We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good man Matt”

Doolin Garden and Nursery
Ranked #9 of 17 things to do in Doolin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contemporary garden of designer Matt O’ Connell with hidden sections or mini gardens, some of which are traditional. The garden surrounds an award winning house which was built in 1995 when the garden started. The variety of over 250 plants for sale in the nursery are propagated from plants in the garden so mature versions can be seen. All plants have been propagated outdoors and are totally hardy. Changes are being made to the garden all the time and due to the demand for shade loving plants a new shade section is in development to devote to these plants. Free admission. Donations to Doolin Rescue Service welcome.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The best flower grower I have ever had the please of meeting. Go support him! He has every kind of flower you can imagine. They are all grown outside so the are the hardest plants you will ever buy. If you buy a flower from Matt you wont be disappointed. He has such a wealth of knowledge its a great learning experience just having a chat with him.

1  Thank fergal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattOConnell, Owner at Doolin Garden and Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Good Evening Fergal,
Sorry for the long delay in my response.I am not the best on the computer and unfortunately I do not have many reviews to respond to so lack practice.
Thank you very much for your very generous review.Hope all the plants you got from me are doing well.
I am very busy in the Garden at the moment potting up plants for next Spring and also re planting some of the borders.
Should be good weather for Surfing at the moment.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon,
Matt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stopped by and had a wonderful hour chatting to the owner about plants and garden design. He was inspiring and the garden beautiful. Well worth stopping by! My sister (who isn't into gardening) enjoyed it too. A lovely cafe is next door where we had delicious cake & teas and also enjoyed the jeweler next door.

1  Thank Pilar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattOConnell, Owner at Doolin Garden and Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Good Evening,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review my garden,and what a lovely review.Good that your sister also enjoyed her visit.
Delighted that you were also able to visit Fabiola and Brian next door.
I think her pasteries are on a par with the best you will find in Paris---Am I lucky to live next door or what..At the moment Brian is making the most amazing Bronze bowl approx. 24" across x !8" high.
Thank you again for calling in and for the review.
Have a good Summer and hope we meet again,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great garden and nursery, fabulous plants which are hale and hearty and proven survivors. Some unusual and difficult to find plants for sale and a most knowledgeable and genial owner. Well worth a visit even if you're not the world's most avid gardener.

Thank Jalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattOConnell, Owner at Doolin Garden and Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Good Afternoon,
Thank you very much for your generous review - It was very good of you to give the time.
Hope you enjoyed your trip to Co.Clare.
Glad for you that you are not here today - it has been dark and gloomy all day with constant rain.
However despite this I had a few callers so it was out with the large umbrellas.
Its good for me that gardeners and garden visitors are a breed apart.
Thanks again and hope to see you at another time.
Matt.
Ps : Still working on my new shade garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A wonderful place to visit. I went there with two friends at the end of June 2012. Matt gave us a lovely tour around his beautiful gardens - hr spent a lot of time showing us around and was very knowledgeable regarding the various plants in the centre. We both left after having a very enriching experience and will definitely be back again. Long may the centre continue!

Patsy, Martina and Pauline.

Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattOConnell, Owner at Doolin Garden and Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hi Patsy,Martina and Pauline,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give me a review.
It was good to see you and a pleasure to show you around.
Glad you enjoyed your visit.
Until we meet again,
Happy Gardening,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A wonderfully kept garden. A gardener who loves what he does and inspires others. A wonderful selection of hardy plants that are the healthiest I've seen in a long time. Well worth the stop, was spoilt for for choice.

1  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattOConnell, Owner at Doolin Garden and Nursery, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Good Evening Rodney,
Sorry for the long delay in replying,Thank you for your great review and all the kind things you said about me and my plants. Very glad your visit was worthwhile and I hope all your purchases are doing well.Plants just love to escape their pots and get into the ground.You can almost hear their sigh of relief as they say "lets get the show on the road ".
Hope you visit again - have just started a little shade garden which is hidden under the Willow tree.
Enjoy the Autumn and lets hope the Winter will be better than the Summer.
Thanks again for your visit and your review.
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolin Garden and Nursery also viewed

 

Been to Doolin Garden and Nursery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing