We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best place to stay in Doolin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cullinan's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Probably the best place to stay in Doolin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Wow, what can I say. Cullinan's deserves 5 stars for everything.

We booked ourselves into the guest house for a one night stay whilst on a small road trip in Ireland and what a fantastic place it is to stay.
The owners are both very friendly and helpful. We initially had a little drive up and down the village to get our bearings and it soon became apparent that Cullinan's is situated in the perfect spot. It is virtually an equal distance to O'Connors pub on one side of the village and then on the other side McGann's and McDermotts....both are in easy walking distance.
Cullinan's is also directly opposite The Doolin Hotel - all I can say is why pay the hotels when you can pay much less here and be in a friendly environment.

The guest house is located right on the river and we were lucky enough to have a room overlooking it. With large glass windows the view was truly spectacular and an absolute pleasure to wake up to. The bed was a memory foam mattress which was very comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed with a superb power shower. there was also free wifi available.

Breakfast - wow. With a good choice for from pancakes and omelettes to a full Irish breakfast - to us there was only one thing for it - Irish breakfast all the way and it was absolutely gorgeous.

The following day we went to Galway and we just wished that we were still in Doolin. We will be back to Doolin (hopefully this year) and will definitely be staying here.

First class all the way. Many many thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkigManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    59
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
176
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Paul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our group of ten people recently returned home to the US after touring Ireland (March 2012). One of our best evenings of the trip was spend at Cullinans Guesthouse. A nice location, great rooms and very helpful and friendly staff. When a group of ten plus our tour driver decend on a guesthouse and all with different room requests it can get stressful but the staff at Cullinans was great. Close to the Cliffs of Moher and other sights. We ate across the street at the pub and had great food and Irish music. Breakfast in the morning at the guesthouse in the lovely sunroom was a beautiful setting and the food was also great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StPaulgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great B&B with a phenomenal breakfast, and a warm welcome from the Cullinans. We were sad that James was not cooking that night (they are very seasonal, so only start the restaurant after Easter, I think) ... but it was a lovely and comfortable port in a windswept and rainy Burren. Loved staying here and look forward to revisiting when the season is in full swing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldFoodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

My son and I stayed here in March2011 for several days.We wanted to be traditional Irish music and to do some hiking.We were happy with the accomadations,fabulous breakfast and location. it is very close to then Burren and Cliffs of Moher.Go hiking the Burren right by the water from here.Also,very close to the pubs for nightly music.Unfortunately,the restaurant was closed for dinner.if you love hiking and music and a great value,this is a terrific place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys4412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Passing through Doolin on a road trip around the west of Ireland we were surprised that most lodging options were closed for the holiday season. We rang the bell at Cullinan's and they rushed right over to show us the room. Clean, new, quiet, and with gorgeous views of the river out back! There is plenty of parking, unfortunately their restaurant was closed, (would have loved to try their seafood) but their suggestion of bar across the street was a great choice for dinner. Breakfast was lovely and I would absolutely stay again if I return to Doolin.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Cullinan's Guesthouse at the suggestion of a fiddler friend who raved about the rooms, the food and the hosts. We were SO glad we listened to the advice! James & Carol have a very special place and a very special knack for hospitality. Our room on the first floor had a view of the river, and was adjacent to the sitting room - it was almost like having our own living room! Carol gave us directions to walk into town for some great Irish music, and the star-filled night sky lit our way home. On the second night, we were glad the house was so sturdy - the wind howled, and a lashing rain made it all the cozier inside with the turf fire glowing in the fireplace. Lucky for us, their AMAZING restaurant was open for dinner so we didn't even venture outside. We had the BEST dinner of our trip - all fresh, excellent and expertly prepared and presented. Did I mention the wonderful breakfasts? They were!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I took a 10 day trip around Ireland back in October 2009, and literally went all over the place. This is a late review as I was not a Trip Advisor user at the time. Doolin and the Cullinan's Guesthouse stuck with me so much that even 2 years later I feel obligated to give it the great review it deserves. Doolin was a random stop for the night near the burren and the Cliffs of Moher. It had a nice review in our Lonely Planet guide known as a place of music. We stayed at Cullinan's Guesthouse, again randomly picked from our guidebook, and we were blown away. So much so, that we decided to spend a second night. The room was modern, clean and comfortable, the owners more than willing to help when asked. One of the highlights for me...the breakfast. They offered these amazing pancakes with a honey-type syrup. THe pancakes alone were worth the extra night. We ate dinner there one night and it was also excellent with great service. From the hotel it's a lovely walk to O'Connor's pub (10 min), known for it's spontaneous Trad music. We went there both nights, just walking from the guesthouse, and it was an experience I'll never forget. The music was really amazing and really felt casual. Anyone who loves Irish music, will love this experience. Full marks for Cullinan's Guesthouse, and full marks for Doolin! i definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindhi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan's Guesthouse

Property: Cullinan's Guesthouse
Address: Crossroads of R 479, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Doolin, Co. Clare, we offer first class accommodation and exceptional cuisine in an idyllic setting overlooking the Aille river.Accredited Best Restaurant Award 2007, Michele Erdvig restaurant of the year award and RAC dining award. Highly recommended by Michelin, Frommers, Fodors, Bridgestone and Georgina Campbell. Some attractions in the area include the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands, not forgetting the traditional Irish music in the local pubs nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cullinan's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullinan`s Guesthouse Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing