We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis after days of traveling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis after days of traveling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

On our recent trip to Ireland, my husband and I had booked all nights but one in advance, not sure where we would end up after visiting the Cliffs of Moher. The night before we headed to the cliffs we did some research on the Internet and were fortunate to land a room at Ballinalacken. After many days of driving around the country, this beautiful country setting was heaven sent. The hotel itself is lovely, the staff friendly and helpful, the food scrumptious, and the view of the sunset into the sea that night was incredible. We stayed in the suite with the glassed-in octagonal breakfast nook which was comfy with a commanding view. One of the best parts was the personal tour of the original castle given by Declan O'Callaghan - my favorite castle experience in all of Ireland! My only regret is that we had only one night to stay. It was so peaceful and relaxing, and such a scenic yet strategic location, I wish we could have stayed longer. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    70
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
125
274
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here with six ladies to celebrate a birthday the end of June. Cecilia is a welcoming hostess. The rooms are spacious, great mattresses so a good nights sleep had by all. We met Michael the chef early in the afternoon and told him we were hoping for a good meal. He did not disappoint. It was the best dinner we had in a long time-a varied menu- good ingredients expertly cooked so congratulations to the chef. The waiting staff were very attentive, house wine very good. After dinner we took a stroll in the moonlight and the views when you go out the avenue and turn right are breath-taking.
If you want a quiet location with good quality food and accommodation but near all the delights of the Burren, Ballinalacken is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaDoolin, Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Marguerite
Thank you for lovely review.We are glad youand friends had a lovely meal and enjoyed your stay.Its great to have guests return to us.We hope to see you soon again and thank you for booking direct
Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had spent the previous night at Ashford Castle so Ballinalacken had a tough act to follow. It measured up and even surpassed Ashford in many ways. Dinner was better than the one we'd had in the posh George V dining room at Ashford and the hard-working staff was unfailing cheery. Proprietors Cecelia and Declan couldn't have been more solicitous even upgrading our room unasked to a beautiful suite with a glass walled semi-circular sitting room. When we arrived it was raining and foggy, but the next morning was brilliant and we had a breathtaking view of the Cliffs of Moher through our window. Declan gave us a tour of a well-preserved castle on the property and with his explanation, I finally understand how people could live in tall, round house.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heididnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaDoolin, Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Guests
We are honoured that you believe we are better than Ashford Castle.This makes all the hard work rewarding.Glad you enjoyed our half suite room 16 with its fab views.This room with its panoramic views can only be booked direct with hotel.
We do hope we will see you or your friends back with us again
Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent visit here. We only wished we had been able to stay more than one night. Our rooms were beautiful and the food was delicious. The personal attention by The O'Callaghan family was superb. I would love to go back for an extended visit.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Navery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaDoolin, Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Nancy
Thank you for your review.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will return
for a extended stay soon.Thank you also for booking direct with hotel
Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Sometimes in life you get lucky. As you travel you come across places that become more like another home than just a place to stay. And sometimes the owners of those places become family, instead of just the proprietor of the inn. I have come across a few of those in my travels, but they have been extremely rare. On my recent trip to Ireland I may have found another, the Ballinalacken Castle Country House, outside Doolin, Co. Clare. To a person the staff was welcoming, engaging and repeatedly helpful. The region around Doolin (western Clare) has a huge amount to offer -- the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher, daytrips out to the Aran Islands (Inishmore, Inishmaan, and Inisheer). The owners -- Declan and Cecilia O'Callaghan -- make certain that materials describing each (and more) are readily available and both are ready at a moment's notice to supplement with their own advice. But there is more to it than that. Each morning as Cecilia served breakfast or brought coffee to the table she would ask what my plans for the day were, took a genuine interest and was ready to help provide supplementary thoughts if asked. In the evenings when I came back from the folk festival I was attending I had a great chat with Declan about who had performed during the day, who was performing the next day and had a great education about the background of some participating and great insights on who to listen for the following day. Because of my schedule, regretfully I was only able to eat one evening meal during my stay, but the food was excellent, the service personal and the discussion, if I had questions, enjoyable. It was much more like going to visit a close cousin, than being in the normal inn. My room was outstanding, the view great (photo below) and the wi-fi connection (a big issue with me) perfect. The morning breakfasts (photo below) were outstanding enough I shared pictures with friends to make them jealous. Can't recommend this place enough -- unless you happen to be traveling there when I want to and are taking the last available room, then stay away (hahahaha).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaDoolin, Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello Brad
Thank you for the glowing review .It was a pleasure to have you stay with us
We hope you will be back next year for the festival.Glad you enjoyed the views from your room.
Thank you for booking direct with hotel
Until we meet again
Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Thanks you Cecilia and Declan for a wonderful stay. Enjoyed all aspects of our stay - the comfortable room with amazing views of the sea and Aran Islands, the sumptuous food, friendly service and of course the tour of your own private Castle and the amazing views when we got to the top of it.WOW!
I'll definitely be back.
Tip - If you are a walker, there is the most incredible walk into the burren region from just outside the front gates. I think it's called the Green Walk or something like that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaDoolin, Owner at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi Ronan
Thank you for review.We are glad you enjoyed your room with seaviews.We provide all our rooms with seaviews for customers who book direct with hotel and avoid expedia ,booking.com sites.
The walking route beside the hotel is the famous Burren Way walk and the views are panoramic.
Do call again soon
DEclan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our daughter booked a night away for my birthday to Ballinlacken as a surprise - and what a surprise it was! Just 5km outside of the village of Doolin by the Cliffs of Moher, I spotted the castle from the website high above and the lovely house just below it. A sweeping drive took us up to a world away from all of life's stresses and strains. Gorgeous décor and furnishings all in keeping with the original house, and the loveliest young lady to greet us on arrival. She was so friendly and showed us the dining room, drawing room and bar, all fabulous. The view from our room took our breath away and the room itself was bright, well decorated and large with wonderful soft furnishings and covers and such a comfy bed! The bathroom had a bath with stand in shower and everywhere was spotless. We ordered a drink from our lovely red headed lady (I feel so bad I forgot to ask her name!) and sat in the lovely reception area/drawing room looking out at the ocean, then sat outside for a while before we were given a tour of the castle by the owner before dinner. I must confess although brilliant, my fear of heights got the better of me and I couldn't make the final view at the very top, what a treat though! Dinner was wonderful. We used the opportunity to try things we hadn't had before including Escargot, Scallops and Quail and we were not disappointed! Served with a selection of breads, good wine from an extensive list and first class service, we couldn't have asked for more and we took our drinks outside to watch the sun go down over the Atlantic. Ballinalacken captivates you and while we had fully intended to go into Doolin for the night, we decided to stay put and enjoyed relaxing in the traditional bar with Mr O'Callaghan senior talking about the start of the hotel and the old days before retiring to one of the best night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel. We awoke to the sun over the ocean and went to a super breakfast selection, all impeccable. Our hardworking red head was back again, always smiling and so courteous and caring. We regretfully checked out early for sightseeing, but you can be sure we will be back as soon as we can. A 12 room hotel, everything is so relaxed and personable, you can't help but be enchanted. The castle in the grounds may have belonged to the O'Brien clan, but the hospitality crown is definitely worn by the O'Callaghan family and their hard working, amiable red head!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a spectacular view of the Atlantic as you lay in bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORegAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaDoolin, Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi ann
Many thanks for the wonderfull written review.The redhead is iwona.We have 2 redheads working here one is my daughter.Glad you enjoyed your stay and your birthday.Do visit us when you are up the coast again.
All the best
Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing