We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Moloney House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moloney House
Ranked #27 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Castle
Level Contributor
196 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Although we never got a sense of the town in Doolin, Doonmacfelim House is a great central location. You can walk to pubs and stores and it's only a few miles to the pier for the ferries to the Aran Islands. Our host was responsive and accommodating, the accommodations were good and the same goes for the breakfasts. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubird487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
42
49
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Frank was a very gracious host when we spent our one night there - he got out the good wine glasses when we wanted a drink before hitting the pubs, The rooms were very comfortable, as was the sitting room. Breakfast was wonderful - my lox was so god I regretted having a big bowl of cereal!
The area is very scenic and close to a boat tour of the Cliffs of Moher.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Doonmacfelim guest house for 8 days and we spent one of the best holidays!
As the emotional expression is not too informative for readers let’s move to constructive way
The location of Doonmacfelim is very good. It’s in the middle of the village very close to walk to the pubs and at the same time the distance is enough for don’t be disturbed by buzzing.
It’s very close to the bus stop as well. It’s about 20 minutes walking to the ferries to Aran islands and at the beginning of the walking passes to Cliffs of Moher or the Burren way and the way to Doolin Cave.
If you like walking of course If not there is a convenient parking place in Doonmacfelim.
As for the rooms they are cozy clean and comfortable enough. I’ll not describe what is in the room, sure you have already seen it, but I can say there were everything from the list and everything worked properly.
The interiors, the garden, simple and tasteful breakfasts in a lovely dining room and a homey sitting room gave us feelling like we were at lovely country house of our good friends or parents not in a hotel.
As for breakfast we have enough time to taste all the breakfast menu and we would recommend each position, it just depends on what you like most eggs or cheese or porridge.
Our special thanks to Frank, the owner of Doonmacfelim house. He is always busy-busy however he finds time to help, to advise or just to say a joke to all the guest.
Frank is a very good owner, cordial, hospitable and merry, so the house is managed well.
We’ll come back at the first opportunity at this loveliest place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galina298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in the family room which was clean, large, and perfect for the four of us. There was plenty of parking, it was centrally located, and easy to walk to all the pubs. Our host Frank was very accommodating and we were very grateful for his help with a minor car mirror repair. (Thanks Frank, it held up for the entire trip!)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here in April with three children, well teens! Had very warm greeting by Frank when we arrived. Quick check in and show to our rooms. Spotless rooms and especially bathroom (which is very important to me)! After getting settled Frank gave us some ideas of what teens might enjoy doing in the area, Cliffs of Moher of course! A real hit was the Doolin Caves! Beds were comfy, rooms comfortable and a fabulous, HUGE Irish breakfast! Very pleased and very convenient for walking to pubs and shops! Check out the fudge at Doolin Choc Shop....best ever! Say hello to Noreen the proprietor and ask for a sample! Delish!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passports_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great house in a great little town. Frank did a great job with everything. It is very convenient to walk to the pubs in Dingle, where we heard great traditional music. Room was very nice and clean. We would definitely stay there again on our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed 2 nights there with my wife and it was so nice place, so clean, amazing view, feel full privacy, great location near to the port and the owner frank is so nice man and honest i forgot my book there and he followed us by his car to the bus station to give it to me, the food was so nice and when you stay there you can see smell the real Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.6 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Killilagh House
Killilagh House
#39 of 53 in Doolin
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 17 in Doolin
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moloney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moloney House

Property: Moloney House
Address: Doonmacfelim, Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moloney House is a 25-year-old purpose built bed and breakfast in the heart of Doolin. The home is situated on a 50-acre beef suckler family farm and overlooks the 500-year-old ruins of Doonmacfelim Castle to the rear of the home across the Aille River. There are six en-suite guestrooms and a comprehensive made-to-order breakfast menu is served every morning. The home is a 5-10 minutes walk from pubs, restaurants and shops. It is only a 5 minute walk to the start of the coastal trail that takes you to the Cliffs of Moher (approximately an 90 minute walk). It is a 20 minute walk to the Doolin Pier where you can take a ferry to the Aran Islands. We hope you enjoy your time in Doolin and your stay at Moloney House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moloney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmacfelim Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing