We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant owner and nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant owner and nice rooms”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Cullinan's the night before heading to the Cliff's of Moher. Our room was clean and comfortable. We booked a trip to see the Cliffs by boat, but needed to confirm with the company due to the weather. We couldn't get through and the owner took care of it. She called the company and informed us that our trip was cancelled due to weather and made sure our money was reimbursed. The breakfast was the best we'd had during our Ireland visit. The omelet was simple but the stewed tomatoes are what made it. The view from the dining room is gorgeous as you overlook the garden and the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    61
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
79
190
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlegregory, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

we arrived just last minute and were welcomed in. lovely room for all 4 of us clean and friendly lovely breakfast over looking a lovely river scene. Doolin's a great place to stay thank you
i did the coast walk while the boys went out surfing great family location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 583Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After hours of driving and finally arriving in Doolin in the dark, the three traveling sisters were warmly welcomed by James who showed us our spacious bedroom. Great location right by the road to the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. James gave us recommendations for dinner (their restaurant was closed until St. Patrick's Day) and music. There were several pubs within a short walk but because the evening weather was much more than our soft Irish day, we walked across the road to Fitz's. After an excellent meal there, music, a hen party for a bride to be (great fun) and a few pints, we were happy to have the short walk back!
At breakfast we met Carol, and we were totally unprepared for the amazing view from the dining room, something we had not seen the night before. Our breakfast was excellent and graciously served by their daughter. After a wonderful stay and a nice chat with Carol, we were off to the Burren and Cliffs of Moher.
I would definitely return to Cullinan's.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverBirch1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our 3 night stay at Cullinan's exceeded our expectations. We arrived late but were able to enjoy the last night of the famous Russel Weekend at O'Connors Pub, our introduction to traditional Irish music. Carol and James are themselves noted musicians and their B&B reflects that. Carol was extremely warm and welcoming. We missed James renowned cuisine because the restaurant was closed until St. Patrick's Day. But the delicious breakfast in their beautiful room with a killer view was compensation, as were meals at Fitzpatrick's Bar just opposite the B&B. Our room (Nr. 6) on the ground floor was comfortable, as was the bed. This room has no view but makes up for that with a large new bathroom. Overall very good value and good location for visiting the Burren. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Travelers with lots of heavy luggage will prefer rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heideross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this guesthouse when driving into Doolin without any reservations. The location was perfectly set in the middle of town. We were within walking distance to restaurants, pubs and shopping. Our hostess was lovely and gave us great recommendations of where to find music. She let us leave our bags while we went on our adventure to the Cliffs of Moher which are only about 15 minutes away. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tclichti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed for a few days in June 2011 with my brother, parents and grandparents and had a lovely time! We had two comfortable rooms, fell asleep to the Irish music drifting over from the bar across the street. Breakfast was great every morning, and we were able to enjoy dinner there as well! Carol and James were more than willing to accommodate my dairy allergy, which is sometimes hard to find. Hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a great find on a cold, wet and windy night... travelling to the Cliffs of Moher. Carol and James were wonderful. Carol a great hostess and James a great chef. Rooms were spacious, clean and warm. Carol even put the fireplace on for us. Breakfast was the best breakfast we had had in weeks. So was the steak Carol recommended from Fitz's pub across the road. Ensuite facilities were modern and very clean. The location was very convenient to the cliffs. We wished we had more time to stay there. Thanks Carol and James for our wonderful stay at your welcoming guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernadetteC2013-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan's Guesthouse

Property: Cullinan's Guesthouse
Address: Crossroads of R 479, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Doolin, Co. Clare, we offer first class accommodation and exceptional cuisine in an idyllic setting overlooking the Aille river.Accredited Best Restaurant Award 2007, Michele Erdvig restaurant of the year award and RAC dining award. Highly recommended by Michelin, Frommers, Fodors, Bridgestone and Georgina Campbell. Some attractions in the area include the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands, not forgetting the traditional Irish music in the local pubs nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cullinan's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullinan`s Guesthouse Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing