We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view in quaint countryside setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aran View Country House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Aran View House was our favorite of all the places we stayed during our two-week trip to Ireland. The location was perfect for us--accessible to town (for pubs, music, and services) but far enough to be quiet and relaxing. The size was just right too--not as impersonal as a large (or even mid-sized hotel) but not claustrophobic as some of the B&Bs.

The only disappointment was the restaurant, which was not as good as the options found in town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed there for a weekend. The staff were lovely. While it is not the most modern of hotels, there was a lovely atmosphere. The room was lovely. Breakfast was beautiful. Endless cups of tea or coffee always served with a smile. This is a very friendly, well run family hotel being run by a mum and her daughter. Both extremely friendly and welcoming. We would definately stay there again and plan to do so in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here a night on our trip around Ireland and it was outstanding! I know the website said it had a nice view, but it doesn't say enough!!!! The entire place has the most beautiful view and if there is one thing that the website should do is show it. Our room had a full ocean and Aran Island view and was breathtaking!
We were greeted by their border collie when we arrived and their amazing staff. The size of the room was very nice and so were all the accommodations. We also had dinner there that night and it was very good. I had crab claws and my husband had the chicken, both were excellent. Also, try the cheesecake, it's a must!
We had read a review that said the water wasn't hot and that people had trouble with the showers. However, when we asked the staff they told us there was nothing to worry about. There had been a slight problem with a new heater they were installing but the problem had only been for an hour or two. We had no issues at all.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and when we come back we will most certainly stay there again! The owners made the trip and anyone that stays there should make a point to meet them, they are lovely people!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzygray514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hotel very clean,excellent price.Pleasant room
Irish Breakfast best we had in Ireland
Excellent Restaurant.
we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed just 1night but staff were really helpful and breakfast was nice room was cosy.
I really enjoy staying here.
I would love to come back if I can come to doolin again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baru255069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Can't believe the good reviews this place gets. Stayed 2 nights at the end of May 2011. Breakfast was very low quality, so much so that we skipped breakfast the second morning. No hot water the first morning and they actually told us the whole town had no hot water...hahahah....as if the hot water gets shipped in! The view from the front of the place is really the only redeeming quality.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Drawsy02132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My teenage daughter and our King Charles Cavalier stayed at the Aran View from the 4th to the 6th June 2011. My sister and her 3 children also stayed. We were greeted with efficiency, hospitality and great warmth by management and staff alike. The views over the atlantic sea, the cliffs of Moher, and of course the hotel's name sake, the vista of the Aran Islands on the horizon were simply magnificent, hard to describe such natural beauty. There is a lovely lounge on the second floor in which you can just sit, sip a brandy and enjoy the views. The rooms vary in size, but all are welcoming and clean. The hotel is family run, by the Linnane family, and what a lovely family they are. We were made to feel like part of the family from the moment we arrived. We had a lovely homemade breakfast each morning, cooked to perfection by the resident chef, and a magnificent meal on the Sunday night. They had to cater for a varitey of tastes as we had 4 children from 8 up to 16 years who are demanding in their choice of foods. We had smoked salmon, butter crab claws, seabass, lovely side of vegetables, creme brulee, and apple pie to name just some of the delights of Martin's Kitchen. We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone, but if you have children or dogs, then you couldn't do better than stay at the Aran View.
Catherine From Dublin

Room Tip: The family accommodate requests, simply ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cat12345186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
633 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
8.3 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
103 reviews
6.6 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
382 reviews
6.7 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran View Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran View Country House

Address: Coast Road | Doolin, Co. Clare, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range: $130 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aran View Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aran View Country House, built in the georgian period, in 1736, stands on a hill on the coast road commanding one of the finest views of the wild Clare coastline. Facing the Aran View Country House, lie the beautiful Aran Islands just seven miles from Doolin. To the North is the famous Burren landscape and exotic wild flowers. Looking South is the Doolin pier and the begining of the imposing Cliffs of Moher jutting out into the wild Atlantic Ocean. One will never tire of these views of an ever-changing landscape of greens and blues. Each room is indivudally decorated keeping the Georgian feel as much as possible. You can enjoy a glass of wine, while watching some of the more amazing sunset. You can also enjoy Fresh Scones, tea/coffee in the lounge each afternoon. We assure both new and old guest and warmest of hospitality and relaxation, during you stay at the Aran View Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aran View Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aran View Hotel
Aran View Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing