We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. Best Breakfast of all B and Bs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Door B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Door B&B
Ranked #12 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice. Best Breakfast of all B and Bs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed one night in Doolin and were very pleased with the accommodation. It was warm and cozy with wonderful tea, coffee and treats. The breakfast was the best we had in our 2 1/2 week trip to Ireland. Anne is a gourmand of healthy, tasty food; her breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections were the best we experienced in Ireland. Good value and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    55
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a lovely stay here! Room was bright, cheery, very clean. Very comfortable beds, and quiet location. Very close, short walk to lively pubs! Anne greeted us with coffee/tea and sweet bread--a welcome treat after long car ride! Even the bathroom was roomy! I highly recommend a stay at the Half Door B&B if you are headed to Doolin!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margenegay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Since we are there to hear music in Doolin and see the Cliffs of Moher, we did not need more than a room with beds ensuite. Anne has large relaxing room on the first floor with constant coffee or tea, next to the breakfast room. She did help us with our luggage to the upstairs. Her food was superb with great care shown for healthy grainy breads and unusual delicious "smoked stripy bacon".

Room Tip: I did notice there are some rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Another great Steves recommendation and we were very pleased. The host was so kind even though we were arriving well past check in time and the time I told here we would be there. We loved that this place had large body towels and the bedding was so comfy. Had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was also excellent. Only place that had French toast on the menu.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Half Door for one night a couple of weeks ago. The location is very good - a quick walk or a 2 minute drive to great pubs. There is easy parking behind the B&B. Anne is a lovely hostess. We rang when we arrived and she came right over (she and her husband live off the premises). Our room was clean and cozy; but no special frills. WiFi worked fine; no television in the room (although there is one in the downstairs common room). We were in an upstairs room, which was fine - but be aware that the stairs are steep. The bathroom was small, but fine. Our shower's water pressure was ok, no issue. The water temperature is pre-set and wasn't an issue (although I do normally like it a tad hotter). Rooms are quiet - very little noise other than the occasional running of water of a neighboring one. Anne helped us out with great music and pub recommendations. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Anne took our orders the night before and was ready for us in the nice, bright dining room. If you're interested in using Doolin as a stopping point for music or to visit the Cliffs of Moher (just 10-15 minutes away), definitely consider the Half Door.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep; ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at Half Door B&B in May 2014. Anne was very nice and accommodating. The room was airy, bright and clean. The breakfast the was delicious! The location is in "Upper Doolin" within literally about a two-minute walk from McGann's Pub and several other pubs and restaurants. We enjoyed a great dinner followed by live music at McGann's. Highly recommend Half Door B&B, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We found the Half Door B&B to be a very friendly, cute, clean and a modern B&B. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast very good. The location is perfect, near all pubs, although this is not too difficult in the small town of Doolin. We would definitely stay there again if stopping in Doolin.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithF02646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Door B&B

Property: Half Door B&B
Address: Roadford, Doolin Co. Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Door B&B is centrally located within seconds walk of restaurants and pubs famous for traditional Irish music. Converted from The Lazy Lobster restaurant to a contemporary and tastefully decorated B&B in 2008, we still offer the same professional high standard of service and our love of good food carries on in our extensive breakfast menu. We offer en-suite double, twin, and triple rooms plus we have a family suite which consists of two separate rooms with an interconnecting door. Our sun filled lounge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing