We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadford House Restaurant

Roadford House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
ennistymon
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

On a recent night out in Road Ford House Doolin I had what can only be described as one of the best evenings ever From our arrival to our departure we were made feel very welcome by Marian and her delightful waitress Blathnaid whom we now know to be Marian and Franks daughter!
We arrived to a full room where everyone was made feel special and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
The food ! ! What can I
say the chef(Frank)not only has a way with food but a fabulous flair for presentation everything looked picture perfect.
I had crab to start while my friends opted for the blue brie tartlets the flavour combinations were yummy.The mains came in the form of duck, lamb ,fish, and a wonderful vegetarian dish all were outstanding.
We had a fabulous evening and could not recommend this restaurant enough for its warm welcome and amazing food you have to try it for yourself! Delish!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coishl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    25
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
2 reviews
“going the extra for clients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

stayed for two nights and dined in the restaurant and what an experience, decided on the chicken dish- called chicken 3 ways (the combination caught my curiosity ) and its amazing what frank can do with chicken, i doubt you will find a chicken meal in any other restaurant that compares to franks
id also recommend the weingut steininger a tantalising austrian wine
marian is a marvelous hostess and i would highly recommend this restaurant / accommodation to any couples staying in doolin who want to experience outstanding food and this is also reflected in the breakfast

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced and trying too hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Pretty food but poor value for the money. For a main course I ordered the "Chicken 3 Ways" - if it was presented to the table as an appetizer at TGIFridays it would have been laughed at - 1/2 a spring roll, a portion of a breast and a single wing (lovingly cut into the thumb and wing portion - still is one wing). As an expensive entree it was impossible to see the value or artistry that would warrant such a cost. The other meal brought to the table was beef- tiny portion with daintily cut up beets? with a small nut resting on it like fat guy on a too-small raft. Just dumb. There must be other options in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 386marcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Overpriced and mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our most disappointing meal of the trip and also one of the most expensive. The fish i had was overcooked and had very little flavor and the salad had an overly sweet dressing. When I asked for green vegetables with my meal the owner said it was not possible but then brought them later but made me feel bad for asking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Ambiance and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

What an exquisite restaurant and a genuinely excellent experience. A group of five of us dined there in July during a week's break in Doolin. The menu is just mouthwatering. The specials on the day were just excellent. The crab salad starter special was divine. On the night all 5 of our party opted for an exceptional fish platter main course - it was just delicious cod, scallops, seabass and mussels. The service, welcome and ambiance were just terrific. To top it all a great wine menu. In terms of value we were amazed - our three bottles of wine and four courses each worked out under €60 a head - for the quality of food and wine that we experienced this was excellent value. We'll be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyRWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadford House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roadford House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing