We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2007

A nice, comfortable B & B -- we stayed in one of the back rooms with a view of the river, and I'd recommend asking for one of them if you can. The restaurant was closed the Sunday night we were there, but breakfast was delicious. The room was modern and comfortable. If we were going to go back, I might have checked out the Aran View Hotel, which looked like it had a lot of character and great views. But Cullinan's is a fine place to stay -- nothing too memorable, but comfy and reliable.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 412 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2007

Booked here based on listing in Fodor's. Smart decision.

Bedroom clean, neat and well appointed. Natural wood everywhere. Fine toiletries and soaps in the bathroom.

Dinner is both a la carte and table d'hote, with an "early bird" dining option. Food is outstanding. Well prepared and nicely presented. The breakfast menu offers several choices, including the usual "Irish breakfast" and some totally yummy pancakes (always a treat for an American).

You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gallatin-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed at Cullinans in Doolin on our last night touring the West Coast. Our smallish (clean and fully equipped) room overlooked the road opposite a newly built hotel, restaurant and bar. The better rooms are I assume in the annexe overlooking the river at the back of the guesthouse. We had dinner in Cullinans which was presented in a 'cheffy' way with possibly too many ingredients in each dish. The dining tables are also very close together - however it is a pleasant room and some may enjoy the 'buzz' of a busy restaurant. Again it was very crowded at breakfast.

Doolin is worth a visit for the cliffs, the opportunity to take a ferry to the Aran Islands and the music in various bars but it is very touristy, crowded and not as scenic as other places on the west coast.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Just spent a lovely wkend in Doolin. Booked last minute but so happy that Cullinans had a room available for the fri nite! Perfectly ideal location, large room was spotlessly clean, dinner was of an extremely high standard with pleasant staff and a good wine selection. Will definitely be back b4 the summer is out. Doolin is one of those magical places where you can spend a couple of days and feel like you've been away for a week!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alidickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

We were disappointed in our experience at Cullinan’s and it didn’t live up to our expectations after reading the reviews here. We stayed two nights in May 2007. The B&B is located in between the upper and lower parts of Doolin. It is across from a new and modern hotel/shopping development, a ways down the street from the older, more charming parts of Doolin. It’s about a 10 minute walk to the pubs—if it’s raining or dark you may prefer to drive. There is generally parking to be found near the pubs.

The entryway and restaurant spaces at Cullinan’s are lovely and light, but our room (on the second floor in the main building) was quite generic: high traffic carpets, bland bedding, nothing really special about it. It just lacked personality and was not as nice as the photos on the website. The room was certainly a good size, as was the bathroom, and everything was clean. We just didn’t find it very aesthetically appealing, especially given the pretty downstairs areas. Our bedroom window had a view of the street and the bathroom window looked out over the back storage area and trash cans. There was no television in the room, just in a common room down the hall. There was also no internet at the B&B. You can find internet at the Doolin Activity Center down the road. These things were not a problem for us, just FYI.

Our big disappointment at Cullinan’s was the absence of the owners and the terrible service in the restaurant. As mentioned in previous comments, the owners seemed completely focused on running a restaurant, not a B&B. We met Carol Cullinan when we checked into the B&B and saw her at breakfast briefly, and while she was very cordial she wasn’t really around to chit chat, make suggestions or answer questions. We never met Mr. Cullinan. After staying in some very warm and special B&Bs on our trip, this one was really missing that personal quality.

We booked dinner at the restaurant our first night there, having heard that the food was wonderful. The food was good, but the service was awful. I don’t know who the young woman is that they have working in the dining room, but they’ve got to find someone more personable to wait tables. She was so standoffish and cold—you got the impression that she hated her job, or you, or both. We were really taken aback by it. She also served us at breakfast and we got the same frosty reception then. It made the experience uncomfortable. We did love the lemon honey pancakes served at breakfast, though. Between the plain accommodation and the lack of staff warmth, we just didn’t get a good vibe here. We would look for a different B&B if returning to Doolin.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2007

Stayed here for one night. Our room was simple, comfortable and clean - nice view of the river and countryside. I would second the earlier comment that the owners seem focused on the restaurant. But the restaurant is superb! Far and away one of the best dinners we had in 16 days in Ireland (and we had uniformly very good dinners). Having said that, however, the owners were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints. The breakfast, of course, was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Donna B. Rhode Island

We stayed here during Easter weekend and throughly enjoyed the accomdations , the rooms are small but attractively furnished and very clean, We had a lovely view of a small river and some small farms on the other side. The food served in the dining room was delicious and the service was excellent. Our hosts Carol and James were very gracious and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. Doolin is a lovely area to visit and Cullinan's is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DB.NorthKingstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
618 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan's Guesthouse

Address: Crossroads of R 479, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $104 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Doolin, Co. Clare, we offer first class accommodation and exceptional cuisine in an idyllic setting overlooking the Aille river.Accredited Best Restaurant Award 2007, Michele Erdvig restaurant of the year award and RAC dining award. Highly recommended by Michelin, Frommers, Fodors, Bridgestone and Georgina Campbell. Some attractions in the area include the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands, not forgetting the traditional Irish music in the local pubs nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cullinan's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullinan`s Guesthouse Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing