We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Irish holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room at Gentian Cottage with ocean views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room at Gentian Cottage with ocean views
Sun room with ocean view
Kitchen dining room
fully equipped
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Living room at Gentian Cottage with ocean views
Sun room with ocean view
Kitchen dining room
fully equipped
Large bright living room
Real peat fire
Homemade scones
Open plan kitchen living and dining room
living room
Modern kitchen with dishwasher, fridge freezer, sterio, coffee maker, electric oven and Microwave
A cuppa Tea with your name on it.....
Ground floor full bathroom just off kitchen area
Front entrance hall way where a warm welcome awaites....
Ground floor bedroom with Super King size bed ensuite
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor ensuite with shower
Ground floor ensuite shower
First floor bedroom with a Super King size bed ensuite with shower
First floor bedroom with Super King size bed ensuite with shower
First floor ensuite shower
Family bedroom ensuite with full bathroom and a Super king size bed and a queen size bed
First floor family bedroom dressing table and wardrobe
First floor family bedroom with comfortable beds
Moooove on.................
First floor Family ensuite full bathroom with Jett tub
Bright airy stairway
Parking for 3 cars
Gentian Cottage
Ballinalacken Castle ... a complimentary tour awaites
Sunset at Gentian Cottage
Amazing sunset from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
tradeitno...
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Irish holiday”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, two daughters and I made our first trip ever to Ireland in June. What a wonderful experience! The Gentian Cottage was the perfect home away from home. The house is so beautiful, more than we ever dreamed of, so spacious and tastefully designed with all modern conveniences. Our host, Ann, was so helpful and so fun loving. Having an ancient castle with an adorable white horse grazing quietly next door was a delight; especially the private tour of the castle! And it was close to the Cliffs and the Burren, not to mention the quaint little villages just waiting to be explored. Our Irish experience at the Gentian Cottage was a dream of a lifetime. Ann is the perfect ambassador of her lovely country. We can't wait to connect again soon!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary F
Charleville, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday home”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this property. Beautiful home with everything you could need in it. Great location for touring. There were 8 of us staying in the house and we had lots of space. Looking out at the Aran islands at night time was the highlight for me. Ideal place if you need a nice relaxing break. Can't wait to go back there.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paudles
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We would highly recommend this property. It was even better than we could imagine.
Great location and so close to Doolin and lisdoonvarna. Ann was so nice, we had a private tour of the castle. She made our holiday very special. She gave us loads of ideas of things to do in the area , and great restaurants to visit.
There are amazing trails on the doorstep. We hiked to Fanore from the house through the burren, fabulous experience and great views.
Our stay was so good, we are already planning our return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of cottage
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B
1 review
“Stunning views and excellent location.”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

There were 5 of us staying at the Gentian Cottage for 10 days. From the day we arrived to the day we left it was absolutely outstanding. Ann was so friendly and helpful throughout our whole stay along with a giving us a private tour of the castle near by. I 100% would recommend a stay here and I will absolutely be back in the future and will only stay here. Watching the sun set over the Aran Islands from the front yard enjoying a local beer with my family was outstanding.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare H
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, fabulous location”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Gentian cottage really is a fantastic holiday let - spacious, very well-equipped, with a lovely sun-room, a homely open-fire and picture-postcard views over the Atlantic. I particularly loved sitting in the front garden each evening watching the sun setting over the Aran islands. The owners live nearby and couldn't have been more helpful with our queries. There was also a welcome pack of food and a very useful file of local information and contacts. There's also a good range of fiction and Ireland travelbooks which have maybe been donated by previous holidaymakers.

The location is perfect as a base to explore county Clare, and there's plenty of day-trip activities within a 10-15 mile radius. Would especially recommend a boat trip around the cliffs of Moher (from Doolin quay) and a guided walk of the Burren (info from Burren centre at Kilnefora). Also Doolin cave which has one of the longest stalactites in the world, and is a couple of minutes drive from the cottage. Gentian cottage is also in a perfect location for walkers, as the Burren trail is just up the road.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time in county Clare and highly recommend Gentian cottage as the ideal place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from house over Atlantic
Liked least: Hot water system took some getting used to.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTISITE
Bershires, Massachusetts
1 review
“Gentian Cottage is a tonic for one's heart and soul.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The charm of Gentian Cottage is only outdone by the kindness & warmth of the
O Callaghans themselves! Ann & Colin are truly a wonderful couple who just can not do enough for you. The cottage is so well kept, tidy & clean, with everything you might need at hand. There is nothing to want for...except for perhaps more time to be there! The views are amazing! The cows and sheep out the kitchen window make you smile. The sunsets beautiful. The location of the cottage is fantastic! County Clare's beautiful countryside is breathtaking. Doolin is only a moment away. The Burren is wild & free! And Shannon Airport is not far. We have no doubts that Gentian Cottage will once again call to us and we shall return to this charming haven to enjoy the beauty & peace of Ireland. Thank you Ann & Colin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location & the O Callaghans!
Liked least: There was nothing...except that we only had one week to stay.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissElle2...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“beautiful, cozy cottage, amazing view, a perfect hideaway”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We spent two entire months (February and March) in Gentian Cottage and wouldn't hesitate to repeat this any time. The whole house is furnished with love for detail, the kitchen isn't missing anything you can imagine. Families travelling with little children even find a nice baby cod, highchair, playpen, lots of toys and stair gates. One of the top highlights definitely is the marvellous view out of the bedrooms as well as the winter garden which includes the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the Burren landscape.
Ann and Colin, the owners, are wonderful hosts who'll help you with everything and any question that might occur, no matter if it is regarding the house, the fireplace, shopping directions, information about the surroundings or the schedule of all St.Patrick's Day Parades :) Ann offered us to mind our little one-year-old boy so that we were able to enjoy Doolin's Pubs (all 4 of them are great) not only during daytime. Her husband Colin even picked us up late at night. Their explanation for this more than just generous offer: They, parents of three children themselves, know what it means to have a 'free' evening from time to time :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing