We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice charge from pub food”

The Riverside Bistro
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A nice charge from pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Doolin. It is well known for its music and it is a well earned reputation. If you are looking to get away from traditional pub food then you will not be disappointed with this bistro. There is a set menu and some evenings have specials. We enjoyed it so much we went back another night. I enjoyed the special, fish stir fry, the first night so she offered to make for my husband the second time we were there even though there were no specials that night. That's service. We indulged in the chicken curry and a delicious duck in an orange sauce. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice change from all the fish I was eating since our arrival to Ireland. All the dishes were freshly prepared and full of flavour.
We were very delighted to be entertained by Rita and her mandolin after supper our second night. Audience participation was welcomed. In no time we were all singing along.
This is a very small intimate setting. You get to talk to the owner, the entertainer and the few other patrons. We were so happy to end our experience in Doolin on such a positive note.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    30
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice alternative to pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This wonderful place redeemed our evening. We got into Doolin around 9:00 and had a terrible time finding at table at any pub. We walked into three different pubs where no one greeted us and there were no empty tables. Finally, we found this lovely place and walked in. We were immediately greeted with a friendly hello. We had our choice of tables and seated ourselves facing the fireplace. We shared an entree of baked salmon in a mushroom leek white wine sauce. The salmon was delicious as was the sauce. The presentation was beautiful and the steamed vegetables that accompanied it were fresh and wonderful. For dessert we enjoyed baileys cheese cake that was light and delicious and not too sweet. The service was great. I definitely recommend this bistro.

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good indeed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

The reviews are correct. Wonderful little find. Food well prepared and beautiful presentation, service was impeccable. If you want a change from pub grub,this is the place..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Venue for a Gathering!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I recently brought 15 girls to the Riverside Bistro for a meal and I cannot say enough about the place! In the run-up to the weekend (we were on a Hen!) Olive was beyond helpful, even going as far as organizing transport for us as I was finding it a little difficult when I knew so little about the place. She really went out of her way offering advice and tips for the weekend as a whole!
The food was fabulous, everything was piping hot which isn't always the case when bigger groups go for a meal, but absolutely not an issue here!
The staff on the day were lovely too, very helpful and brought our teas and coffees outside to us when we were taking in the sunshine after the meal- they seemed to remember what everyone ordered individually! :)
I'd definitely recommend the place, the service and food were fantastic from start to finish!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pud_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Turned up here because we didn't want to share the pub with the lads who were watching the football. Warmly greeted by our waitperson Christopher. Garlic mushrooms & stuffed potato for starters then I had honey roasted duck (lovely) & my wife had the salmon - again wonderful. It's a family run restaurant & the friendliness shows. Good wines & ales and Rita played the mandolin for us which was a treat. Heartily recommend it for food, drink & ambience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CQSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Riverside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing