We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend you stay here”
Review of Half Door B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Door B&B
Ranked #15 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2011

A very clean, quiet and great B&B right in Doolin, Ireland. Just a minutes walk to McCann's Pub which had the best Irish Stew and Fish and Chips we had during our entire stay. The breakfast is "made to order" and wonderful. The beds were better than home. You can't go wrong staying here.

Also very close to the Cliffs of Moher. A must see.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Half Door B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 255 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

The room was so small that you could not leave your suitcase out and walk around but...the location to the pubs was perfect. You could walk to the fabulous music and pubs. I loved the place for locationto the pubs, music, and the Cliffs of Mohr.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelley34HoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in May 2011 at the end of our trip. We were ready for something in between homey places and hotels. This was perfect for that. We had larger rooms and baths and a nice community room with television and pleasant dining room. (the only suggestion I have, for this and other places, too, is, a little shelf in the shower for soap and shampoo would be helpful) The place was clean, beds extremely comfortable; hot tea and instant coffee and a frig available where we kept our Diet Cokes; good decor. The view was nice and a cute donkey in the field outside. The owner fixed us tea and cookies on arrival and provided advice for eating and entertainment. She was concerned because she had a full house and needed to be away one day and was depending on her son to run things and do breakfast for the first time. He did an excellent job, however. The breakfast was excellent both days. You order by writing in a notebook the night before and picking a time. Our beds were made and room and bath tidied when we returned from our activities. (We didn't expect that) You can walk to 2 pubs, in fact, you can't even park closer, and there is also an upscale restaurant nearby. We visited both pubs and had very good food at both. The music was especially fun at the closest pub (can't remember the name), with a large traditional band that seemed to be a family and girls celebrating (a hen/bachelorette party) by doing Irish dances and singing ballads, which added to the fun. We drove only 5 mnutes or less to the ferry to go to Inisheer, the closest Aran Island, and for the Cliffs of Moher cruise, and I certainly recommend that. We even had a flat tire at the ferry site, and got excellent advice and directions to get it fixed on a Sat evening. The B&B has free wifi and lots of brochures, but the TI is also close by, and we stopped there on our way in and booked the ferry cruise/tour. We sat in the community room and watched rugby with some of the other guests. We had toured the Cliffs of Moher on our way to Doolin and when we checked out, we visited the Burren Visitors Center in Ballyvaughn and did the Burren driving tour. Don't miss that. The whole experience was excellent. So glad we chose to stay here,as I had also investigated Lisdoonvarna. All was so pleasant and convenient to sites.

Room Tip: Book early. Request a downstairs room, if you need to avoid stairs. They also have family rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcarpe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Bedrooms are not large at this b&b, but they are clean and there is quite a bit of communal space to relax in. Very close to two great pubs. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_kappelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Excellent breakfast and small but cozy rooms. Back room was a nice respite from travelling around Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveIreland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was a very sweet and comfortable B&B with a lovely breakfast served in the morning, with home fried potatoes no less. I thought we would see more potatoes served with the full Irish brekkie but Anne was right when she said that would be the only time we'd see them on our 2 week Ireland trip! Anne was extremely helpful in planning our drive to Westport the next day, giving us invaluable advice and local knowledge, a true B&B host. She also led us to some of the best music we'd find on our trip - Blackie O'Connell-uillean piper. We would certainly recommend her B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diwaldo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

You will have this house to yourself(with other guests,of course) but the owners live nearby. Home is beautiful and very clean and in walking distance to pubs and shops. Close to many attractions in Ireland. We stayed her two nights and visited the Aran Islands the second day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
608 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.6 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#7 of 56 in Doolin
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 56 in Doolin
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Door B&B

Address: Roadford, Doolin Co. Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $84 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Door B&B is centrally located within seconds walk of restaurants and pubs famous for traditional Irish music. Converted from The Lazy Lobster restaurant to a contemporary and tastefully decorated B&B in 2008, we still offer the same professional high standard of service and our love of good food carries on in our extensive breakfast menu. We offer en-suite double, twin, and triple rooms plus we have a family suite which consists of two separate rooms with an interconnecting door. Our sun filled lounge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing