We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cutest hostel”
Review of Aille River Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aille River Hostel
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Clean
Very beautiful (with its little garden and river)
Comfortable matresses
Well equiped kitchen
Hot showers
Karl is like the nicest guy, always bery busy but eager to help you.

Could have stayed a whole week!

Even months after staying in this hostel, I still consider it as number 1. And believe me, I have seen +30 hostels, from Ireland to Germany, from England to Spain!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabititou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 305 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

A lovely stone cottage right on the banks of the river Aille, complete with cosy fire-warmed common room and an expansive kitchen to potter about in. This hostel has all the right energy and seems to attract the right sorts of travellers too! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and had real opportunity to unwind and get to know the town, surrounding scenery and resident feline. One of the most chilled out and ambiant hostels i've been to. Walking distance to all the music filled pubs, it's a perfect choice for Doolin nightlife. Free washing machine and 1.50Euro breakfasts are a bonus. The mattresses were a bit on the springy-side and reminded me a bit of school camp... but that wouldn't stop me from booking to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the river, it's lovely to listen to the water as you drift off to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsycaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hostel is situated in a cozy, beautiful stone building. The staff is friendly and the facilities are good - they have a computer, a washing machine and a dryer, and the common room is equipped with a stove (which is great after getting soaked with rain :)). The kitchen is big and well-equipped, so you can cook comfortably.
The room was a bit small, but good for our needs, and even though there were only two bathrooms+showers on our floor, we never had to wait to long to get in.
The hostel is situated just across a pub, so you can go there and enjoy the food and the traditional music.
It's a great place to stay in if you're in Doolin.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved the friendliness of the staff, helping us to find a great place for dinner, as well as providing great breakfast options: 1.5 Euro for toast and eggs! There were some other visitors and everyone was friendly and shared what they brought. I coulnd't believe what a great community they have there. Plus, we loved our room! So cozy! There is also a free common-use computer with internet, as well as free laundry services! Amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voelker126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This beautiful stone building stands on the river ailee right in the centre, if it had one, of Doolin.
Lovely layout and while the room we had was small and lacking in elec points, it was more than adequate for our needs. Cosy fireside communal area and well equipped kitchen. Stevie was welcoming and chatty and recommended McDermott's who serve wonderful food in half servings so is a great budget option. Our american neighbours next door were snorey so def bring ear plugs if you like your sleep. Steep steps so requires a little bit of puff.

Lots to do in Doolin, its not all about the Matchmaking Festival in September. ;o)
Will def be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Aille River has a big, well equipped and comfortable kitchen, so you can cook what you like.
The staff is friendly and helpful as other people wrote.
Location is excellen, in the middle of Doolin.
In the evenings, you can just step to the pub on the other side of the road, and enjoy traditional music.

Room Tip: As a couple, we chose the private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erez R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's my 3rd time at Aille river & it just gets better, the staff are friendly & helpful, it has that 'home from home' feel, well worth a visit, but book early & don't forget to bring supplies with you if you're not travelling by car as shopping for groceries is limited, I love the place & the pubs are great! As well as the scenery!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cancheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Doolin Inn & Hostel
#1 of 20 in Doolin
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 56 in Doolin
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aille River Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aille River Hostel

Address: Ocean Road, Doolin -, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Doolin
Price Range: $21 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aille River Hostel is a 300-year-old cottage lovingly renovated to retain its old world charm while offering modern comforts for our friends and guests. Located by the banks of the Aille River, the Aille River Hostel is a quiet oasis right in the centre of Doolin. Voted Best Hostel in Ireland in 2009 by IHH customers and Number 1 Hostel in Ireland in 2008 by Hostel World customers, Aille River hostel is recommended by the Lonely Planet travel guides as “The best of the bunch” and has been given the Thumbs Up by Let’s Go travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aille River Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing