We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cullinan's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

After hours of driving and finally arriving in Doolin in the dark, the three traveling sisters were warmly welcomed by James who showed us our spacious bedroom. Great location right by the road to the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. James gave us recommendations for dinner (their restaurant was closed until St. Patrick's Day) and music. There were several pubs within a short walk but because the evening weather was much more than our soft Irish day, we walked across the road to Fitz's. After an excellent meal there, music, a hen party for a bride to be (great fun) and a few pints, we were happy to have the short walk back!
At breakfast we met Carol, and we were totally unprepared for the amazing view from the dining room, something we had not seen the night before. Our breakfast was excellent and graciously served by their daughter. After a wonderful stay and a nice chat with Carol, we were off to the Burren and Cliffs of Moher.
I would definitely return to Cullinan's.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverBirch1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    59
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
176
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our 3 night stay at Cullinan's exceeded our expectations. We arrived late but were able to enjoy the last night of the famous Russel Weekend at O'Connors Pub, our introduction to traditional Irish music. Carol and James are themselves noted musicians and their B&B reflects that. Carol was extremely warm and welcoming. We missed James renowned cuisine because the restaurant was closed until St. Patrick's Day. But the delicious breakfast in their beautiful room with a killer view was compensation, as were meals at Fitzpatrick's Bar just opposite the B&B. Our room (Nr. 6) on the ground floor was comfortable, as was the bed. This room has no view but makes up for that with a large new bathroom. Overall very good value and good location for visiting the Burren. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Travelers with lots of heavy luggage will prefer rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heideross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this guesthouse when driving into Doolin without any reservations. The location was perfectly set in the middle of town. We were within walking distance to restaurants, pubs and shopping. Our hostess was lovely and gave us great recommendations of where to find music. She let us leave our bags while we went on our adventure to the Cliffs of Moher which are only about 15 minutes away. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tclichti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed for a few days in June 2011 with my brother, parents and grandparents and had a lovely time! We had two comfortable rooms, fell asleep to the Irish music drifting over from the bar across the street. Breakfast was great every morning, and we were able to enjoy dinner there as well! Carol and James were more than willing to accommodate my dairy allergy, which is sometimes hard to find. Hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a great find on a cold, wet and windy night... travelling to the Cliffs of Moher. Carol and James were wonderful. Carol a great hostess and James a great chef. Rooms were spacious, clean and warm. Carol even put the fireplace on for us. Breakfast was the best breakfast we had had in weeks. So was the steak Carol recommended from Fitz's pub across the road. Ensuite facilities were modern and very clean. The location was very convenient to the cliffs. We wished we had more time to stay there. Thanks Carol and James for our wonderful stay at your welcoming guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernadetteC2013-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

we had a great room, great hospitality, delicious food, right on the center of town, great bars across the street, free parking and free WiFi. very much recommended, THE place to stay-in in Doolin!
Carol, you are amazing! we cant wait to come back and taste your husband's delicious Pancake :)

Room Tip: don't miss it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vital d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked three nights with James and Carol at the suggestion of a close friend (originally from Ireland) who had stayed with them on a trip back to her "homeland." Upon returning to the States we thanked her "profusely" for her advice. The B&B's location is close to many of the well known west coast sights (Cliffs of Moher and Arian Islands) as well as some off the beaten path. The accommodations were very comfortable and the service (particularly attention to detail) were outstanding. The dining room setting was truly picturesque and the breakfasts' excellent. This B&B truly deserves a 5-star rating!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.6 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan's Guesthouse

Property: Cullinan's Guesthouse
Address: Crossroads of R 479, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Doolin, Co. Clare, we offer first class accommodation and exceptional cuisine in an idyllic setting overlooking the Aille river.Accredited Best Restaurant Award 2007, Michele Erdvig restaurant of the year award and RAC dining award. Highly recommended by Michelin, Frommers, Fodors, Bridgestone and Georgina Campbell. Some attractions in the area include the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands, not forgetting the traditional Irish music in the local pubs nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cullinan's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullinan`s Guesthouse Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing