the area and Anthony and Deirdre were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. It was great to have the cafe as well and I highly recommend the breakfast and coffee - a great deal and try the cherry almond scone! Both Anthony and Deirdre were able to provide lots of information on activities - just pick a direction: the Cliffs of Moher to the south, the Aran Islands to the west, and the Burren and Doolin cave to the north and east. This was a great way to complete my solo cycling tour of the southwest coast of Ireland!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and we had an entire room (complete with 4 beds) to ourselves. It has been a couple years since we went, but I know that it was very affordable and we had our own bathroom. We hadn't stayed at any other hostels on our trip so didn't have towels, but the manager happily gave us 2 towels for our stay. We also had a delicious breakfast, he had freshly baked scones and some locally made jam. He even wrote us out a map so we could hike to the cliffs of Moher instead of take a bus. We took the bus back however, and per his instructions, politely asked if the bus driver could stop at our hostel for 2 minutes so we could pick up our luggage and then continue on the bus out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkercrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

good hostel experience,Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank brandon456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have used this hostel for many years and we like the atmosphere. It is not too cramped.
It is very comfortable and warm. Nice lounge where you can watch TV. Staff more than helpful. Ideal for student groups.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IStephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony and Dei... M, Owner at Doolin Inn & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Dear IStephano

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. Just to keep you updated on what we have done over the number of months to improve our hostel. My wife and I have returned home to take over the family business from my father Paddy, after many years of hotel management both in Ireland and Internationally.

We have renovated the hostel by adding new dormer windows to all the bedrooms which have enlarged the rooms giving more space and beautiful views looking down the village, the surrounding countryside and out to Sea. We have also added some new ensuite rooms, and will continue to do more of these over the next couple of seasons. We now have a variety of Double, Twin, Family, 4 bed privates ensuite as well as 6-8 bed dorms. For groups we will be able to cater for group meals and have seperate facilities available to them if required.

A new addition to the hostel this month is a Coffee Shop with fully trained Barristtas, a Deli/Grocery store. And we are also working on improving other facilities such as a drying room and outdoor washing area for activity equipment, bike and equipment storage such as surf boards and kayaks. And an outdoor terrace area + gardens.

All in all on your next visit you will see a number of improvements as we will be continuely increasing the quality and variety of amenities we have to offer as it is our goal to have a very high quality hosteling experience for many years to come.

Kindest Regards
Anthony Moloney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
629 reviews
3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 20 in Doolin
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge, Doolin
The Lodge, Doolin
#28 of 56 in Doolin
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Inn & Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Hostel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Price Range: $67 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Doolin Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing