We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, welcoming atmosphere, great location.”

Roadford House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, welcoming atmosphere, great location.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We really enjoyed the evening at Roadford House Restaurant: best food I've tasted in ages, a lovely welcome from the lady of the house, and we were so well looked after by Rachel for the evening. Loved the paintings and decor too.

Beans the dog was an added bonus!

Not cheap but well worth the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    30
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Worth. TX
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A Culinary Delight”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a marvelous restaurant! Who would expect to find Michelin quality dining in Doolin, Ireland, a little town known far and wide for its music, but not its food? This is truly the best of the best . . . right up there with the most acclaimed restaurants in Dublin. The food is creative, fresh, attractive, and above all, delicious. This has our highest recommendation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 632 helpful votes
“A very toothsome restaurant indeed”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a wonderful meal here last night. Everyone is greeted with a happy tail wag by Beans the Irish Setter at the front door. Then we were greeted equally warmly by the wife of the husband and wife team. The setting is stunning being in an adorable village in Clare. Doolin is filled with inviting pubs, B&Bs and restaurants.

I started with the foie gras which was truly magnificent teamed with a dab of fruit concoction. My wife and daughter had a mixed green salad which was also fresh and yummy. I had the ribeye and the meat was very high quality and cooked just right. It came with cooked onions that matched perfectly the beef and a sort of big french fries which I love. My wife had the salmon which she said was prepared exactly to her liking.

We also had a dessert of chocolate, ice cream and caramel which was a nice topper to a great evening. For a family of four with a bottle of wine and two glasses of port our meal came to EUR 150. This is a high quality and nice spot to attend for a lovely evening out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If in Doolin, this is the place to treat yourself to a handsome dinner in the evening. (three course meal for two incl. bottle of wine, approx. € 100). Great food and delicious desserts and the very welcoming, attentive and friendly hosts will make sure you´ll have a great evening!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We ate at this restaurant earlier in the week - we very much enjoy our food and the wider dining experience and often seek out restaurants/chefs that are Michelin star rated. We did just that on three occasions over the past fortnight in the UK and whilst those experiences were very good our experience at the Roadford was simply outstanding. The food was excellent, the ambience very very good and the Team creating the experience superb. Thankyou. And, what a wonderful place Doolin is!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeBTaupoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadford House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roadford House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing