We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne at the Half Door B&B - GREAT PLACE”
Review of Half Door B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Door B&B
Ranked #16 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Anne was very warm and welcoming. She was great with advise as to were to go, how to get around etc. Just a genuinely friendly gal! The house was very warm and inviting, breakfast delicious. Pubs with great food close by, yummy locally made Fudge shop, also close by! It was a nice relaxing place to be...isn't that the way trips are suppose to be? We are already thinking about the next trip, and we will for sure be staying with Anne!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 258 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at half door b&b and we would go back any time!
Anne was super nice to us she offered coffee when we got there.
The guest lounge was really nice and cozy, we felt real vacations!
Breakfast was very good and it was nice to have many choices.
Good location, If I ever go back to Doolin I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mctbasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Traveling Ireland via public transit can result in a few bumps and changes along the way. The Half Door B&B was a great stop along the way. They were very understanding of our changing needs. They stayed open late so we could check in after hours. They suggested great places to check out it town, provided converter after mine broke, and gave us a ride down to the ferry terminal after breakfast the next morning. The space was very clean and cute. The Half Door B&B made our stay in Doolin easy and stress-free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting Anne and staying at her Half Door Inn. Our family had 2 rooms, 2 in one room and 3 in the other. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The pub was just across the street so very convenient. Breakfast was delicious. I enjoyed visiting with Anne about our common intrest in quilting, and she was very helpful in locationg a fabric store for me to visit. Thanks for the great experience, Anne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseS-347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This establishment is one of the best. Anne was a very warm and welcoming woman, the breakfast was awesome and the location was very convenient. Yes she does ask that you order your breakfast the night before but this isn't unusual for other B&Bs so no big deal. McDermott's is a short stagger away which is also brilliant. All in all a fantastic place to stay, would stay there again in a heartbeat.....thanks Anne!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived at the Half Door after a longish drive from Donegal. Anne immediately offered us tea and homemade fruit bread, delicious, served in the very pleasant sitting room with big windows looking out on green fields. My husband and I got the larger room at the top of the house up winding stairs which was spacious and comfortable, the en suite was spotless and I loved the design of the shower cubicle. It all looked fresh and the bed was firm. My cousin and her husband had a smaller room on the ground floor also with en suite which they were happy with, we were only there for two nights. Breakfasts were excellent: proper porridge, full Irish, French toast with bacon, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, omelets, etc. My Canadian cousin loved the bread. Highlight of our stay was the session at McGann's pub a few minutes walk away - Finbar Furey, his son Martin, Blacky O'Connor and Davey Spillane and friends! Absolutely fabulous, we left reluctantly at 1:30 AM. Thanks to Anne for the heads up, we were going to turn in mid-evening, but she told us there was a not very well kept secret that Finbar would be playing. Phenomenal, fantastic musicians playing for the sheer joy and love of the music, great craic. Anne is lovely, down to earth, and we were delighted to meet her red setters too. I used to have one, brought back fond memories. Good location for the village amenities and exploring the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher, and other delights of Clare.

Room Tip: Room at the top spacious, but might not suit those with mobility issues. Room on ground floor next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EislerGlencolmcille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Half Door. Anne and her husband couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. They made us feel right at home. The room was wonderful - everything was very clean and comfortable. They also had a computer for guests usage which was great as I was communicating back to the US via email. Doolin is a tiny town, but very charming and the pubs make you feel at home. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 56 in Doolin
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#11 of 56 in Doolin
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Door B&B

Address: Roadford, Doolin Co. Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $82 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Door B&B is centrally located within seconds walk of restaurants and pubs famous for traditional Irish music. Converted from The Lazy Lobster restaurant to a contemporary and tastefully decorated B&B in 2008, we still offer the same professional high standard of service and our love of good food carries on in our extensive breakfast menu. We offer en-suite double, twin, and triple rooms plus we have a family suite which consists of two separate rooms with an interconnecting door. Our sun filled lounge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing