We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host, excellent breakfast”
Review of Half Door B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Half Door B&B
Ranked #13 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful host, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Half Door B&B in May 2011. It was a lovely b&b, with a cozy living area for guests use. Anne is a wonderful host, very personable and willing to take time to chat with her guests. The computer with internet access was a plus, along with the many menus from local restaurants. It made it much easier to decide where we would like to eat. The rooms are very clean and Anne makes a delicious breakfast! Try the omelette! Doolin was a great location for us to explore the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren, and close to Ennis for shopping. I would highly recommend the Half Door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMunsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    56
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
74
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My sister and I stayed here Sept 2009 - we arrived in the early afternoon, and were happy that we could get into our room even though the landlady was not present. We weren't too thrill, however, when we realized (after a long, long flight from WI and an hour drive from Shannon) that there was absolutely no hot water. The room was small, but very clean, and the beds were cozy - who needs a large room anyway when you're touring Ireland?? The location was great - walking distance to McDermott's and McGann's. We only had a one night stay, and the landlady did seem stand-offish as the other reviews are indicating, however, the man of the house was very cordial and lightened the mood. The breakfast was very, very good!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maybell_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We arrived at the Half Door after a long day of driving and visiting the Cliffs of Moher. Ann and Conner were extremely welcoming and had tea waiting for us once we unpacked. We loved relaxing in the sun room looking out at the amazing views. The rooms were comy and extremely clean. We had a very comfortable night sleep. Ann cooked a great breakfast...there were so many choices to choose from. It is the best breakfast we came across through Ireland. There is also free wi-fi troughout the b&b.

Go across the way to McGanns for an awesome traditional Irish meal and atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookelett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is a quiet and cozy spot. The rooms were a nice size and very clean and tidy. The stairs to the second level are a bit steep but manageable. Rooms on the back are very quiet where the ones on the front do get some street noise. Breakfast is lovely.

McDermott's pub is across the street. But the best is it is just a short walk to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation. This is a wonderful, don't miss place for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were happily accommodated here last summer. Our hostess was forthcoming with welcome advice for our stay in Doolin and assisted us in planning our next move. Good breakfast and a warm gathering room. Anne was extremely considerate, evening leaving a note on the door when we left the lights on in our rental car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancycarrick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the South
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Half Door on our recent anniversary trip to Ireland. Doolin is a very small, but cute village and a great place to slow down. The B&B is an adorable little place and we were glad we had decided on it. Parking was free and right behind the building. No one was there when we arrived, but there is a phone on the porch area with a speed dial to her phone. They promptly arrived, showed us our room and around the B&B. You choose your breakfast the night before, as is pretty customary in Ireland, and then it is ready for you when you come down in the morning. The choices they had were a nice change to what we had been served at the previous B&B's and very tasty! There was free wi-fi in the house which was really nice but our favorite part of the house was the living room area. It was a nice, quiet place to relax during the day, watch a bit of TV, talk to other travelers and use the wi-fi. The B&B is within walking distance to two pubs that I can remember. As we were packing the next morning, we heard cows moo'ing and there was a farmer herding his cattle down the lane in front of the B&B! It made my day! We'll definitley stay here again - great place - great price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahtepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

It's hard booking a place in another land, even with Rick Steve's help, but I got it right when we stayed at the Half Door B & B in Doolin, Ireland. Most important, it's walking distance from the best pubs, McGann's and McDermotts. And you need to be close after a night of Guiness. It's spacious with great views, colorful, the mattresses and pillows are fluffy, the breakfast varied and delicious and our host very helpful. The sunroom is great place to sit with friends or potential friends. Doolin and the Half Door was our best stay on our short trip to beautiful Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melody1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 17 in Doolin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Door B&B

Property: Half Door B&B
Address: Roadford, Doolin Co. Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Door B&B is centrally located within seconds walk of restaurants and pubs famous for traditional Irish music. Converted from The Lazy Lobster restaurant to a contemporary and tastefully decorated B&B in 2008, we still offer the same professional high standard of service and our love of good food carries on in our extensive breakfast menu. We offer en-suite double, twin, and triple rooms plus we have a family suite which consists of two separate rooms with an interconnecting door. Our sun filled lounge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing