We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our first night in Ireland couldn't have been any better. we had been in Europe for 10 days up to this point and this gem was magnificent. We almost booked another night because it was so nice. We had our entire family(3 rooms) and they all loved it. If it was just my wife and I going back I would definitely stay more nights. Hats off to all who make this a remarkable stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sellmhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    72
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
129
279
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The guest house is a fantastic place to observe beautiful views from atop the castle, of the surrounding area. The owners are lovely, helpful, and polite. The dinner, and breakfast were high quality. The rooms were a bit older looking, but honestly thats part of the charm, and feel of the property. It's suppose to feel that way. Overall, a great stay for our final nights on our travels around ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pseudoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heartland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The food at this B&B was amazing! Great views of the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, the sea, and our own castle! You even get a private tour of the castle ruins by the owner. Rooms are nice & spacious. Sets on a hill just 5 minutes outside Doolin & Lisdoonvama.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soonerlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our room at Ballinalacken was very nice and spacious, and breakfast was great - you could order from the kitchen and there was a buffet as well. The castle right next door was cool to see too - we were given a tour.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay with views of the Atlantic ocean . Always go for the ocean view room. Nice clean rooms and close to all the attractions. The castle seems to be in ruins but still its a piece of history.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Ireland and they did not disappoint! Declan & Cecelia were very friendly and the dinner & breakfast we had were delicious. Our room had a very nice view of the ocean & rolling hills. Declan also gave us a tour of the castle which was insightful for the rest of our journey when comparing restored castles in Ireland. We also visited the Doolin Caves just down the road and it was a lot of fun. We only wish we had the time to stay longer than one night!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin3235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Have to agree with the majority of reviews about this hotel. We stayed here for one night in July and found it quite, peaceful, relaxing. After a long day exploring the beautiful Clare coast line this is the ideal location to unwind in this quaint hotel. Give yourself a treat and escape to the tranquillity of this country house. The last few reviews sums the place up very well. We also found it good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paudbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
560 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
303 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
346 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing